1980 San Diego Padres

Major League Baseball » San Diego Padres » 1980

Season Overview

73-89 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1980 San Diego Padres

What was the record of the 1980 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a 73-89 record. They went 45-36 at home and 28-53 on the road.

What division did the 1980 San Diego Padres play in?

The 1980 San Diego Padres played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1980 San Diego Padres?

During the regular season, the 1980 San Diego Padres went 35-55 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1980 San Diego Padres record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
San Francisco Giants 10-8 55.6% +13
Los Angeles Dodgers 9-9 50% -6
Houston Astros 7-11 38.9% -9
Atlanta Braves 6-12 33.3% -17
Cincinnati Reds 3-15 16.7% -30

What was the 1980 San Diego Padres record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1980 San Diego Padres had their best month in September, when they went 16-11 and had a 59.3% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 10-18 and had a 35.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-11 38.9% -13
May 16-13 55.2% +13
June 10-18 35.7% -21
July 11-15 42.3% -37
August 11-19 36.7% -32
September 16-11 59.3% +14
October 2-2 50% +13

Did the 1980 San Diego Padres make the Postseason?

No, the Padres didn't make the Postseason in 1980.

What was the run differential for the 1980 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a run differential of -63. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Padres could have been expected to have about 73.4 wins, or a 73-89 record in the regular season.

How did the 1980 San Diego Padres perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1980 San Diego Padres went 30-38.

How did the 1980 San Diego Padres perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1980 San Diego Padres went 6-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1980 San Diego Padres?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1980 San Diego Padres was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1980 San Diego Padres?

The longest losing streak that the San Diego Padres had during the 1980 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

1980 San Diego Padres Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 10, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 4
Fri, Apr 11, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 3
Sat, Apr 12, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 2
Sun, Apr 13, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Apr 14, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Tue, Apr 15, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 9 - 5
Wed, Apr 16, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 10
Thu, Apr 17, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Apr 18, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Apr 19, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 0
Sun, Apr 20, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Apr 22, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Wed, Apr 23, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Apr 24, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 7 - 8
Fri, Apr 25, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 6
Sat, Apr 26, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Apr 27, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Apr 30, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1
Thu, May 1, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3
Fri, May 2, 1980 @ New York Mets Win 1 - 0
Sat, May 3, 1980 @ New York Mets Win 2 - 1
Sun, May 4, 1980 @ New York Mets Win 4 - 3
Sun, May 4, 1980 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 6
Tue, May 6, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 0
Wed, May 7, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 7
Thu, May 8, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 6
Fri, May 9, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 10, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 5 - 9
Sun, May 11, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 0
Tue, May 13, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 14, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 2
Thu, May 15, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1
Fri, May 16, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 0
Sat, May 17, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 2
Sun, May 18, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 21, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 21, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 22, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 4
Fri, May 23, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 0
Sat, May 24, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 4
Sun, May 25, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 11 - 5
Mon, May 26, 1980 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 4
Tue, May 27, 1980 @ Houston Astros Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 28, 1980 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 1
Thu, May 29, 1980 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 30, 1980 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Sat, May 31, 1980 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 1, 1980 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Jun 2, 1980 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 0
Tue, Jun 3, 1980 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 4, 1980 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jun 6, 1980 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 7, 1980 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 1
Sun, Jun 8, 1980 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 1
Tue, Jun 10, 1980 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Jun 11, 1980 @ Montreal Expos Loss 6 - 7
Thu, Jun 12, 1980 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 9
Fri, Jun 13, 1980 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 6 - 9
Sat, Jun 14, 1980 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 15, 1980 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 8
Mon, Jun 16, 1980 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jun 17, 1980 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 18, 1980 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Jun 19, 1980 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 20, 1980 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jun 21, 1980 vs Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 7
Sun, Jun 22, 1980 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jun 24, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 25, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 3
Thu, Jun 26, 1980 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jun 27, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Jun 28, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 5
Sat, Jun 28, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jun 29, 1980 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Jun 30, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jul 1, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 1
Wed, Jul 2, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 7 - 10
Thu, Jul 3, 1980 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Fri, Jul 4, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 9
Sat, Jul 5, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 6, 1980 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 6
Thu, Jul 10, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 9
Fri, Jul 11, 1980 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 7
Sat, Jul 12, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2 (12)
Sun, Jul 13, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 3 (15)
Mon, Jul 14, 1980 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 3
Tue, Jul 15, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jul 16, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Jul 17, 1980 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 15
Fri, Jul 18, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 19, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 7 - 8
Sun, Jul 20, 1980 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 6
Tue, Jul 22, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Jul 23, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 24, 1980 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Jul 25, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 26, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3 (11)
Sun, Jul 27, 1980 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Mon, Jul 28, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 2 (11)
Tue, Jul 29, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 1
Wed, Jul 30, 1980 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 2
Fri, Aug 1, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Sun, Aug 3, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 2
Sun, Aug 3, 1980 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 1
Mon, Aug 4, 1980 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Aug 4, 1980 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 11