1956 New York Yankees

Major League Baseball » New York Yankees » 1956

Season Overview

97-57 Won WS
Record Outcome

1956 New York Yankees

What was the record of the 1956 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a 97-57 record. They went 49-28 at home and 48-29 on the road. Including the postseason, the New York Yankees went 101-60.

What division did the 1956 New York Yankees play in?

The 1956 New York Yankees played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1956.

What was the 1956 New York Yankees record by month?

The 1956 New York Yankees had their best month in July, when they went 23-6 and had a 79.3% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 16-15 and had a 51.6% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-3 72.7% +27
May 21-10 67.7% +57
June 15-12 55.6% +7
July 23-6 79.3% +80
August 16-15 51.6% +21
September 14-11 56.0% +34

Did the 1956 New York Yankees Win The World Series?

Yes, the 1956 New York Yankees won the World Series in 1956. They beat the Brooklyn Dodgers.

What was the run differential for the 1956 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a run differential of +226. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Yankees could have been expected to have about 98.0 wins, or a 98-56 record in the regular season.

How did the 1956 New York Yankees perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1956 New York Yankees went 18-22.

How did the 1956 New York Yankees perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1956 New York Yankees went 6-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1956 New York Yankees?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1956 New York Yankees was a 11 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1956 New York Yankees?

The longest losing streak that the New York Yankees had during the 1956 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1956 New York Yankees Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 17, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 10 - 4
Wed, Apr 18, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 9 - 5
Thu, Apr 19, 1956 @ Washington Senators Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Apr 20, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 1
Sat, Apr 21, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 14 - 10
Sun, Apr 22, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 13 - 6
Tue, Apr 24, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 4 - 1
Wed, Apr 25, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 2
Thu, Apr 26, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Apr 27, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 2
Sat, Apr 28, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Tue, May 1, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 2
Wed, May 2, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 8
Thu, May 3, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 7 - 8
Fri, May 4, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 10 - 6
Sat, May 5, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 2
Sun, May 6, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Sun, May 6, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Tue, May 8, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 9, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 6
Thu, May 10, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 7
Fri, May 11, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Sat, May 12, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 11 - 2
Sun, May 13, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Mon, May 14, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 16, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 1
Thu, May 17, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 3
Fri, May 18, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 7 (10)
Sat, May 19, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 4
Sun, May 20, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 4 - 2
Mon, May 21, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 8 - 5
Tue, May 22, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 23, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Win 13 - 5
Thu, May 24, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Win 11 - 4
Fri, May 25, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 2
Sat, May 26, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 9
Mon, May 28, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 0
Tue, May 29, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 7
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 30, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 12 - 5
Thu, May 31, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 9 - 6
Fri, Jun 1, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Jun 3, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Jun 3, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 7 (10)
Tue, Jun 5, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Jun 6, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 10 - 5
Thu, Jun 7, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 9 - 1
Fri, Jun 8, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 9
Sat, Jun 9, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 8 - 15
Sun, Jun 10, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 0
Tue, Jun 12, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 13, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Jun 14, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 1
Fri, Jun 15, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jun 16, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jun 17, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 4
Mon, Jun 18, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 4
Tue, Jun 19, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 20, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 1
Fri, Jun 22, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5 (12)
Sat, Jun 23, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 14
Sun, Jun 24, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 6
Mon, Jun 25, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 9 - 3
Tue, Jun 26, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jun 27, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 2
Fri, Jun 29, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jun 30, 1956 vs Washington Senators Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 1, 1956 vs Washington Senators Win 8 - 6
Tue, Jul 3, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3 (12)
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 7 (11)
Wed, Jul 4, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 4
Thu, Jul 5, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jul 6, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 4
Sat, Jul 7, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jul 8, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 2
Thu, Jul 12, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 5
Fri, Jul 13, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 10 - 0
Sat, Jul 14, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sun, Jul 15, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 15, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 5 (10)
Tue, Jul 17, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Wed, Jul 18, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Jul 18, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jul 19, 1956 vs Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 3
Fri, Jul 20, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Loss 4 - 7
Sun, Jul 22, 1956 vs Kansas City Athletics Win 13 - 4
Tue, Jul 24, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 11
Wed, Jul 25, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 1
Thu, Jul 26, 1956 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 5
Fri, Jul 27, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 10 - 9 (14)
Sat, Jul 28, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 14 - 3
Sun, Jul 29, 1956 @ Kansas City Athletics Win 5 - 3
Mon, Jul 30, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Win 13 - 6
Tue, Jul 31, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 5
Wed, Aug 1, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Aug 2, 1956 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 4
Fri, Aug 3, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 10
Sat, Aug 4, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Aug 5, 1956 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 8
Mon, Aug 6, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 3
Tue, Aug 7, 1956 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 1 (11)
Wed, Aug 8, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 12 - 2
Thu, Aug 9, 1956 @ Washington Senators Win 15 - 7
Fri, Aug 10, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Sat, Aug 11, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 10
Sun, Aug 12, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 2
Sun, Aug 12, 1956 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 2
Tue, Aug 14, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 12 - 2
Wed, Aug 15, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 4
Thu, Aug 16, 1956 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Aug 17, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Aug 18, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 1
Sat, Aug 18, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 2
Sun, Aug 19, 1956 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Aug 21, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Aug 22, 1956 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 8
Thu, Aug 23, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 6
Fri, Aug 24, 1956 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 0