1940 Cleveland Indians

Major League Baseball » Cleveland Guardians » 1940

Season Overview

89-65 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1940 Cleveland Indians

What was the record of the 1940 Cleveland Indians?

The Cleveland Indians finished the regular season with a 89-65 record. They went 51-30 at home and 38-35 on the road.

What division did the 1940 Cleveland Indians play in?

The 1940 Cleveland Indians played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1940.

What was the 1940 Cleveland Indians record by month?

The 1940 Cleveland Indians had their best month in April, when they went 8-3 and had a 72.7% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 15-15 and had a 50% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-3 72.7% 0
May 15-10 60% +48
June 19-12 61.3% +20
July 15-13 53.6% -3
August 17-12 58.6% +13
September 15-15 50% -5

Did the 1940 Cleveland Indians make the Postseason?

No, the Indians didn't make the Postseason in 1940.

What was the run differential for the 1940 Cleveland Indians?

The Cleveland Indians finished the regular season with a run differential of +73. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Indians could have been expected to have about 84.6 wins, or a 85-69 record in the regular season.

How did the 1940 Cleveland Indians perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1940 Cleveland Indians went 26-20.

How did the 1940 Cleveland Indians perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1940 Cleveland Indians went 7-2 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1940 Cleveland Indians?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1940 Cleveland Indians was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1940 Cleveland Indians?

The longest losing streak that the Cleveland Indians had during the 1940 regular season was 6 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1940 Cleveland Indians Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 16, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 1 - 0
Fri, Apr 19, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Sun, Apr 21, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 12
Mon, Apr 22, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 2
Wed, Apr 24, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 6 - 4
Thu, Apr 25, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 1
Fri, Apr 26, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 11
Sat, Apr 27, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 2
Sun, Apr 28, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Win 11 - 9 (10)
Mon, Apr 29, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Apr 30, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 10 - 5
Wed, May 1, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 1 - 5
Sat, May 4, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 12 - 4
Sun, May 5, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 1
Mon, May 6, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 8
Tue, May 7, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Wed, May 8, 1940 @ New York Yankees Win 10 - 4
Thu, May 9, 1940 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 0
Fri, May 10, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Win 9 - 4
Sat, May 11, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Win 1 - 0
Sun, May 12, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 2 - 5
Tue, May 14, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 7 - 9
Fri, May 17, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 18 - 1
Sat, May 18, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 2 - 3
Sun, May 19, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 1
Mon, May 20, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 10 - 2
Tue, May 21, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 10
Wed, May 22, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 6
Fri, May 24, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 26, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 3 - 5
Sun, May 26, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 13 - 1
Mon, May 27, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 6
Tue, May 28, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 8
Wed, May 29, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 4
Thu, May 30, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 1
Thu, May 30, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jun 1, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 1 - 6
Sun, Jun 2, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 2
Sun, Jun 2, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 6 - 12
Mon, Jun 3, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 0
Tue, Jun 4, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 2 - 7
Tue, Jun 4, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jun 5, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 1 - 6
Thu, Jun 6, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 5 - 4 (11)
Fri, Jun 7, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 5
Sat, Jun 8, 1940 @ New York Yankees Win 3 - 0
Sun, Jun 9, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jun 11, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 9
Wed, Jun 12, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 9
Thu, Jun 13, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 2 (10)
Fri, Jun 14, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 8 - 0
Sat, Jun 15, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 7
Sun, Jun 16, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jun 16, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 18, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 19, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 20, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 12 - 1
Fri, Jun 21, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 4
Sat, Jun 22, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 23, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jun 23, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 2
Mon, Jun 24, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 7 - 1
Tue, Jun 25, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 26, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jun 29, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jun 30, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 30, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jul 1, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jul 2, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jul 3, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Win 5 - 2
Thu, Jul 4, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 5
Thu, Jul 4, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Win 2 - 1 (11)
Sat, Jul 6, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jul 7, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Jul 11, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 8 - 5
Fri, Jul 12, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 1 - 0
Sat, Jul 13, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jul 14, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 5 - 6 (11)
Mon, Jul 15, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 6 - 8
Tue, Jul 16, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 8 - 11
Wed, Jul 17, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4 (13)
Thu, Jul 18, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 6 - 9
Fri, Jul 19, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 6 - 15
Sat, Jul 20, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 6
Sun, Jul 21, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 21, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 0
Tue, Jul 23, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 1 - 0
Wed, Jul 24, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 7 - 6
Thu, Jul 25, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Fri, Jul 26, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 13 - 2
Sat, Jul 27, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 1 - 7
Sun, Jul 28, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jul 28, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 1 - 9
Tue, Jul 30, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jul 31, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 12 - 11
Thu, Aug 1, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Aug 2, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 10
Sat, Aug 3, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 1
Sun, Aug 4, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 1
Mon, Aug 5, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 1
Tue, Aug 6, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Aug 6, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Wed, Aug 7, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 3
Thu, Aug 8, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 7 - 4
Thu, Aug 8, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Aug 9, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Aug 11, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Win 12 - 4
Sun, Aug 11, 1940 @ St. Louis Browns Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Aug 12, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 5
Tue, Aug 13, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5
Wed, Aug 14, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Thu, Aug 15, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Fri, Aug 16, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Win 8 - 3
Sat, Aug 17, 1940 vs St. Louis Browns Loss 1 - 2
Mon, Aug 19, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 7 - 16
Tue, Aug 20, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 11 - 6
Wed, Aug 21, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 2
Thu, Aug 22, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 15
Fri, Aug 23, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Aug 24, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Aug 25, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Aug 26, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 4 - 3
Fri, Aug 30, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 2
Sat, Aug 31, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4 (12)