1951 Boston Red Sox

MLB » Boston Red Sox » 1951

Season Overview

87-67 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1951 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 1951 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 87-67 record. They went 50-25 at home and 37-42 on the road.

What division did the 1951 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 1951 Boston Red Sox played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1951.

What was the 1951 Boston Red Sox record by month?

The 1951 Boston Red Sox had their best month in May, when they went 17-9 and had a 65.4% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 12-16 and had a 42.9% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-4 63.6% +5
May 17-9 65.4% +53
June 16-14 53.3% -6
July 17-12 58.6% +29
August 18-12 60% +37
September 12-16 42.9% -39

Did the 1951 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 1951.

What was the run differential for the 1951 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of +79. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 84.3 wins, or a 84-70 record in the regular season.

How did the 1951 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1951 Boston Red Sox went 26-18.

How did the 1951 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1951 Boston Red Sox went 12-4 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1951 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1951 Boston Red Sox was a 10 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1951 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 1951 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1951 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 17, 1951 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 5
Wed, Apr 18, 1951 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 6
Fri, Apr 20, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 3 - 6
Sat, Apr 21, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 3
Sun, Apr 22, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 5
Sun, Apr 22, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 4
Tue, Apr 24, 1951 vs Washington Senators Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Apr 26, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 13 - 7
Fri, Apr 27, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 28, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 2
Sun, Apr 29, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 12 - 8 (13)
Tue, May 1, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 7
Wed, May 2, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 3, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 1
Fri, May 4, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 8
Sat, May 5, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 8 (11)
Sun, May 6, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sun, May 6, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 2 - 8
Mon, May 7, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 2 - 0
Sat, May 12, 1951 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 5
Sun, May 13, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 10 - 1
Mon, May 14, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 7 (11)
Tue, May 15, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 7 - 9 (11)
Wed, May 16, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 9
Fri, May 18, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 19, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 4
Sun, May 20, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 8
Mon, May 21, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 7
Tue, May 22, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 3
Wed, May 23, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 12 - 0
Fri, May 25, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 14 - 2
Sat, May 26, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 11 - 1
Sun, May 27, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 9 - 3
Sun, May 27, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 7 - 1
Mon, May 28, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 30, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 11 - 10 (15)
Wed, May 30, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 9 - 4
Fri, Jun 1, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Jun 2, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jun 3, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 3, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 11
Mon, Jun 4, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Jun 4, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jun 5, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 10
Wed, Jun 6, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 6
Thu, Jun 7, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jun 8, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 7
Sat, Jun 9, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Jun 10, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 6
Sun, Jun 10, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 2
Tue, Jun 12, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Jun 13, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Win 2 - 0
Sat, Jun 16, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 10 - 5
Sun, Jun 17, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jun 17, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 3 - 0
Mon, Jun 18, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 7 - 9
Tue, Jun 19, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 2
Wed, Jun 20, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 8 - 14
Thu, Jun 21, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 8
Fri, Jun 22, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jun 23, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 7 (11)
Sun, Jun 24, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jun 24, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 6
Tue, Jun 26, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 13 - 5
Wed, Jun 27, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jun 29, 1951 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Jun 30, 1951 @ New York Yankees Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jul 1, 1951 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Jul 2, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jul 3, 1951 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 4, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 9 - 0
Wed, Jul 4, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 9 - 5
Thu, Jul 5, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 8 - 3
Fri, Jul 6, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jul 7, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 10 - 4
Sun, Jul 8, 1951 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 3
Thu, Jul 12, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 12, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4 (17)
Fri, Jul 13, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5 (19)
Sat, Jul 14, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 15, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jul 15, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 9 - 5
Mon, Jul 16, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 5 - 9
Tue, Jul 17, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Jul 18, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Thu, Jul 19, 1951 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Fri, Jul 20, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jul 21, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jul 22, 1951 @ Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 9 (10)
Tue, Jul 24, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 3
Wed, Jul 25, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 6
Thu, Jul 26, 1951 vs Chicago White Sox Win 13 - 10
Fri, Jul 27, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 28, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 4 (16)
Sun, Jul 29, 1951 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jul 31, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Aug 1, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 1
Thu, Aug 2, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 12 - 1
Thu, Aug 2, 1951 vs St. Louis Browns Win 11 - 6
Fri, Aug 3, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 2
Sat, Aug 4, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Aug 5, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Aug 5, 1951 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 8
Tue, Aug 7, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Aug 9, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 5 - 6
Thu, Aug 9, 1951 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 5 - 3
Fri, Aug 10, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 4
Sat, Aug 11, 1951 vs Washington Senators Loss 1 - 7
Sun, Aug 12, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 2
Sun, Aug 12, 1951 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 2
Tue, Aug 14, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 4
Wed, Aug 15, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 2
Thu, Aug 16, 1951 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 2 - 10
Fri, Aug 17, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 7 - 4 (12)
Sat, Aug 18, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 10 - 9
Sun, Aug 19, 1951 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 3
Tue, Aug 21, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Aug 22, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 3 - 1 (13)
Thu, Aug 23, 1951 @ St. Louis Browns Win 9 - 3
Fri, Aug 24, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Aug 25, 1951 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 6