1978 Cincinnati Reds

Major League Baseball » Cincinnati Reds » 1978

Season Overview

92-69 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1978 Cincinnati Reds

What was the record of the 1978 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a 92-69 record. They went 49-31 at home and 43-38 on the road.

What division did the 1978 Cincinnati Reds play in?

The 1978 Cincinnati Reds played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1978 Cincinnati Reds?

During the regular season, the 1978 Cincinnati Reds went 53-37 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1978 Cincinnati Reds record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
San Francisco Giants 12-6 66.7% +37
Atlanta Braves 12-6 66.7% +23
Houston Astros 11-7 61.1% +2
Los Angeles Dodgers 9-9 50% -4
San Diego Padres 9-9 50% -10

What was the 1978 Cincinnati Reds record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1978 Cincinnati Reds had their best month in September, when they went 19-8 and had a 70.4% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 10-18 and had a 35.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 13-8 61.9% +26
May 17-11 60.7% +11
June 14-14 50% -13
July 18-10 64.3% +9
August 10-18 35.7% -34
September 19-8 70.4% +21
October 1-0 100% +2

Did the 1978 Cincinnati Reds make the Postseason?

No, the Reds didn't make the Postseason in 1978.

What was the run differential for the 1978 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a run differential of +22. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Reds could have been expected to have about 82.8 wins, or a 83-78 record in the regular season.

How did the 1978 Cincinnati Reds perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1978 Cincinnati Reds went 36-19.

How did the 1978 Cincinnati Reds perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1978 Cincinnati Reds went 11-4 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1978 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1978 Cincinnati Reds was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1978 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest losing streak that the Cincinnati Reds had during the 1978 regular season was 6 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1978 Cincinnati Reds Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 6, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 11 - 9
Fri, Apr 7, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Sat, Apr 8, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 2 - 1
Sun, Apr 9, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 9 - 3
Tue, Apr 11, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Apr 12, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Win 12 - 3
Thu, Apr 13, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 6 (13)
Fri, Apr 14, 1978 @ Houston Astros Win 8 - 4
Sat, Apr 15, 1978 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 6
Sun, Apr 16, 1978 @ Houston Astros Loss 3 - 4 (13)
Mon, Apr 17, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 2
Tue, Apr 18, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 11 - 3
Wed, Apr 19, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Apr 21, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Apr 22, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sun, Apr 23, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Win 2 - 1 (10)
Tue, Apr 25, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Apr 26, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 14
Fri, Apr 28, 1978 @ New York Mets Win 5 - 1
Sat, Apr 29, 1978 @ New York Mets Win 14 - 7
Sun, Apr 30, 1978 @ New York Mets Loss 4 - 6
Mon, May 1, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 12
Wed, May 3, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 12 - 3
Fri, May 5, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 6, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 2
Sun, May 7, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Loss 5 - 19
Sun, May 7, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Mon, May 8, 1978 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Tue, May 9, 1978 vs New York Mets Win 7 - 6 (10)
Thu, May 11, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 4
Fri, May 12, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 0
Sat, May 13, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3
Sun, May 14, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 7
Tue, May 16, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 1
Wed, May 17, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Thu, May 18, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Win 3 - 2
Fri, May 19, 1978 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 20, 1978 vs San Diego Padres Win 10 - 6
Sun, May 21, 1978 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 7
Sun, May 21, 1978 vs San Diego Padres Win 1 - 0
Mon, May 22, 1978 vs Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 0
Tue, May 23, 1978 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 6
Wed, May 24, 1978 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 4
Fri, May 26, 1978 @ San Diego Padres Win 3 - 1
Sat, May 27, 1978 @ San Diego Padres Win 5 - 2
Sun, May 28, 1978 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 3
Mon, May 29, 1978 @ Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 5
Tue, May 30, 1978 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Wed, May 31, 1978 @ Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 4
Fri, Jun 2, 1978 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jun 3, 1978 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 4, 1978 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 4
Mon, Jun 5, 1978 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1
Tue, Jun 6, 1978 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jun 7, 1978 @ Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 6
Thu, Jun 8, 1978 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 10
Fri, Jun 9, 1978 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 9 - 11
Sat, Jun 10, 1978 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jun 11, 1978 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jun 12, 1978 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 13, 1978 vs Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Wed, Jun 14, 1978 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 1
Fri, Jun 16, 1978 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 0
Sat, Jun 17, 1978 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jun 18, 1978 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jun 20, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 3
Wed, Jun 21, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Jun 22, 1978 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 0
Fri, Jun 23, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 1
Sat, Jun 24, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jun 25, 1978 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 4
Mon, Jun 26, 1978 @ Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 27, 1978 @ Houston Astros Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Jun 28, 1978 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Jun 29, 1978 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 5
Fri, Jun 30, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jun 30, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Jul 1, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jul 2, 1978 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 6
Mon, Jul 3, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 7 (11)
Tue, Jul 4, 1978 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Jul 5, 1978 vs Houston Astros Win 2 - 1
Fri, Jul 7, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 6 - 7
Fri, Jul 7, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 8, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 9, 1978 vs San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 2
Thu, Jul 13, 1978 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jul 14, 1978 vs New York Mets Win 6 - 3
Sat, Jul 15, 1978 vs New York Mets Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jul 16, 1978 vs New York Mets Win 9 - 2
Mon, Jul 17, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Win 8 - 6
Tue, Jul 18, 1978 vs Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Jul 19, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 2
Thu, Jul 20, 1978 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 6 - 8
Fri, Jul 21, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Win 10 - 3
Sat, Jul 22, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 23, 1978 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 4 (14)
Mon, Jul 24, 1978 @ New York Mets Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jul 25, 1978 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 9
Wed, Jul 26, 1978 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 12
Fri, Jul 28, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 12
Fri, Jul 28, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 29, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jul 30, 1978 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 3
Mon, Jul 31, 1978 @ Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2