1956 Pittsburgh Pirates

MLB » Pittsburgh Pirates » 1956

Season Overview

66-88 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1956 Pittsburgh Pirates

What was the record of the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a 66-88 record. They went 35-43 at home and 31-45 on the road.

What division did the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates play in?

The 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1956.

What was the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates record by month?

The 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates had their best month in May, when they went 16-10 and had a 61.5% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 11-20 and had a 35.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 5-6 45.5% +3
May 16-10 61.5% +16
June 11-17 39.3% -12
July 11-20 35.5% -33
August 12-20 37.5% -27
September 11-15 42.3% -12

Did the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates make the Postseason?

No, the Pirates didn't make the Postseason in 1956.

What was the run differential for the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a run differential of -65. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Pirates could have been expected to have about 69.5 wins, or a 70-84 record in the regular season.

How did the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates went 28-32.

How did the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates went 5-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates was a 4 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1956 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest losing streak that the Pittsburgh Pirates had during the 1956 regular season was 8 games, which occured 3 separate times.

1956 Pittsburgh Pirates Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 17, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Apr 18, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Apr 19, 1956 @ New York Giants Win 3 - 2
Fri, Apr 20, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Apr 21, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Sun, Apr 22, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Apr 25, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Fri, Apr 27, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Apr 28, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Apr 29, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 10 - 1
Sun, Apr 29, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 11 - 3
Tue, May 1, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Wed, May 2, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 9 - 10 (10)
Thu, May 3, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 4, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 5, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Sun, May 6, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 8, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 0 - 5
Fri, May 11, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Sat, May 12, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 11 - 9
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 7
Wed, May 16, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Win 9 - 2
Thu, May 17, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 4
Fri, May 18, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Sat, May 19, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 4
Sun, May 20, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 6 - 3
Sun, May 20, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 5 - 0
Tue, May 22, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 6
Wed, May 23, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 0
Fri, May 25, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 5
Sat, May 26, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 2
Mon, May 28, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Tue, May 29, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 10
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 5 - 4 (10)
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 3 - 5 (15)
Thu, May 31, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 3 - 0
Fri, Jun 1, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 4 - 1
Sat, Jun 2, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jun 3, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jun 3, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jun 5, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Jun 6, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 2
Thu, Jun 7, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Jun 8, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 0 (11)
Sat, Jun 9, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Jun 10, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 11 - 3
Sun, Jun 10, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 12, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 15, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 12 - 1
Sat, Jun 16, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jun 17, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 17, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 8
Mon, Jun 18, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 19, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 20, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jun 21, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Jun 23, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 9 (10)
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Mon, Jun 25, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 27, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 10
Thu, Jun 28, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jun 29, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 6 - 3
Sat, Jun 30, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 6 - 7
Tue, Jul 3, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 4
Sat, Jul 7, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 8, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 1 - 11
Sun, Jul 8, 1956 @ New York Giants Win 5 - 2
Thu, Jul 12, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jul 12, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jul 13, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 6 - 7
Sat, Jul 14, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Jul 14, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sun, Jul 15, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 15, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 1 - 4
Mon, Jul 16, 1956 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jul 17, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2 (10)
Fri, Jul 20, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 6 (12)
Sat, Jul 21, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Win 8 - 6
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 9
Mon, Jul 23, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jul 24, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jul 25, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 8
Thu, Jul 26, 1956 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 0
Fri, Jul 27, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 28, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Jul 29, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 1 - 6
Sun, Jul 29, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jul 30, 1956 vs Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jul 31, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 7
Wed, Aug 1, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Aug 2, 1956 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Aug 3, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 4 - 3
Sat, Aug 4, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Aug 5, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Aug 5, 1956 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 0 - 5
Tue, Aug 7, 1956 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Aug 8, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 8 - 5
Thu, Aug 9, 1956 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Aug 10, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 3 - 2
Sat, Aug 11, 1956 vs New York Giants Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Aug 12, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 3 - 2
Sun, Aug 12, 1956 vs New York Giants Win 11 - 3
Tue, Aug 14, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Aug 14, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 11
Wed, Aug 15, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 1
Thu, Aug 16, 1956 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 1
Fri, Aug 17, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Aug 18, 1956 @ New York Giants Win 9 - 1
Sun, Aug 19, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Aug 19, 1956 @ New York Giants Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Aug 21, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Aug 22, 1956 @ Cincinnati Redlegs Loss 3 - 6
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Aug 24, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Aug 25, 1956 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 8
Sun, Aug 26, 1956 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 0