1956 Chicago Cubs

MLB » Chicago Cubs » 1956

Season Overview

60-94 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1956 Chicago Cubs

What was the record of the 1956 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a 60-94 record. They went 39-38 at home and 21-56 on the road.

What division did the 1956 Chicago Cubs play in?

The 1956 Chicago Cubs played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1956.

What was the 1956 Chicago Cubs record by month?

The 1956 Chicago Cubs had their best month in June, when they went 15-12 and had a 55.6% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 7-17 and had a 29.2% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 3-7 30% -17
May 7-17 29.2% -50
June 15-12 55.6% +9
July 16-18 47.1% +3
August 10-22 31.2% -36
September 9-18 33.3% -20

Did the 1956 Chicago Cubs make the Postseason?

No, the Cubs didn't make the Postseason in 1956.

What was the run differential for the 1956 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a run differential of -111. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cubs could have been expected to have about 65.0 wins, or a 65-89 record in the regular season.

How did the 1956 Chicago Cubs perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1956 Chicago Cubs went 24-31.

How did the 1956 Chicago Cubs perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1956 Chicago Cubs went 11-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1956 Chicago Cubs?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1956 Chicago Cubs was a 4 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1956 Chicago Cubs?

The longest losing streak that the Chicago Cubs had during the 1956 regular season was 7 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1956 Chicago Cubs Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 17, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 0 - 6
Thu, Apr 19, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Apr 20, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 12 - 1
Sat, Apr 21, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 3 - 2 (11)
Sun, Apr 22, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 5 - 4
Wed, Apr 25, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 6
Fri, Apr 27, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 7
Sat, Apr 28, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 1 - 9
Sun, Apr 29, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Apr 29, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 8
Tue, May 1, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 1 - 2
Wed, May 2, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 5 - 6 (17)
Fri, May 4, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Sun, May 6, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 2
Tue, May 8, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Sat, May 12, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 14 - 10
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 7 - 14
Tue, May 15, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 4 - 6
Wed, May 16, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 3 - 9
Thu, May 17, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 1
Fri, May 18, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Sat, May 19, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 7
Sun, May 20, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 5
Sun, May 20, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 5
Wed, May 23, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Fri, May 25, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 6
Sun, May 27, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 9 - 11
Sun, May 27, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 12
Mon, May 28, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 4 - 1
Tue, May 29, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 10
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 10 - 9
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 9 - 11
Thu, May 31, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 8 - 15
Fri, Jun 1, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 4 - 2 (15)
Sat, Jun 2, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 8 - 1
Sat, Jun 2, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jun 3, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jun 5, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 3
Wed, Jun 6, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 8
Thu, Jun 7, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 2
Fri, Jun 8, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jun 9, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Jun 10, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1 (11)
Sun, Jun 10, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jun 12, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 8 - 5
Wed, Jun 13, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jun 15, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Fri, Jun 15, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 5
Sun, Jun 17, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 7
Sun, Jun 17, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 4
Tue, Jun 19, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 0 - 2
Wed, Jun 20, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Jun 23, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 5 (10)
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 1
Mon, Jun 25, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 26, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 10
Wed, Jun 27, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 29, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 8 - 4
Sat, Jun 30, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 7 - 0
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 4
Mon, Jul 2, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 3
Tue, Jul 3, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 4
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jul 5, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jul 6, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Jul 7, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Jul 8, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 10 - 6
Thu, Jul 12, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Jul 12, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jul 13, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 6
Sat, Jul 14, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jul 14, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 5 (10)
Sun, Jul 15, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 8 - 10
Mon, Jul 16, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 17, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2 (16)
Wed, Jul 18, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jul 18, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 6
Thu, Jul 19, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jul 20, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 7 - 4
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 2 - 1
Tue, Jul 24, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Jul 25, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 8 - 9
Thu, Jul 26, 1956 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 4
Fri, Jul 27, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Sat, Jul 28, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Jul 29, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Jul 29, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jul 30, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Jul 30, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jul 31, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 4
Wed, Aug 1, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 8 - 10
Fri, Aug 3, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Aug 3, 1956 @ New York Giants Win 2 - 0
Sat, Aug 4, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Aug 6, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 5 - 4 (11)
Tue, Aug 7, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 1 - 6
Wed, Aug 8, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 8
Thu, Aug 9, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 5 (10)
Fri, Aug 10, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Aug 11, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Aug 12, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2
Tue, Aug 14, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 0 - 2
Wed, Aug 15, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 4 (15)
Wed, Aug 15, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Aug 16, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 4 - 2
Fri, Aug 17, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Aug 18, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 1
Sun, Aug 19, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Aug 19, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 1
Tue, Aug 21, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 4
Wed, Aug 22, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 3
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 5 - 8
Fri, Aug 24, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Sat, Aug 25, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Aug 26, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Aug 26, 1956 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Aug 28, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 4 - 6