1940 St. Louis Browns

MLB » Baltimore Orioles » 1940

Season Overview

67-87 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1940 St. Louis Browns

What was the record of the 1940 St. Louis Browns?

The St. Louis Browns finished the regular season with a 67-87 record. They went 37-39 at home and 30-48 on the road.

What division did the 1940 St. Louis Browns play in?

The 1940 St. Louis Browns played in the American League, which didn't have any divisions in 1940.

What was the 1940 St. Louis Browns record by month?

The 1940 St. Louis Browns had their best month in September, when they went 16-11 and had a 59.3% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 8-21 and had a 27.6% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 5-5 50% +9
May 9-16 36% -31
June 17-16 51.5% -14
July 8-21 27.6% -60
August 12-18 40% -48
September 16-11 59.3% +19

Did the 1940 St. Louis Browns make the Postseason?

No, the Browns didn't make the Postseason in 1940.

What was the run differential for the 1940 St. Louis Browns?

The St. Louis Browns finished the regular season with a run differential of -125. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Browns could have been expected to have about 66.2 wins, or a 66-88 record in the regular season.

How did the 1940 St. Louis Browns perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1940 St. Louis Browns went 23-21.

How did the 1940 St. Louis Browns perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1940 St. Louis Browns went 6-5 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1940 St. Louis Browns?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1940 St. Louis Browns was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1940 St. Louis Browns?

The longest losing streak that the St. Louis Browns had during the 1940 regular season was 14 games, which happened once during the season.

1940 St. Louis Browns Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 16, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 1
Thu, Apr 18, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Apr 20, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 11 - 1
Sun, Apr 21, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 6
Mon, Apr 22, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Apr 24, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 6
Thu, Apr 25, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Apr 27, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 2
Sun, Apr 28, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Win 11 - 8
Tue, Apr 30, 1940 @ New York Yankees Win 2 - 1
Wed, May 1, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 3, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 8 - 9 (10)
Sat, May 4, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 5, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 7 - 3
Mon, May 6, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 11 - 9
Tue, May 7, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Wed, May 8, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 8 - 10
Thu, May 9, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 2
Fri, May 10, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 9
Sat, May 11, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 12, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 2
Thu, May 16, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 7
Sun, May 19, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 10 - 4
Mon, May 20, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 8
Wed, May 22, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 2 - 9
Thu, May 23, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 8 - 7 (12)
Fri, May 24, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Sun, May 26, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 3
Sun, May 26, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 13
Mon, May 27, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 7
Tue, May 28, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 9
Tue, May 28, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 5
Wed, May 29, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 30, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 2
Thu, May 30, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 15
Sat, Jun 1, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 8
Sun, Jun 2, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 13
Sun, Jun 2, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 11
Mon, Jun 3, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Jun 4, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jun 5, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 3 (14)
Thu, Jun 6, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Jun 7, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jun 8, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 15 - 1
Sun, Jun 9, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 8 - 7 (10)
Sun, Jun 9, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jun 10, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 7 - 4
Tue, Jun 11, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 5 - 2
Wed, Jun 12, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Jun 14, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 12
Sat, Jun 15, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Jun 16, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 12 - 6
Sun, Jun 16, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 5
Tue, Jun 18, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 11 - 7 (10)
Wed, Jun 19, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 4
Thu, Jun 20, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jun 20, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 11 - 4
Fri, Jun 21, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 0 - 1
Sat, Jun 22, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 10 - 11
Sun, Jun 23, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 5 - 12
Sun, Jun 23, 1940 vs Washington Senators Win 3 - 2
Mon, Jun 24, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 9 - 4
Tue, Jun 25, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 12 - 10
Wed, Jun 26, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Jun 27, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Jun 29, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 9
Sun, Jun 30, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 6 (11)
Sun, Jun 30, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 10
Mon, Jul 1, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Tue, Jul 2, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jul 3, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jul 4, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jul 4, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 8
Fri, Jul 5, 1940 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 8 - 10
Sat, Jul 6, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 11
Sat, Jul 6, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jul 7, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jul 11, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Jul 13, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 10
Sat, Jul 13, 1940 @ New York Yankees Loss 6 - 12
Sun, Jul 14, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Sun, Jul 14, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 7
Mon, Jul 15, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 10
Thu, Jul 18, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 3 - 10
Fri, Jul 19, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 9 - 7
Sat, Jul 20, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 21, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 8 - 4
Sun, Jul 21, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jul 23, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 9 - 5
Wed, Jul 24, 1940 vs New York Yankees Win 14 - 12
Thu, Jul 25, 1940 vs New York Yankees Loss 8 - 13
Fri, Jul 26, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 7 - 14
Sat, Jul 27, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Win 13 - 5
Sun, Jul 28, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jul 28, 1940 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 10 - 13
Tue, Jul 30, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 0 - 4
Wed, Jul 31, 1940 vs Washington Senators Loss 5 - 13
Fri, Aug 2, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 5 - 0
Sat, Aug 3, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Loss 7 - 11
Sun, Aug 4, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 5 - 4
Sun, Aug 4, 1940 vs Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 4
Mon, Aug 5, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 9
Mon, Aug 5, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Tue, Aug 6, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Aug 7, 1940 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Aug 8, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Aug 8, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Fri, Aug 9, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Sun, Aug 11, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 12
Sun, Aug 11, 1940 vs Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 6
Mon, Aug 12, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6
Tue, Aug 13, 1940 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Aug 14, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 13
Thu, Aug 15, 1940 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Aug 16, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 8
Sat, Aug 17, 1940 @ Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Tue, Aug 20, 1940 @ Washington Senators Win 6 - 3
Wed, Aug 21, 1940 @ Washington Senators Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Aug 22, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 8 - 4
Fri, Aug 23, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Aug 24, 1940 @ Philadelphia Athletics Win 6 - 5 (10)
Sun, Aug 25, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 2
Sun, Aug 25, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 17
Mon, Aug 26, 1940 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 7