1961 Chicago Cubs

Major League Baseball » Chicago Cubs » 1961

Season Overview

64-90 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1961 Chicago Cubs

What was the record of the 1961 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a 64-90 record. They went 40-37 at home and 24-53 on the road.

What division did the 1961 Chicago Cubs play in?

The 1961 Chicago Cubs played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1961.

What was the 1961 Chicago Cubs record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1961 Chicago Cubs had their best month in July, when they went 15-14 and had a 51.7% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 7-18 and had a 28.0% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-8 50% -7
May 7-18 28.0% -39
June 13-16 44.8% -10
July 15-14 51.7% -10
August 11-17 39.3% -15
September 10-16 38.5% -24
October 0-1 0% -6

Did the 1961 Chicago Cubs make the Postseason?

No, the Cubs didn't make the Postseason in 1961.

What was the run differential for the 1961 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a run differential of -111. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cubs could have been expected to have about 66.4 wins, or a 66-88 record in the regular season.

How did the 1961 Chicago Cubs perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1961 Chicago Cubs went 25-28.

How did the 1961 Chicago Cubs perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1961 Chicago Cubs went 7-9 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1961 Chicago Cubs?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1961 Chicago Cubs was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1961 Chicago Cubs?

The longest losing streak that the Chicago Cubs had during the 1961 regular season was 8 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1961 Chicago Cubs Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 11, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 7
Thu, Apr 13, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Apr 14, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 3 - 2
Sat, Apr 15, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 9 - 5
Tue, Apr 18, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Apr 19, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Apr 20, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 0
Fri, Apr 21, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2
Sat, Apr 22, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 4 (11)
Sun, Apr 23, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Apr 23, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 6
Wed, Apr 26, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2 (10)
Thu, Apr 27, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2
Sat, Apr 29, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 9
Sun, Apr 30, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 30, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 10 - 5
Tue, May 2, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 4
Wed, May 3, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 8
Thu, May 4, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 9
Sat, May 6, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 6
Sun, May 7, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Tue, May 9, 1961 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 5 - 8
Wed, May 10, 1961 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 12, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Sat, May 13, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 7
Sun, May 14, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 10 - 8 (11)
Mon, May 15, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 14
Tue, May 16, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 2
Wed, May 17, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4
Fri, May 19, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 1 - 0
Sat, May 20, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 1 - 0
Sun, May 21, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 6
Sun, May 21, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Tue, May 23, 1961 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2 (10)
Wed, May 24, 1961 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 7
Fri, May 26, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3 (13)
Sat, May 27, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 8
Sun, May 28, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 6
Tue, May 30, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Tue, May 30, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 10 - 0
Wed, May 31, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Thu, Jun 1, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 10 - 3
Fri, Jun 2, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 6
Sat, Jun 3, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 7
Sun, Jun 4, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 4, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 2
Mon, Jun 5, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 8 - 10
Tue, Jun 6, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Jun 7, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 6 - 8
Fri, Jun 9, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 11 - 10
Sat, Jun 10, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 5 - 9
Sun, Jun 11, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 4 - 8
Sun, Jun 11, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 14, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 7
Thu, Jun 15, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 6 (12)
Fri, Jun 16, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Win 12 - 6
Sat, Jun 17, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 9
Sun, Jun 18, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 7
Tue, Jun 20, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Jun 21, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jun 21, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 22, 1961 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jun 23, 1961 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 5 - 3
Sat, Jun 24, 1961 @ Milwaukee Braves Loss 4 - 13
Sun, Jun 25, 1961 @ Milwaukee Braves Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jun 27, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 8 - 10
Wed, Jun 28, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 16 - 5
Wed, Jun 28, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Thu, Jun 29, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 15 - 8
Fri, Jun 30, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 11
Sat, Jul 1, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 13 - 1
Sun, Jul 2, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 9
Tue, Jul 4, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 19
Tue, Jul 4, 1961 vs San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 6, 1961 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 15
Thu, Jul 6, 1961 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 1
Fri, Jul 7, 1961 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 3
Sat, Jul 8, 1961 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jul 9, 1961 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 8
Sun, Jul 9, 1961 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 5
Thu, Jul 13, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jul 14, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 7 (10)
Sat, Jul 15, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Jul 16, 1961 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jul 17, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 6 - 10
Mon, Jul 17, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 8
Tue, Jul 18, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 8
Tue, Jul 18, 1961 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Jul 20, 1961 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 4
Fri, Jul 21, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Sat, Jul 22, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jul 23, 1961 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 11 - 5
Tue, Jul 25, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 26, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 6 (12)
Thu, Jul 27, 1961 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 28, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jul 29, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 6
Sun, Jul 30, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 30, 1961 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Aug 2, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Aug 3, 1961 vs Milwaukee Braves Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Aug 4, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Sat, Aug 5, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 6 - 7 (13)
Sun, Aug 6, 1961 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 11
Tue, Aug 8, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 8
Wed, Aug 9, 1961 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 6