1970 Houston Astros

MLB » Houston Astros » 1970

Season Overview

79-83 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1970 Houston Astros

What was the record of the 1970 Houston Astros?

The Houston Astros finished the regular season with a 79-83 record. They went 44-37 at home and 35-46 on the road.

What division did the 1970 Houston Astros play in?

The 1970 Houston Astros played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1970 Houston Astros?

During the regular season, the 1970 Houston Astros went 44-46 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1970 Houston Astros record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
San Diego Padres 14-4 77.8% +23
San Francisco Giants 10-8 55.6% -6
Atlanta Braves 9-9 50% -3
Los Angeles Dodgers 8-10 44.4% +15
Cincinnati Reds 3-15 16.7% -26

What was the 1970 Houston Astros record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1970 Houston Astros had their best month in September, when they went 16-13 and had a 55.2% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 7-14 and had a 33.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-14 33.3% -20
May 14-15 48.3% -7
June 12-14 46.2% +9
July 13-14 48.1% -21
August 16-13 55.2% 0
September 16-13 55.2% +19
October 1-0 100% +1

Did the 1970 Houston Astros make the Postseason?

No, the Astros didn't make the Postseason in 1970.

What was the run differential for the 1970 Houston Astros?

The Houston Astros finished the regular season with a run differential of -19. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Astros could have been expected to have about 79.1 wins, or a 79-83 record in the regular season.

How did the 1970 Houston Astros perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1970 Houston Astros went 28-28.

How did the 1970 Houston Astros perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1970 Houston Astros went 11-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1970 Houston Astros?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1970 Houston Astros was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1970 Houston Astros?

The longest losing streak that the Houston Astros had during the 1970 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

1970 Houston Astros Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 7, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 5
Wed, Apr 8, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Apr 9, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 7
Fri, Apr 10, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Apr 11, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Win 8 - 7
Sun, Apr 12, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Win 8 - 3
Mon, Apr 13, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Apr 14, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Apr 15, 1970 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 6 (10)
Thu, Apr 16, 1970 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 9 - 11 (10)
Fri, Apr 17, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 1
Sat, Apr 18, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3
Sun, Apr 19, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 1
Mon, Apr 20, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Apr 21, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 8 - 9
Wed, Apr 22, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 6
Fri, Apr 24, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 6
Sat, Apr 25, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 11
Sun, Apr 26, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Apr 28, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Apr 29, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 1, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 9 - 3
Sat, May 2, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 3 (10)
Sun, May 3, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 7
Sun, May 3, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 1
Mon, May 4, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 2
Tue, May 5, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 1
Thu, May 7, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 5 - 9
Fri, May 8, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 5
Sat, May 9, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 6
Sun, May 10, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 2
Tue, May 12, 1970 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 3
Wed, May 13, 1970 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 5
Thu, May 14, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 15, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Loss 8 - 10 (10)
Sat, May 16, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Win 9 - 7
Sun, May 17, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 18, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 0
Tue, May 19, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 12
Wed, May 20, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 21, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 3
Fri, May 22, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Sat, May 23, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 14
Sun, May 24, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 7
Tue, May 26, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Wed, May 27, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 8
Fri, May 29, 1970 @ New York Mets Win 5 - 0
Sat, May 30, 1970 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4
Sun, May 31, 1970 @ New York Mets Loss 4 - 14
Sun, May 31, 1970 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4 (14)
Tue, Jun 2, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jun 3, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Win 5 - 0
Thu, Jun 4, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Win 8 - 0
Fri, Jun 5, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 7 (11)
Sat, Jun 6, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Jun 7, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 10
Mon, Jun 8, 1970 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jun 9, 1970 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 10, 1970 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jun 12, 1970 @ Montreal Expos Loss 6 - 7
Sat, Jun 13, 1970 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jun 14, 1970 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jun 16, 1970 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2 (13)
Wed, Jun 17, 1970 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jun 19, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 6 - 7
Fri, Jun 19, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 20, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 6
Sun, Jun 21, 1970 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 6
Mon, Jun 22, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jun 23, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 24, 1970 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jun 26, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jun 27, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jun 28, 1970 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jun 29, 1970 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 10 - 5
Tue, Jun 30, 1970 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jul 1, 1970 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 3, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Jul 3, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 4
Sat, Jul 4, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jul 5, 1970 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jul 6, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 8 - 10 (10)
Tue, Jul 7, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 7
Wed, Jul 8, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 5 - 6
Thu, Jul 9, 1970 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 9 - 5
Fri, Jul 10, 1970 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 8
Sat, Jul 11, 1970 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 4 (14)
Sun, Jul 12, 1970 vs San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 7
Thu, Jul 16, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Fri, Jul 17, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jul 18, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Jul 19, 1970 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Jul 20, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4 (12)
Tue, Jul 21, 1970 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 1
Wed, Jul 22, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 13 - 9
Thu, Jul 23, 1970 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 24, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 11
Sat, Jul 25, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 4
Sun, Jul 26, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 4 (10)
Tue, Jul 28, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Win 10 - 4
Wed, Jul 29, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 9
Thu, Jul 30, 1970 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 31, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Aug 1, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 7 - 14
Sun, Aug 2, 1970 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Aug 3, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 5
Mon, Aug 3, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Aug 4, 1970 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 6
Wed, Aug 5, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3 (10)
Thu, Aug 6, 1970 @ San Diego Padres Win 8 - 6
Fri, Aug 7, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Win 11 - 2
Sat, Aug 8, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Aug 9, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 5 (10)
Sun, Aug 9, 1970 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Aug 11, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Aug 12, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 0
Thu, Aug 13, 1970 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3
Fri, Aug 14, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 10
Sat, Aug 15, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Win 7 - 3
Sun, Aug 16, 1970 vs Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Aug 18, 1970 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 7