1998 Cincinnati Reds

MLB » Cincinnati Reds » 1998

Season Overview

77-85 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1998 Cincinnati Reds

What was the record of the 1998 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a 77-85 record. They went 39-42 at home and 38-43 on the road.

What division did the 1998 Cincinnati Reds play in?

The 1998 Cincinnati Reds played in the Central Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1998 Cincinnati Reds?

During the regular season, the 1998 Cincinnati Reds went 27-29 against their NL Central opponents.

What was the 1998 Cincinnati Reds record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
St. Louis Cardinals 8-3 72.7% +8
Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 54.5% +25
Chicago Cubs 5-6 45.5% -1
Pittsburgh Pirates 5-7 41.7% -17
Houston Astros 3-8 27.3% -16

What was the 1998 Cincinnati Reds record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1998 Cincinnati Reds had their best month in August, when they went 17-11 and had a 60.7% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 8-19 and had a 29.6% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
March 0-1 0% -8
April 12-13 48% +5
May 15-16 48.4% -5
June 8-19 29.6% -53
July 13-13 50% -8
August 17-11 60.7% +45
September 12-12 50% +14

Did the 1998 Cincinnati Reds make the Postseason?

No, the Reds didn't make the Postseason in 1998.

What was the run differential for the 1998 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a run differential of -10. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Reds could have been expected to have about 80.0 wins, or a 80-82 record in the regular season.

How did the 1998 Cincinnati Reds perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1998 Cincinnati Reds went 20-29.

How did the 1998 Cincinnati Reds perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1998 Cincinnati Reds went 7-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1998 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1998 Cincinnati Reds was a 10 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1998 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest losing streak that the Cincinnati Reds had during the 1998 regular season was 11 games, which happened once during the season.

1998 Cincinnati Reds Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Mar 31, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 10
Wed, Apr 1, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Loss 9 - 10
Thu, Apr 2, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 1
Fri, Apr 3, 1998 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 3
Sat, Apr 4, 1998 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Sun, Apr 5, 1998 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 1
Tue, Apr 7, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Wed, Apr 8, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 6
Thu, Apr 9, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Apr 10, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Win 18 - 7
Sat, Apr 11, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Win 12 - 5
Sun, Apr 12, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Win 10 - 4
Mon, Apr 13, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Apr 15, 1998 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 1
Thu, Apr 16, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 4 - 7
Fri, Apr 17, 1998 vs New York Mets Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 18, 1998 vs New York Mets Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Sun, Apr 19, 1998 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 14
Tue, Apr 21, 1998 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 3
Wed, Apr 22, 1998 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Apr 23, 1998 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Apr 24, 1998 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 25, 1998 @ New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Mon, Apr 27, 1998 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 1
Tue, Apr 28, 1998 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 8 - 11 (10)
Wed, Apr 29, 1998 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 1 - 0
Fri, May 1, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 5
Sat, May 2, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 5
Sun, May 3, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 3
Mon, May 4, 1998 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 1
Tue, May 5, 1998 @ Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 6, 1998 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Thu, May 7, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 7 - 8
Fri, May 8, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3 (10)
Sat, May 9, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 6
Sun, May 10, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 3 (12)
Mon, May 11, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 8
Tue, May 12, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 5
Wed, May 13, 1998 vs Florida Marlins Win 10 - 4
Thu, May 14, 1998 vs Florida Marlins Win 11 - 8
Fri, May 15, 1998 vs Chicago Cubs Win 11 - 3
Sat, May 16, 1998 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5
Sun, May 17, 1998 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 10
Tue, May 19, 1998 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 7
Tue, May 19, 1998 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 5
Wed, May 20, 1998 @ New York Mets Win 8 - 6
Thu, May 21, 1998 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 6
Fri, May 22, 1998 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 2 - 3
Sat, May 23, 1998 vs Colorado Rockies Win 4 - 1
Sun, May 24, 1998 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 1 - 3
Mon, May 25, 1998 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 3
Tue, May 26, 1998 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 5
Wed, May 27, 1998 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 5
Thu, May 28, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Fri, May 29, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 4 (12)
Sat, May 30, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 31, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jun 1, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 16
Tue, Jun 2, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Jun 3, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 8
Fri, Jun 5, 1998 vs Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jun 6, 1998 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 10
Sun, Jun 7, 1998 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 6
Mon, Jun 8, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jun 9, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jun 10, 1998 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jun 12, 1998 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 1
Sat, Jun 13, 1998 vs Houston Astros Win 7 - 4
Sun, Jun 14, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 6 (10)
Mon, Jun 15, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 13
Tue, Jun 16, 1998 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jun 17, 1998 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Jun 18, 1998 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jun 19, 1998 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 20, 1998 @ Houston Astros Loss 8 - 9
Sun, Jun 21, 1998 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jun 22, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 23, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jun 24, 1998 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 25, 1998 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jun 26, 1998 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jun 27, 1998 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5 (13)
Sun, Jun 28, 1998 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jun 30, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Wed, Jul 1, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Jul 2, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Win 8 - 7
Fri, Jul 3, 1998 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 3
Sat, Jul 4, 1998 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 5, 1998 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jul 10, 1998 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jul 11, 1998 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 8 - 0
Sun, Jul 12, 1998 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 5 - 3
Mon, Jul 13, 1998 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5 (13)
Tue, Jul 14, 1998 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 4
Wed, Jul 15, 1998 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2 (11)
Fri, Jul 17, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 13
Sat, Jul 18, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Jul 19, 1998 vs San Diego Padres Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Jul 20, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jul 21, 1998 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jul 23, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 4 - 6
Thu, Jul 23, 1998 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 4 - 6
Fri, Jul 24, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 12
Sat, Jul 25, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 8
Sun, Jul 26, 1998 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 2 (10)
Mon, Jul 27, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Tue, Jul 28, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Win 13 - 1
Wed, Jul 29, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 11
Thu, Jul 30, 1998 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 13
Fri, Jul 31, 1998 @ Florida Marlins Win 3 - 2
Sat, Aug 1, 1998 @ Florida Marlins Win 9 - 7 (10)
Sun, Aug 2, 1998 @ Florida Marlins Win 5 - 1
Tue, Aug 4, 1998 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Aug 5, 1998 @ Atlanta Braves Win 13 - 9
Thu, Aug 6, 1998 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 5
Fri, Aug 7, 1998 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 17 - 0
Sat, Aug 8, 1998 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 0
Sun, Aug 9, 1998 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Aug 11, 1998 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 7
Wed, Aug 12, 1998 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Aug 13, 1998 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 9