2008 Detroit Tigers

Major League Baseball » Detroit Tigers » 2008

Season Overview

74-88 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

2008 Detroit Tigers

What was the record of the 2008 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a 74-88 record. They went 40-41 at home and 34-47 on the road.

What division did the 2008 Detroit Tigers play in?

The 2008 Detroit Tigers played in the Central Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 2008 Detroit Tigers?

During the regular season, the 2008 Detroit Tigers went 27-45 against their AL Central opponents.

What was the 2008 Detroit Tigers record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Kansas City Royals 7-11 38.9% -7
Cleveland Indians 7-11 38.9% -14
Minnesota Twins 7-11 38.9% -18
Chicago White Sox 6-12 33.3% -37

What was the 2008 Detroit Tigers record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 2008 Detroit Tigers had their best month in June, when they went 19-8 and had a 70.4% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 8-18 and had a 30.8% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
March 0-1 0% -1
April 13-14 48.1% -5
May 10-17 37.0% -12
June 19-8 70.4% +23
July 13-13 50% +23
August 11-17 39.3% -31
September 8-18 30.8% -33

Did the 2008 Detroit Tigers make the Postseason?

No, the Tigers didn't make the Postseason in 2008.

What was the run differential for the 2008 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a run differential of -36. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Tigers could have been expected to have about 77.8 wins, or a 78-84 record in the regular season.

How did the 2008 Detroit Tigers perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2008 Detroit Tigers went 17-26.

How did the 2008 Detroit Tigers perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2008 Detroit Tigers went 3-9 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2008 Detroit Tigers?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2008 Detroit Tigers was a 6 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2008 Detroit Tigers?

The longest losing streak that the Detroit Tigers had during the 2008 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

2008 Detroit Tigers Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Mar 31, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Wed, Apr 2, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Apr 3, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Apr 4, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 8
Sat, Apr 5, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Apr 6, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 13
Tue, Apr 8, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 5
Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 2
Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 12
Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 2
Sat, Apr 12, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 7
Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 11
Mon, Apr 14, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Win 11 - 9
Tue, Apr 15, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 5
Wed, Apr 16, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Win 13 - 2
Thu, Apr 17, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 11
Fri, Apr 18, 2008 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 4
Sat, Apr 19, 2008 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Apr 20, 2008 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 5
Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 1
Tue, Apr 22, 2008 vs Texas Rangers Win 10 - 2
Wed, Apr 23, 2008 vs Texas Rangers Win 19 - 6
Thu, Apr 24, 2008 vs Texas Rangers Win 8 - 2
Fri, Apr 25, 2008 vs Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Apr 26, 2008 vs Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Win 6 - 4
Sun, Apr 27, 2008 vs Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Loss 2 - 6
Tue, Apr 29, 2008 @ New York Yankees Win 6 - 4
Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ New York Yankees Win 6 - 2
Thu, May 1, 2008 @ New York Yankees Win 8 - 4
Fri, May 2, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 11
Sat, May 3, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 4, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 7
Mon, May 5, 2008 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 6
Tue, May 6, 2008 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 5
Wed, May 7, 2008 vs Boston Red Sox Win 10 - 9
Thu, May 8, 2008 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 5
Fri, May 9, 2008 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 5
Sat, May 10, 2008 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 5
Tue, May 13, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 14, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 2
Thu, May 15, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 8
Fri, May 16, 2008 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 17, 2008 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 18, 2008 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 0 - 4
Tue, May 20, 2008 vs Seattle Mariners Win 12 - 8
Wed, May 21, 2008 vs Seattle Mariners Win 9 - 4
Thu, May 22, 2008 vs Seattle Mariners Win 9 - 2
Fri, May 23, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 9
Sat, May 24, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Win 19 - 3
Sun, May 25, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 6
Mon, May 26, 2008 @ Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Loss 0 - 1 (12)
Tue, May 27, 2008 @ Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 28, 2008 @ Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Win 6 - 2
Fri, May 30, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 4
Sat, May 31, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Jun 1, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 5
Mon, Jun 2, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jun 3, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Wed, Jun 4, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 10
Fri, Jun 6, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 7, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 4
Sun, Jun 8, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 2
Mon, Jun 9, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 8
Tue, Jun 10, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jun 11, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 1
Thu, Jun 12, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1
Fri, Jun 13, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 0
Sat, Jun 14, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 12 - 7
Sun, Jun 15, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 4
Mon, Jun 16, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 6 - 8
Tue, Jun 17, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 1
Wed, Jun 18, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 2
Fri, Jun 20, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Jun 21, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 22, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jun 24, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Jun 25, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 7
Thu, Jun 26, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2 (10)
Fri, Jun 27, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 7 - 1
Sat, Jun 28, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 7 - 6
Sun, Jun 29, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 4 - 3
Mon, Jun 30, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jul 1, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jul 2, 2008 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 7
Thu, Jul 3, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 4
Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Jul 5, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 6, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 2 - 1 (15)
Tue, Jul 8, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 2
Wed, Jul 9, 2008 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 6
Thu, Jul 10, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 7 (11)
Fri, Jul 11, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 12, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jul 13, 2008 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 17, 2008 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 7
Sat, Jul 19, 2008 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 10 - 11 (10)
Sun, Jul 20, 2008 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 1
Mon, Jul 21, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Win 19 - 4
Tue, Jul 22, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 1
Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jul 25, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Jul 26, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Jul 27, 2008 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 4
Mon, Jul 28, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 5
Tue, Jul 29, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 5
Wed, Jul 30, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Win 14 - 12 (13)
Thu, Jul 31, 2008 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 9
Fri, Aug 1, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Aug 2, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Loss 3 - 9
Sun, Aug 3, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Tue, Aug 5, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 8 - 10 (14)
Wed, Aug 6, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Aug 7, 2008 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 3
Fri, Aug 8, 2008 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Aug 9, 2008 vs Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 2
Sun, Aug 10, 2008 vs Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 1
Mon, Aug 11, 2008 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 7
Tue, Aug 12, 2008 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Aug 13, 2008 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Aug 14, 2008 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 1