1938 Pittsburgh Pirates

MLB » Pittsburgh Pirates » 1938

Season Overview

86-64 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1938 Pittsburgh Pirates

What was the record of the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a 86-64 record. They went 44-33 at home and 42-31 on the road.

What division did the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates play in?

The 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1938.

What was the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates had their best month in July, when they went 24-7 and had a 77.4% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 9-15 and had a 37.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-3 72.7% +12
May 9-15 37.5% -38
June 16-7 69.6% +36
July 24-7 77.4% +45
August 16-16 50% +23
September 13-14 48.1% +3
October 0-2 0% -4

Did the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates make the Postseason?

No, the Pirates didn't make the Postseason in 1938.

What was the run differential for the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a run differential of +77. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Pirates could have been expected to have about 83.0 wins, or a 83-67 record in the regular season.

How did the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates went 33-22.

How did the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates went 12-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates was a 13 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1938 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest losing streak that the Pittsburgh Pirates had during the 1938 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1938 Pittsburgh Pirates Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 19, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3
Wed, Apr 20, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 9 - 4
Thu, Apr 21, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5
Fri, Apr 22, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 4
Sat, Apr 23, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 2
Sun, Apr 24, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 2 - 1
Mon, Apr 25, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 6
Tue, Apr 26, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 5 (10)
Wed, Apr 27, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 5
Thu, Apr 28, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Apr 30, 1938 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 2
Sun, May 1, 1938 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 4
Mon, May 2, 1938 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 8
Tue, May 3, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 2 - 7
Wed, May 4, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 9 - 5
Thu, May 5, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Fri, May 6, 1938 vs New York Giants Loss 7 - 11
Sat, May 7, 1938 vs New York Giants Loss 5 - 6
Sun, May 8, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 2 - 1 (12)
Mon, May 9, 1938 vs Boston Bees Loss 5 - 7 (10)
Fri, May 13, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 1 (10)
Sun, May 15, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3 (11)
Tue, May 17, 1938 @ Boston Bees Loss 0 - 1
Wed, May 18, 1938 @ Boston Bees Loss 1 - 2 (14)
Thu, May 19, 1938 @ Boston Bees Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Fri, May 20, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 7
Sat, May 21, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 22, 1938 @ New York Giants Loss 2 - 18
Mon, May 23, 1938 @ New York Giants Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 25, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2
Fri, May 27, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 5
Sat, May 28, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 9
Sun, May 29, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Mon, May 30, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4 (17)
Mon, May 30, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 6 - 9
Wed, Jun 1, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 4 - 1
Fri, Jun 3, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jun 4, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 4 - 3 (11)
Sun, Jun 5, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 10
Mon, Jun 6, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 4 - 9
Wed, Jun 8, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 9, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jun 10, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jun 11, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 12, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 11 - 5
Tue, Jun 14, 1938 @ New York Giants Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 15, 1938 @ New York Giants Win 2 - 0
Thu, Jun 16, 1938 @ New York Giants Win 10 - 2
Fri, Jun 17, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sat, Jun 18, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Jun 19, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 14 - 4
Sun, Jun 19, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 16 - 3
Tue, Jun 21, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 9 - 3
Thu, Jun 23, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 1 - 8
Sat, Jun 25, 1938 @ Boston Bees Win 8 - 7
Tue, Jun 28, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Jun 29, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 4
Thu, Jun 30, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jul 2, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 1
Sun, Jul 3, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5 (12)
Sun, Jul 3, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2
Mon, Jul 4, 1938 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 2 - 1
Mon, Jul 4, 1938 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 8, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jul 9, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 7
Sun, Jul 10, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jul 10, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3
Mon, Jul 11, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jul 12, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 14 - 6
Wed, Jul 13, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 10
Thu, Jul 14, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 3 - 2 (11)
Fri, Jul 15, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 4 - 9
Sat, Jul 16, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jul 17, 1938 vs New York Giants Loss 1 - 2
Mon, Jul 18, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 7 - 4
Tue, Jul 19, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 0
Wed, Jul 20, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 11
Wed, Jul 20, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jul 21, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jul 22, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jul 23, 1938 vs Boston Bees Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 24, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 5 - 4 (15)
Sun, Jul 24, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jul 26, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 27, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 28, 1938 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 2
Fri, Jul 29, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 7 - 6
Sat, Jul 30, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Win 9 - 2
Sun, Jul 31, 1938 @ Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Aug 2, 1938 @ Boston Bees Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Aug 3, 1938 @ Boston Bees Win 9 - 4
Wed, Aug 3, 1938 @ Boston Bees Win 5 - 3
Thu, Aug 4, 1938 @ Boston Bees Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Aug 5, 1938 @ New York Giants Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Aug 7, 1938 @ New York Giants Win 5 - 1
Sun, Aug 7, 1938 @ New York Giants Win 13 - 3
Tue, Aug 9, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 1 - 0
Wed, Aug 10, 1938 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 5
Fri, Aug 12, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 9
Sat, Aug 13, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 11
Sun, Aug 14, 1938 vs Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 0
Mon, Aug 15, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 6
Tue, Aug 16, 1938 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 0
Wed, Aug 17, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3 (10)
Thu, Aug 18, 1938 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Aug 20, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 2
Sun, Aug 21, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Aug 21, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 6
Mon, Aug 22, 1938 @ Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 2
Tue, Aug 23, 1938 vs Boston Bees Loss 0 - 6
Tue, Aug 23, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 4 - 3 (14)
Wed, Aug 24, 1938 vs Boston Bees Win 6 - 2
Thu, Aug 25, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Aug 25, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2 (11)
Fri, Aug 26, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Aug 27, 1938 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 1
Sun, Aug 28, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Loss 5 - 8
Mon, Aug 29, 1938 vs Brooklyn Dodgers Win 10 - 1
Tue, Aug 30, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 7 - 1
Wed, Aug 31, 1938 vs New York Giants Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Aug 31, 1938 vs New York Giants Win 12 - 3