1981 San Francisco Giants

MLB » San Francisco Giants » 1981

Season Overview

56-55 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1981 San Francisco Giants

What was the record of the 1981 San Francisco Giants?

The San Francisco Giants finished the regular season with a 56-55 record. They went 29-24 at home and 27-31 on the road.

What division did the 1981 San Francisco Giants play in?

The 1981 San Francisco Giants played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1981 San Francisco Giants?

During the regular season, the 1981 San Francisco Giants went 30-36 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1981 San Francisco Giants record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Atlanta Braves 7-5 58.3% -3
San Diego Padres 7-6 53.8% +4
Los Angeles Dodgers 5-7 41.7% -10
Houston Astros 6-9 40% -13
Cincinnati Reds 5-9 35.7% +6

What was the 1981 San Francisco Giants record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1981 San Francisco Giants had their best month in August, when they went 12-8 and had a 60% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 2-7 and had a 22.2% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-12 42.9% -10
May 16-13 55.2% +16
June 2-7 22.2% -8
August 12-8 60% +18
September 15-13 53.6% -2
October 2-2 50% -1

Did the 1981 San Francisco Giants make the Postseason?

No, the Giants didn't make the Postseason in 1981.

What was the run differential for the 1981 San Francisco Giants?

The San Francisco Giants finished the regular season with a run differential of +13. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Giants could have been expected to have about 57.1 wins, or a 57-54 record in the regular season.

How did the 1981 San Francisco Giants perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1981 San Francisco Giants went 16-19.

How did the 1981 San Francisco Giants perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1981 San Francisco Giants went 7-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1981 San Francisco Giants?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1981 San Francisco Giants was a 5 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1981 San Francisco Giants?

The longest losing streak that the San Francisco Giants had during the 1981 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1981 San Francisco Giants Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 9, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 4 (12)
Fri, Apr 10, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Apr 11, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Win 2 - 0
Sun, Apr 12, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Win 7 - 6 (14)
Mon, Apr 13, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Apr 14, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 7
Wed, Apr 15, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Apr 17, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 2
Sat, Apr 18, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 1
Sun, Apr 19, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 4
Mon, Apr 20, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 9 - 0
Tue, Apr 21, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Apr 22, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Apr 23, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Apr 24, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 7
Sat, Apr 25, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 4
Sun, Apr 26, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 1
Sun, Apr 26, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Win 8 - 5
Mon, Apr 27, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 5
Tue, Apr 28, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 1
Wed, Apr 29, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Sat, May 2, 1981 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 2
Sat, May 2, 1981 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 3
Sun, May 3, 1981 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 7
Mon, May 4, 1981 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 6
Tue, May 5, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 9 - 7
Wed, May 6, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 4
Thu, May 7, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 8, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 9, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Win 8 - 2
Sun, May 10, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 1
Sun, May 10, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 4
Tue, May 12, 1981 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 0
Wed, May 13, 1981 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 2
Thu, May 14, 1981 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 3
Fri, May 15, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Sat, May 16, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 5
Sun, May 17, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 5 - 4 (12)
Mon, May 18, 1981 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 1
Tue, May 19, 1981 vs New York Mets Win 4 - 1
Wed, May 20, 1981 vs New York Mets Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Fri, May 22, 1981 @ Houston Astros Win 6 - 3 (15)
Sat, May 23, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 3 - 5
Sun, May 24, 1981 @ Houston Astros Win 2 - 1
Mon, May 25, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 6
Wed, May 27, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 28, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 7
Fri, May 29, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Sat, May 30, 1981 vs Houston Astros Loss 8 - 9 (14)
Sun, May 31, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 6 - 1
Mon, Jun 1, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 8
Tue, Jun 2, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 15 - 7
Wed, Jun 3, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 5, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Sat, Jun 6, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Jun 7, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 10, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Jun 11, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 6
Mon, Aug 10, 1981 vs Houston Astros Loss 5 - 6
Tue, Aug 11, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 2
Wed, Aug 12, 1981 vs Houston Astros Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Aug 14, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 0
Fri, Aug 14, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Sat, Aug 15, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2
Sun, Aug 16, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 2
Mon, Aug 17, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 1 (11)
Tue, Aug 18, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Wed, Aug 19, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Aug 21, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3
Sat, Aug 22, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Sun, Aug 23, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Aug 24, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 2 (10)
Tue, Aug 25, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Wed, Aug 26, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Aug 27, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4 (13)
Fri, Aug 28, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 1
Sat, Aug 29, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 3
Sun, Aug 30, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 0
Tue, Sep 1, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Wed, Sep 2, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Sep 3, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 12 - 0
Fri, Sep 4, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2 (10)
Sat, Sep 5, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 8
Sun, Sep 6, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 0
Mon, Sep 7, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Sep 8, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 4
Wed, Sep 9, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 3 (11)
Fri, Sep 11, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 6
Sat, Sep 12, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Sep 13, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 3
Mon, Sep 14, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 2
Tue, Sep 15, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 5
Wed, Sep 16, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 12 - 7
Thu, Sep 17, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 1 (10)
Fri, Sep 18, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 2
Sat, Sep 19, 1981 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Sep 20, 1981 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 7
Tue, Sep 22, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 2
Wed, Sep 23, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 4
Thu, Sep 24, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Sep 25, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 3 - 0
Sat, Sep 26, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 6 - 5
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 3
Mon, Sep 28, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 0
Tue, Sep 29, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Sep 30, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 9
Thu, Oct 1, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 2
Sat, Oct 3, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 4 (13)
Sat, Oct 3, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 7
Sun, Oct 4, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3

Longest Championship Drought By City

Most Championships By City

Fan Report Card

Frequently Asked Questions

How Scoring Works

Accuracy and Fact Checking

All MLB stats, streaks, droughts and records are updated based on games played on or before Jul 14, 2024.

Copyright © 2015-2024 ChampsOrChumps.us
TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout