1980 California Angels

Major League Baseball » Los Angeles Angels » 1980

Season Overview

65-95 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1980 California Angels

What was the record of the 1980 California Angels?

The California Angels finished the regular season with a 65-95 record. They went 30-51 at home and 35-44 on the road.

What division did the 1980 California Angels play in?

The 1980 California Angels played in the West Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1980 California Angels?

During the regular season, the 1980 California Angels went 40-38 against their AL West opponents.

What was the 1980 California Angels record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Texas Rangers 11-2 84.6% +27
Seattle Mariners 11-2 84.6% +21
Minnesota Twins 7-6 53.8% +8
Kansas City Royals 5-8 38.5% -3
Chicago White Sox 3-10 23.1% -15
Oakland Athletics 3-10 23.1% -28

What was the 1980 California Angels record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1980 California Angels had their best month in September, when they went 14-14 and had a 50% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 6-21 and had a 22.2% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-10 44.4% -4
May 11-15 42.3% -23
June 6-21 22.2% -42
July 12-16 42.9% -24
August 14-15 48.3% 0
September 14-14 50% +4
October 0-4 0% -10

Did the 1980 California Angels make the Postseason?

No, the Angels didn't make the Postseason in 1980.

What was the run differential for the 1980 California Angels?

The California Angels finished the regular season with a run differential of -99. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Angels could have been expected to have about 70.3 wins, or a 70-90 record in the regular season.

How did the 1980 California Angels perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1980 California Angels went 24-27.

How did the 1980 California Angels perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1980 California Angels went 6-10 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1980 California Angels?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1980 California Angels was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1980 California Angels?

The longest losing streak that the California Angels had during the 1980 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1980 California Angels Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Fri, Apr 11, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Win 10 - 2
Sat, Apr 12, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 13, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 3
Mon, Apr 14, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Apr 15, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 1
Wed, Apr 16, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 1 (10)
Fri, Apr 18, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 6
Sat, Apr 19, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Apr 20, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 6
Sun, Apr 20, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 8
Tue, Apr 22, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 8
Wed, Apr 23, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Win 17 - 0
Fri, Apr 25, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 26, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 6
Sun, Apr 27, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 7
Mon, Apr 28, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 8
Tue, Apr 29, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Apr 30, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Win 2 - 1
Thu, May 1, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 2 - 1
Fri, May 2, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 3 - 1
Sat, May 3, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 0 - 2
Sun, May 4, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 6, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 7, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 7
Thu, May 8, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 9
Fri, May 9, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sat, May 10, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 6
Sun, May 11, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 4
Wed, May 14, 1980 @ Cleveland Indians Win 13 - 7
Fri, May 16, 1980 @ Kansas City Royals Win 11 - 1
Sat, May 17, 1980 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 2 (10)
Sun, May 18, 1980 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 19, 1980 @ Texas Rangers Win 3 - 2 (13)
Tue, May 20, 1980 @ Texas Rangers Win 5 - 4
Wed, May 21, 1980 @ Texas Rangers Win 9 - 8
Thu, May 22, 1980 @ Texas Rangers Loss 6 - 12
Fri, May 23, 1980 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 9 - 13
Sat, May 24, 1980 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sun, May 25, 1980 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 7
Mon, May 26, 1980 vs Texas Rangers Loss 5 - 6
Tue, May 27, 1980 vs Texas Rangers Win 2 - 0
Wed, May 28, 1980 vs Texas Rangers Win 7 - 6
Fri, May 30, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 12
Sat, May 31, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 1
Mon, Jun 2, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 3
Tue, Jun 3, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 6 - 7 (11)
Wed, Jun 4, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 8
Fri, Jun 6, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jun 7, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jun 8, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 8 - 13
Mon, Jun 9, 1980 vs New York Yankees Loss 7 - 8 (10)
Tue, Jun 10, 1980 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jun 11, 1980 vs New York Yankees Loss 7 - 9 (11)
Thu, Jun 12, 1980 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 13
Fri, Jun 13, 1980 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Jun 14, 1980 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Jun 15, 1980 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Jun 16, 1980 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Jun 17, 1980 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 18, 1980 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 5
Thu, Jun 19, 1980 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Jun 20, 1980 @ Boston Red Sox Win 20 - 2
Sat, Jun 21, 1980 @ Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jun 22, 1980 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jun 24, 1980 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 25, 1980 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jun 26, 1980 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Jun 27, 1980 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jun 28, 1980 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 11
Sun, Jun 29, 1980 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Jun 30, 1980 @ Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 6
Tue, Jul 1, 1980 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 2
Wed, Jul 2, 1980 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Jul 3, 1980 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 3
Fri, Jul 4, 1980 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 0
Sat, Jul 5, 1980 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 6, 1980 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 0
Thu, Jul 10, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 1
Thu, Jul 10, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jul 11, 1980 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Jul 12, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Jul 13, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 4 (14)
Mon, Jul 14, 1980 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 6
Tue, Jul 15, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 1
Wed, Jul 16, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 6
Thu, Jul 17, 1980 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jul 18, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 3
Sat, Jul 19, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Jul 20, 1980 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 6 (10)
Mon, Jul 21, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 14
Tue, Jul 22, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jul 23, 1980 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 7
Fri, Jul 25, 1980 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 8 - 9
Fri, Jul 25, 1980 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 10
Sat, Jul 26, 1980 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 14
Mon, Jul 28, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jul 29, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 0
Wed, Jul 30, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5
Thu, Jul 31, 1980 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 15
Fri, Aug 1, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 8 - 9
Sat, Aug 2, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4
Sun, Aug 3, 1980 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Aug 4, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 3
Tue, Aug 5, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 4
Wed, Aug 6, 1980 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 3
Thu, Aug 7, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 2 (15)
Fri, Aug 8, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 5
Sat, Aug 9, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Win 8 - 2
Sun, Aug 10, 1980 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Aug 12, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Win 9 - 6
Wed, Aug 13, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Win 10 - 4 (10)
Thu, Aug 14, 1980 @ Seattle Mariners Win 2 - 1
Fri, Aug 15, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Sun, Aug 17, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Aug 17, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Aug 18, 1980 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 8
Tue, Aug 19, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Aug 20, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Thu, Aug 21, 1980 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Aug 22, 1980 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 4
Sat, Aug 23, 1980 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Aug 24, 1980 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 4