1963 Boston Red Sox

Major League Baseball » Boston Red Sox » 1963

Season Overview

76-85 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1963 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 1963 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 76-85 record. They went 44-36 at home and 32-49 on the road.

What division did the 1963 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 1963 Boston Red Sox played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1963.

What was the 1963 Boston Red Sox record by month?

The 1963 Boston Red Sox had their best month in April, when they went 9-6 and had a 60% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 11-20 and had a 35.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-6 60% +9
May 13-14 48.1% -9
June 18-13 58.1% +20
July 13-18 41.9% -18
August 11-20 35.5% -34
September 12-14 46.2% -6

Did the 1963 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 1963.

What was the run differential for the 1963 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of -38. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 76.4 wins, or a 76-85 record in the regular season.

How did the 1963 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1963 Boston Red Sox went 23-24.

How did the 1963 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1963 Boston Red Sox went 9-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1963 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1963 Boston Red Sox was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1963 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 1963 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1963 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 9, 1963 @ Los Angeles Angels Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Apr 10, 1963 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 4 - 1
Thu, Apr 11, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 0 - 8
Sat, Apr 13, 1963 @ Washington Senators Win 3 - 0
Sun, Apr 14, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 6 - 7
Tue, Apr 16, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 1
Wed, Apr 17, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Apr 19, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 1
Fri, Apr 19, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 1
Sat, Apr 20, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (15)
Sun, Apr 21, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Apr 24, 1963 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Sat, Apr 27, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 5
Sun, Apr 28, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3 (12)
Sun, Apr 28, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 2
Wed, May 1, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Win 14 - 5
Fri, May 3, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 4, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 3 - 14
Sun, May 5, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 3 - 2
Tue, May 7, 1963 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 1
Wed, May 8, 1963 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 10
Thu, May 9, 1963 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 4
Fri, May 10, 1963 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 3
Sun, May 12, 1963 vs Washington Senators Loss 2 - 3 (14)
Sun, May 12, 1963 vs Washington Senators Win 4 - 1
Mon, May 13, 1963 vs Washington Senators Win 8 - 5
Wed, May 15, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 9 - 3
Wed, May 15, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 7 - 6
Thu, May 16, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 3 - 0
Fri, May 17, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Sun, May 19, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 19, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 7 - 9
Mon, May 20, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Tue, May 21, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 8
Wed, May 22, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 3
Fri, May 24, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 2
Sat, May 25, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 5
Sun, May 26, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 12
Sun, May 26, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5
Tue, May 28, 1963 vs New York Yankees Win 11 - 6
Thu, May 30, 1963 vs New York Yankees Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Fri, May 31, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 6
Sat, Jun 1, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 2, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Win 11 - 9
Sun, Jun 2, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 10
Tue, Jun 4, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Jun 6, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Jun 8, 1963 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 1
Sun, Jun 9, 1963 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2 (14)
Mon, Jun 10, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Jun 11, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 3 (15)
Wed, Jun 12, 1963 vs Washington Senators Win 5 - 3
Thu, Jun 13, 1963 vs Washington Senators Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jun 14, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 1
Sun, Jun 16, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 1
Sun, Jun 16, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 12 - 5
Mon, Jun 17, 1963 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 7
Tue, Jun 18, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 0
Wed, Jun 19, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 2
Thu, Jun 20, 1963 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 3
Fri, Jun 21, 1963 vs New York Yankees Win 7 - 4
Sat, Jun 22, 1963 vs New York Yankees Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Jun 22, 1963 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jun 23, 1963 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 8
Mon, Jun 24, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 5
Tue, Jun 25, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jun 25, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jun 26, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5
Thu, Jun 27, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 6
Fri, Jun 28, 1963 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jun 29, 1963 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jun 30, 1963 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jun 30, 1963 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 11
Mon, Jul 1, 1963 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 7
Tue, Jul 2, 1963 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 1
Wed, Jul 3, 1963 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jul 4, 1963 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4 (14)
Thu, Jul 4, 1963 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Jul 5, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 3
Sat, Jul 6, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jul 7, 1963 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 4 (12)
Wed, Jul 10, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Win 7 - 4 (10)
Thu, Jul 11, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 0
Fri, Jul 12, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2 (12)
Sat, Jul 13, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Jul 14, 1963 @ Los Angeles Angels Loss 8 - 10
Sun, Jul 14, 1963 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 5 - 0
Mon, Jul 15, 1963 @ Los Angeles Angels Win 2 - 1
Tue, Jul 16, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 0 - 11
Wed, Jul 17, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Loss 1 - 8
Thu, Jul 18, 1963 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 10 - 6
Sat, Jul 20, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jul 21, 1963 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2 (10)
Tue, Jul 23, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 0 - 1
Wed, Jul 24, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Jul 24, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Thu, Jul 25, 1963 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Jul 26, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jul 27, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jul 28, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Jul 28, 1963 vs Los Angeles Angels Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Jul 29, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Win 7 - 5
Tue, Jul 30, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Jul 31, 1963 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 9
Fri, Aug 2, 1963 @ Washington Senators Win 5 - 0
Fri, Aug 2, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Aug 3, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Aug 4, 1963 @ Washington Senators Loss 5 - 7
Tue, Aug 6, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 10
Wed, Aug 7, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Aug 8, 1963 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Fri, Aug 9, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Aug 10, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Aug 11, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Aug 12, 1963 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Wed, Aug 14, 1963 vs New York Yankees Win 14 - 7
Wed, Aug 14, 1963 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Thu, Aug 15, 1963 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 10
Fri, Aug 16, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 4
Sat, Aug 17, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Win 10 - 3
Sun, Aug 18, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 7
Mon, Aug 19, 1963 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 8