1987 Kansas City Royals

Major League Baseball » Kansas City Royals » 1987

Season Overview

83-79 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1987 Kansas City Royals

What was the record of the 1987 Kansas City Royals?

The Kansas City Royals finished the regular season with a 83-79 record. They went 46-35 at home and 37-44 on the road.

What division did the 1987 Kansas City Royals play in?

The 1987 Kansas City Royals played in the West Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1987 Kansas City Royals?

During the regular season, the 1987 Kansas City Royals went 44-34 against their AL West opponents.

What was the 1987 Kansas City Royals record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Seattle Mariners 9-4 69.2% +27
Minnesota Twins 8-5 61.5% +13
California Angels 8-5 61.5% -10
Chicago White Sox 7-6 53.8% +12
Texas Rangers 7-6 53.8% 0
Oakland Athletics 5-8 38.5% -4

What was the 1987 Kansas City Royals record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1987 Kansas City Royals had their best month in May, when they went 18-9 and had a 66.7% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 10-18 and had a 35.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-10 47.4% +2
May 18-9 66.7% +28
June 12-16 42.9% -21
July 10-18 35.7% -20
August 16-13 55.2% +14
September 15-13 53.6% +7
October 3-0 100% +14

Did the 1987 Kansas City Royals make the Postseason?

No, the Royals didn't make the Postseason in 1987.

What was the run differential for the 1987 Kansas City Royals?

The Kansas City Royals finished the regular season with a run differential of +24. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Royals could have been expected to have about 83.5 wins, or a 84-78 record in the regular season.

How did the 1987 Kansas City Royals perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1987 Kansas City Royals went 23-21.

How did the 1987 Kansas City Royals perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1987 Kansas City Royals went 5-3 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1987 Kansas City Royals?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1987 Kansas City Royals was a 6 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1987 Kansas City Royals?

The longest losing streak that the Kansas City Royals had during the 1987 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1987 Kansas City Royals Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 6, 1987 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Apr 8, 1987 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 3
Thu, Apr 9, 1987 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 6
Fri, Apr 10, 1987 vs New York Yankees Win 13 - 1
Sat, Apr 11, 1987 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 15
Sun, Apr 12, 1987 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 2
Tue, Apr 14, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 1
Wed, Apr 15, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Win 2 - 1
Sat, Apr 18, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Apr 19, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Apr 19, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 1
Mon, Apr 20, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Win 10 - 2
Tue, Apr 21, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 8
Wed, Apr 22, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 1
Fri, Apr 24, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 3
Sat, Apr 25, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 13
Sun, Apr 26, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 1
Tue, Apr 28, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Apr 29, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Fri, May 1, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Sat, May 2, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 3, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 5, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 4
Wed, May 6, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 3
Fri, May 8, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 6
Sat, May 9, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 0
Sun, May 10, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 4
Mon, May 11, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 0 - 4
Tue, May 12, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 1
Wed, May 13, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 7 (12)
Thu, May 14, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 4
Fri, May 15, 1987 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 16, 1987 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 13 - 0
Sun, May 17, 1987 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 2
Mon, May 18, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 2
Tue, May 19, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 1
Wed, May 20, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 7
Fri, May 22, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Win 8 - 1
Sat, May 23, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Loss 4 - 6
Sun, May 24, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Win 5 - 2
Mon, May 25, 1987 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 1
Tue, May 26, 1987 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Wed, May 27, 1987 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 29, 1987 vs Texas Rangers Loss 5 - 16
Sat, May 30, 1987 vs Texas Rangers Win 12 - 7
Sun, May 31, 1987 vs Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Mon, Jun 1, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 2, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 14
Wed, Jun 3, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 4, 1987 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jun 5, 1987 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Jun 6, 1987 @ Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jun 7, 1987 @ Seattle Mariners Win 9 - 1
Mon, Jun 8, 1987 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Jun 9, 1987 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Jun 10, 1987 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Fri, Jun 12, 1987 vs California Angels Win 1 - 0
Sat, Jun 13, 1987 vs California Angels Loss 0 - 4
Sun, Jun 14, 1987 vs California Angels Loss 0 - 12
Mon, Jun 15, 1987 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Tue, Jun 16, 1987 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 11
Wed, Jun 17, 1987 vs Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 5
Thu, Jun 18, 1987 @ California Angels Win 10 - 4
Fri, Jun 19, 1987 @ California Angels Win 2 - 0
Sat, Jun 20, 1987 @ California Angels Win 8 - 4
Sun, Jun 21, 1987 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 8
Mon, Jun 22, 1987 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jun 23, 1987 @ Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 0
Wed, Jun 24, 1987 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jun 26, 1987 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jun 27, 1987 vs Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 0
Sun, Jun 28, 1987 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 3
Mon, Jun 29, 1987 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jun 30, 1987 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Jul 1, 1987 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 3
Thu, Jul 2, 1987 vs Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 3
Fri, Jul 3, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 4
Fri, Jul 3, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jul 4, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 9 - 1
Sun, Jul 5, 1987 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 3 (10)
Mon, Jul 6, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 7 - 9
Tue, Jul 7, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jul 8, 1987 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 8 - 9
Thu, Jul 9, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Jul 10, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 0 - 7
Sat, Jul 11, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 12, 1987 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Jul 16, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jul 17, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jul 18, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 7 - 11
Sun, Jul 19, 1987 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Mon, Jul 20, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 9
Tue, Jul 21, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jul 22, 1987 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 1
Thu, Jul 23, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jul 24, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jul 25, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 26, 1987 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 0
Tue, Jul 28, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jul 29, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Jul 30, 1987 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 31, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Aug 1, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 0
Sun, Aug 2, 1987 vs Boston Red Sox Win 13 - 5
Mon, Aug 3, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 2 (10)
Tue, Aug 4, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 4
Wed, Aug 5, 1987 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Aug 7, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Aug 8, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Aug 9, 1987 @ Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 3
Mon, Aug 10, 1987 vs New York Yankees Win 10 - 1
Tue, Aug 11, 1987 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 5
Wed, Aug 12, 1987 vs New York Yankees Win 2 - 1
Thu, Aug 13, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Aug 14, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 5
Sat, Aug 15, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 8
Sun, Aug 16, 1987 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 10
Mon, Aug 17, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Win 7 - 6
Tue, Aug 18, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Aug 19, 1987 @ Texas Rangers Win 11 - 6
Fri, Aug 21, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Aug 22, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 7
Sun, Aug 23, 1987 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 10