1959 Boston Red Sox

MLB » Boston Red Sox » 1959

Season Overview

75-79 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1959 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 1959 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 75-79 record. They went 43-34 at home and 32-45 on the road.

What division did the 1959 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 1959 Boston Red Sox played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1959.

What was the 1959 Boston Red Sox record by month?

The 1959 Boston Red Sox had their best month in August, when they went 18-12 and had a 60% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 12-16 and had a 42.9% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 6-7 46.2% +1
May 13-17 43.3% -6
June 12-16 42.9% -4
July 13-17 43.3% +13
August 18-12 60% +18
September 13-10 56.5% +8

Did the 1959 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 1959.

What was the run differential for the 1959 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of +30. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 80.0 wins, or a 80-74 record in the regular season.

How did the 1959 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1959 Boston Red Sox went 27-29.

How did the 1959 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1959 Boston Red Sox went 7-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1959 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1959 Boston Red Sox was a 5 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1959 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 1959 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1959 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Sun, Apr 12, 1959 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 14, 1959 vs Washington Senators Win 7 - 3
Wed, Apr 15, 1959 vs Washington Senators Win 7 - 3
Thu, Apr 16, 1959 vs Washington Senators Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Apr 17, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 4 - 0
Sat, Apr 18, 1959 vs New York Yankees Loss 7 - 16
Sun, Apr 19, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4 (12)
Tue, Apr 21, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Apr 22, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 4
Thu, Apr 23, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 7 - 8
Fri, Apr 24, 1959 @ Washington Senators Win 7 - 2
Sat, Apr 25, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 8
Sun, Apr 26, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 2
Fri, May 1, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 1
Sat, May 2, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 3, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 7
Mon, May 4, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 8 - 4
Tue, May 5, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 8
Wed, May 6, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 17 - 6
Thu, May 7, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Fri, May 8, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 0
Sat, May 9, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 4
Sun, May 10, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2 (10)
Sun, May 10, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 1
Tue, May 12, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4 (12)
Wed, May 13, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 4
Thu, May 14, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 14
Fri, May 15, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 16, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 6 - 12
Sun, May 17, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 1
Mon, May 18, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 14
Wed, May 20, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 2 - 8
Thu, May 21, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 0
Fri, May 22, 1959 vs Washington Senators Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 23, 1959 vs Washington Senators Loss 4 - 10 (11)
Sun, May 24, 1959 vs Washington Senators Loss 3 - 8
Tue, May 26, 1959 @ New York Yankees Win 12 - 2
Wed, May 27, 1959 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 28, 1959 @ Washington Senators Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 29, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 6 - 7
Sat, May 30, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Sat, May 30, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 3
Sun, May 31, 1959 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jun 2, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 3, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 5
Thu, Jun 4, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 2
Fri, Jun 5, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Jun 6, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jun 7, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 9
Sun, Jun 7, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jun 8, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jun 9, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 2
Wed, Jun 10, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 9 - 10
Thu, Jun 11, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 8
Fri, Jun 12, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jun 13, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 6 - 1
Sun, Jun 14, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 6 - 1
Mon, Jun 15, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Jun 16, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Jun 18, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 6
Sat, Jun 20, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 2
Sat, Jun 20, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 0
Sun, Jun 21, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 23, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 4
Wed, Jun 24, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jun 25, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 10
Fri, Jun 26, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 11
Sat, Jun 27, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jun 28, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Jun 28, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 1
Tue, Jun 30, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 6
Wed, Jul 1, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Jul 2, 1959 @ Washington Senators Loss 3 - 6 (10)
Fri, Jul 3, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jul 4, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 11
Sun, Jul 5, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 9 - 0
Sun, Jul 5, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 3
Wed, Jul 8, 1959 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 11
Thu, Jul 9, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 14 - 3
Fri, Jul 10, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 5
Sat, Jul 11, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 4 (10)
Sun, Jul 12, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 7 - 3
Mon, Jul 13, 1959 vs New York Yankees Win 13 - 3
Tue, Jul 14, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jul 16, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jul 16, 1959 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jul 17, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 7 - 8
Sat, Jul 18, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 7 (13)
Sun, Jul 19, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jul 19, 1959 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Jul 21, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jul 22, 1959 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jul 24, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jul 25, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jul 26, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Jul 27, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 0
Tue, Jul 28, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Jul 28, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jul 29, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jul 30, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jul 31, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5
Sat, Aug 1, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Aug 2, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 4
Tue, Aug 4, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 4 - 1
Tue, Aug 4, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Aug 5, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 17 - 6
Thu, Aug 6, 1959 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 4 - 3
Fri, Aug 7, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3
Sat, Aug 8, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sun, Aug 9, 1959 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 7
Mon, Aug 10, 1959 vs New York Yankees Loss 4 - 7 (10)
Tue, Aug 11, 1959 vs New York Yankees Loss 5 - 8
Wed, Aug 12, 1959 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Fri, Aug 14, 1959 @ New York Yankees Win 11 - 6
Sat, Aug 15, 1959 @ New York Yankees Win 12 - 4
Sun, Aug 16, 1959 @ New York Yankees Win 6 - 5
Sun, Aug 16, 1959 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Aug 18, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 4
Wed, Aug 19, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 6
Thu, Aug 20, 1959 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 11 - 10
Fri, Aug 21, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 2
Sat, Aug 22, 1959 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 1
Sun, Aug 23, 1959 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 1