1949 Cleveland Indians

MLB » Cleveland Guardians » 1949

Season Overview

89-65 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1949 Cleveland Indians

What was the record of the 1949 Cleveland Indians?

The Cleveland Indians finished the regular season with a 89-65 record. They went 49-28 at home and 40-37 on the road.

What division did the 1949 Cleveland Indians play in?

The 1949 Cleveland Indians played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1949.

What was the 1949 Cleveland Indians record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1949 Cleveland Indians had their best month in July, when they went 21-9 and had a 70% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 11-15 and had a 42.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 6-3 66.7% +16
May 11-15 42.3% -20
June 18-12 60% +24
July 21-9 70% +35
August 18-14 56.2% +40
September 13-12 52% -2
October 2-0 100% +8

Did the 1949 Cleveland Indians make the Postseason?

No, the Indians didn't make the Postseason in 1949.

What was the run differential for the 1949 Cleveland Indians?

The Cleveland Indians finished the regular season with a run differential of +101. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Indians could have been expected to have about 88.3 wins, or a 88-66 record in the regular season.

How did the 1949 Cleveland Indians perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1949 Cleveland Indians went 33-22.

How did the 1949 Cleveland Indians perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1949 Cleveland Indians went 18-1 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1949 Cleveland Indians?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1949 Cleveland Indians was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1949 Cleveland Indians?

The longest losing streak that the Cleveland Indians had during the 1949 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1949 Cleveland Indians Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 19, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Apr 20, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Win 7 - 3
Thu, Apr 21, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Win 8 - 2
Fri, Apr 22, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sat, Apr 23, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Tue, Apr 26, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 1 - 0
Wed, Apr 27, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 11 - 3
Fri, Apr 29, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 1
Sat, Apr 30, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 7
Sun, May 1, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 4, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 3
Thu, May 5, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 3
Sat, May 7, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 3 (12)
Sun, May 8, 1949 vs Washington Senators Loss 3 - 7
Sun, May 8, 1949 vs Washington Senators Loss 0 - 2
Tue, May 10, 1949 vs Washington Senators Loss 0 - 1
Wed, May 11, 1949 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 2
Fri, May 13, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 10 - 11
Sun, May 15, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 10
Sun, May 15, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 2
Tue, May 17, 1949 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 18, 1949 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 6
Thu, May 19, 1949 @ New York Yankees Win 3 - 2
Sat, May 21, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 4
Sun, May 22, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 5
Sun, May 22, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 3 - 7
Mon, May 23, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 3
Wed, May 25, 1949 @ Washington Senators Loss 2 - 6
Thu, May 26, 1949 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 5
Fri, May 27, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Sat, May 28, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2 (11)
Sun, May 29, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sun, May 29, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1 (11)
Mon, May 30, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 2 - 1 (12)
Mon, May 30, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 0
Wed, Jun 1, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Jun 2, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 3
Fri, Jun 3, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 1
Sat, Jun 4, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 3 - 10
Sun, Jun 5, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jun 5, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Jun 6, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 11 - 5
Tue, Jun 7, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 13 - 11
Wed, Jun 8, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 8 - 3
Fri, Jun 10, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jun 11, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 7 - 12
Sun, Jun 12, 1949 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 0
Sun, Jun 12, 1949 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 1
Tue, Jun 14, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Win 10 - 5
Wed, Jun 15, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 5
Thu, Jun 16, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 3
Fri, Jun 17, 1949 @ New York Yankees Win 10 - 4
Sat, Jun 18, 1949 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Jun 19, 1949 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 2 (11)
Mon, Jun 20, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jun 21, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 2 - 8
Wed, Jun 22, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 3 (14)
Thu, Jun 23, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 24, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 2
Sat, Jun 25, 1949 @ Washington Senators Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jun 26, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 3 - 1 (10)
Tue, Jun 28, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 29, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 4
Wed, Jun 29, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 7
Thu, Jun 30, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 12
Fri, Jul 1, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jul 2, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 3, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jul 3, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 4 - 3 (10)
Mon, Jul 4, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 2
Mon, Jul 4, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 3
Tue, Jul 5, 1949 @ Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 1
Wed, Jul 6, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 9
Thu, Jul 7, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 2
Fri, Jul 8, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jul 10, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Win 7 - 4
Thu, Jul 14, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jul 15, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 0 - 8
Sat, Jul 16, 1949 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jul 17, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jul 17, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 2
Mon, Jul 18, 1949 vs Boston Red Sox Win 1 - 0
Tue, Jul 19, 1949 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jul 20, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jul 21, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jul 22, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 2 - 1 (10)
Sat, Jul 23, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jul 24, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jul 24, 1949 vs Washington Senators Win 5 - 2
Mon, Jul 25, 1949 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 28, 1949 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Jul 29, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jul 29, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 3
Sat, Jul 30, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Win 10 - 6 (10)
Sun, Jul 31, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 3
Mon, Aug 1, 1949 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Aug 2, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 1
Thu, Aug 4, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 6 - 3 (12)
Thu, Aug 4, 1949 @ Washington Senators Win 14 - 1
Fri, Aug 5, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 3 - 2
Sat, Aug 6, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Aug 7, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Aug 7, 1949 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Aug 9, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Win 9 - 2
Wed, Aug 10, 1949 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Aug 11, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 5 (12)
Fri, Aug 12, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Aug 14, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3
Sun, Aug 14, 1949 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 0
Mon, Aug 15, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (10)
Tue, Aug 16, 1949 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 0
Wed, Aug 17, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 6 - 10
Wed, Aug 17, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Aug 18, 1949 @ St. Louis Browns Win 14 - 4
Fri, Aug 19, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 0
Sun, Aug 21, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Aug 21, 1949 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 4
Tue, Aug 23, 1949 vs Washington Senators Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Aug 24, 1949 vs Washington Senators Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Aug 25, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Aug 26, 1949 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 3
Sat, Aug 27, 1949 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 4