1942 Chicago Cubs

Major League Baseball » Chicago Cubs » 1942

Season Overview

68-86 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1942 Chicago Cubs

What was the record of the 1942 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a 68-86 record. They went 36-41 at home and 32-45 on the road.

What division did the 1942 Chicago Cubs play in?

The 1942 Chicago Cubs played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1942.

What was the 1942 Chicago Cubs record by month?

The 1942 Chicago Cubs had their best month in June, when they went 15-14 and had a 51.7% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 8-13 and had a 38.1% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-9 43.8% -20
May 14-15 48.3% -12
June 15-14 51.7% -1
July 11-17 39.3% -26
August 13-18 41.9% -9
September 8-13 38.1% -6

Did the 1942 Chicago Cubs make the Postseason?

No, the Cubs didn't make the Postseason in 1942.

What was the run differential for the 1942 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a run differential of -74. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cubs could have been expected to have about 68.7 wins, or a 69-85 record in the regular season.

How did the 1942 Chicago Cubs perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1942 Chicago Cubs went 23-25.

How did the 1942 Chicago Cubs perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1942 Chicago Cubs went 8-12 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1942 Chicago Cubs?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1942 Chicago Cubs was a 5 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1942 Chicago Cubs?

The longest losing streak that the Chicago Cubs had during the 1942 regular season was 4 games, which occured 6 separate times.

1942 Chicago Cubs Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 14, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4
Wed, Apr 15, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Apr 16, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 6 - 11
Fri, Apr 17, 1942 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2
Sun, Apr 19, 1942 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 2 (14)
Mon, Apr 20, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 2
Tue, Apr 21, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Apr 22, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 9
Thu, Apr 23, 1942 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1
Fri, Apr 24, 1942 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 25, 1942 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 4 (11)
Sun, Apr 26, 1942 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 9
Mon, Apr 27, 1942 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3 (11)
Tue, Apr 28, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Apr 29, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 3 - 8
Thu, Apr 30, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 1, 1942 vs New York Giants Win 13 - 9
Sat, May 2, 1942 vs New York Giants Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 3, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 1
Sun, May 3, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 8
Tue, May 5, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Fri, May 8, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 6
Sat, May 9, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 1
Sun, May 10, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Sun, May 10, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Tue, May 12, 1942 @ Boston Braves Win 9 - 8
Wed, May 13, 1942 @ Boston Braves Loss 5 - 6
Thu, May 14, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 3
Fri, May 15, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Sun, May 17, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 8
Sun, May 17, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Mon, May 18, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Tue, May 19, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 6
Wed, May 20, 1942 @ New York Giants Win 6 - 3
Sat, May 23, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Sun, May 24, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 5 (10)
Sun, May 24, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 4
Mon, May 25, 1942 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 10
Tue, May 26, 1942 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 3 (10)
Wed, May 27, 1942 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 10
Thu, May 28, 1942 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 2 - 1 (12)
Fri, May 29, 1942 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 5 (11)
Sat, May 30, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 10 - 5
Sat, May 30, 1942 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 31, 1942 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 2, 1942 vs New York Giants Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jun 3, 1942 vs New York Giants Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jun 4, 1942 vs New York Giants Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Fri, Jun 5, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jun 5, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sat, Jun 6, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jun 7, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 4 - 8
Sun, Jun 7, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Wed, Jun 10, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 2
Thu, Jun 11, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jun 12, 1942 vs Boston Braves Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jun 13, 1942 vs Boston Braves Win 1 - 0
Sun, Jun 14, 1942 vs Boston Braves Win 8 - 6
Sun, Jun 14, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 1 - 10
Mon, Jun 15, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 6 - 0
Wed, Jun 17, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Jun 19, 1942 @ New York Giants Win 7 - 4
Fri, Jun 19, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Jun 20, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Jun 21, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Jun 21, 1942 @ New York Giants Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jun 23, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jun 24, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 1
Thu, Jun 25, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jun 26, 1942 @ Boston Braves Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jun 27, 1942 @ Boston Braves Loss 0 - 4
Sun, Jun 28, 1942 @ Boston Braves Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jun 28, 1942 @ Boston Braves Win 5 - 1
Tue, Jun 30, 1942 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 1, 1942 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jul 4, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jul 4, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 9
Sun, Jul 5, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Jul 5, 1942 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 6 - 11
Thu, Jul 9, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 3 - 4 (13)
Fri, Jul 10, 1942 vs Boston Braves Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jul 11, 1942 vs Boston Braves Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 12, 1942 vs New York Giants Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Jul 12, 1942 vs New York Giants Win 8 - 3
Tue, Jul 14, 1942 vs New York Giants Win 3 - 0
Wed, Jul 15, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 10
Thu, Jul 16, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 7 - 0
Thu, Jul 16, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jul 17, 1942 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 10
Sat, Jul 18, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 19, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 8
Sun, Jul 19, 1942 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 4
Tue, Jul 21, 1942 @ Boston Braves Loss 3 - 4 (17)
Wed, Jul 22, 1942 @ Boston Braves Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 25, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 26, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 26, 1942 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Jul 28, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 5 - 9
Tue, Jul 28, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Jul 29, 1942 @ New York Giants Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jul 29, 1942 @ New York Giants Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Jul 30, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 9
Sat, Aug 1, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 6 - 9
Sun, Aug 2, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Sun, Aug 2, 1942 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 7 - 6
Tue, Aug 4, 1942 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 2 (11)