1961 Boston Red Sox

Major League Baseball » Boston Red Sox » 1961

Season Overview

76-86 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1961 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 1961 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 76-86 record. They went 50-31 at home and 26-55 on the road.

What division did the 1961 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 1961 Boston Red Sox played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1961.

What was the 1961 Boston Red Sox record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1961 Boston Red Sox had their best month in June, when they went 21-13 and had a 61.8% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 9-22 and had a 29.0% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-7 50% -9
May 10-16 38.5% -26
June 21-13 61.8% +8
July 9-22 29.0% -50
August 17-14 54.8% +15
September 12-13 48% 0
October 0-1 0% -1

Did the 1961 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 1961.

What was the run differential for the 1961 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of -63. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 74.8 wins, or a 75-87 record in the regular season.

How did the 1961 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1961 Boston Red Sox went 33-28.

How did the 1961 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1961 Boston Red Sox went 8-5 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1961 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1961 Boston Red Sox was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1961 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 1961 regular season was 6 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1961 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 11, 1961 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Apr 15, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 3 - 0
Mon, Apr 17, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 3 - 2
Tue, Apr 18, 1961 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Apr 21, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 22, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 6 (11)
Sun, Apr 23, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3
Sun, Apr 23, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Apr 25, 1961 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 1
Wed, Apr 26, 1961 vs Washington Senators Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Apr 27, 1961 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 2
Sat, Apr 29, 1961 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 9
Sun, Apr 30, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 2
Sun, Apr 30, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 10
Tue, May 2, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 4 - 7
Wed, May 3, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 8 - 9 (10)
Fri, May 5, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 5
Sun, May 7, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Win 11 - 9
Mon, May 8, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Loss 5 - 6
Tue, May 9, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Loss 7 - 8
Wed, May 10, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 3 - 2
Fri, May 12, 1961 @ Washington Senators Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 13, 1961 @ Washington Senators Loss 0 - 4
Sun, May 14, 1961 @ Washington Senators Loss 0 - 3
Sun, May 14, 1961 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 2
Mon, May 15, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 13
Tue, May 16, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 7
Wed, May 17, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 1
Thu, May 18, 1961 vs Detroit Tigers Win 1 - 0
Sat, May 20, 1961 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sun, May 21, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sun, May 21, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 1
Mon, May 22, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 1
Wed, May 24, 1961 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 25, 1961 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 6
Sat, May 27, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 5
Sun, May 28, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 0
Mon, May 29, 1961 vs New York Yankees Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 30, 1961 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 12
Wed, May 31, 1961 vs New York Yankees Loss 6 - 7
Thu, Jun 1, 1961 vs New York Yankees Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jun 2, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jun 3, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 4, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jun 5, 1961 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 6 - 2
Mon, Jun 5, 1961 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 6 - 10
Tue, Jun 6, 1961 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 7, 1961 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jun 8, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jun 9, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jun 9, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jun 10, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Loss 5 - 10
Sun, Jun 11, 1961 vs Minnesota Twins Win 8 - 2
Sun, Jun 11, 1961 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 10
Mon, Jun 12, 1961 vs Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 8
Tue, Jun 13, 1961 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 7
Wed, Jun 14, 1961 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 15, 1961 @ Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 1
Fri, Jun 16, 1961 vs Washington Senators Win 14 - 9
Sat, Jun 17, 1961 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jun 18, 1961 vs Washington Senators Win 13 - 12
Sun, Jun 18, 1961 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 5 (13)
Tue, Jun 20, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 11 - 8
Wed, Jun 21, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Jun 22, 1961 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jun 23, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jun 24, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 9
Sun, Jun 25, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 7 - 4
Sun, Jun 25, 1961 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 27, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Tue, Jun 27, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Jun 28, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jun 29, 1961 @ Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 5
Fri, Jun 30, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 10
Sat, Jul 1, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Jul 2, 1961 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 6 - 12 (10)
Mon, Jul 3, 1961 @ Washington Senators Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jul 4, 1961 @ Washington Senators Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Jul 5, 1961 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Jul 5, 1961 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 3
Thu, Jul 6, 1961 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Jul 7, 1961 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 14
Sat, Jul 8, 1961 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 8
Sun, Jul 9, 1961 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jul 9, 1961 @ New York Yankees Win 9 - 6
Thu, Jul 13, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 14, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 6 - 7
Sat, Jul 15, 1961 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 16, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 16, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 3 (12)
Mon, Jul 17, 1961 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 18, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 2
Wed, Jul 19, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 19, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 8 - 9
Thu, Jul 20, 1961 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 11 - 12
Fri, Jul 21, 1961 vs New York Yankees Loss 8 - 11
Sat, Jul 22, 1961 vs New York Yankees Loss 9 - 11
Sun, Jul 23, 1961 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jul 25, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jul 26, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jul 26, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 9
Thu, Jul 27, 1961 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 8
Fri, Jul 28, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jul 30, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 30, 1961 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 8 (10)
Wed, Aug 2, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 7 - 2
Wed, Aug 2, 1961 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 8 - 7