2008 St. Louis Cardinals

MLB » St. Louis Cardinals » 2008

Season Overview

86-76 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

2008 St. Louis Cardinals

What was the record of the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals?

The St. Louis Cardinals finished the regular season with a 86-76 record. They went 46-35 at home and 40-41 on the road.

What division did the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals play in?

The 2008 St. Louis Cardinals played in the Central Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals?

During the regular season, the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals went 36-41 against their NL Central opponents.

What was the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Cincinnati Reds 10-5 66.7% +26
Houston Astros 8-7 53.3% -1
Pittsburgh Pirates 7-10 41.2% -10
Chicago Cubs 6-9 40% -4
Milwaukee Brewers 5-10 33.3% -20

What was the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals record by month?

The 2008 St. Louis Cardinals had their best month in April, when they went 18-11 and had a 62.1% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 12-13 and had a 48% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 18-11 62.1% +31
May 15-13 53.6% -11
June 15-12 55.6% +14
July 13-14 48.1% -6
August 13-13 50% +20
September 12-13 48% +6

Did the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals make the Postseason?

No, the Cardinals didn't make the Postseason in 2008.

What was the run differential for the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals?

The St. Louis Cardinals finished the regular season with a run differential of +54. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cardinals could have been expected to have about 86.3 wins, or a 86-76 record in the regular season.

How did the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals went 27-33.

How did the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals went 6-12 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2008 St. Louis Cardinals?

The longest losing streak that the St. Louis Cardinals had during the 2008 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

2008 St. Louis Cardinals Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 1, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Apr 2, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 8 - 3
Thu, Apr 3, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 3 - 0
Fri, Apr 4, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 5 - 4
Sat, Apr 5, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 5 - 4
Sun, Apr 6, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 3 - 0
Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ Houston Astros Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Apr 8, 2008 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 3
Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ Houston Astros Win 6 - 4
Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 2
Sat, Apr 12, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 7 (10)
Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 7
Tue, Apr 15, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 1
Wed, Apr 16, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 4
Thu, Apr 17, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 5 (10)
Fri, Apr 18, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Win 11 - 1
Sat, Apr 19, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Apr 20, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 8
Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 3
Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 8 - 9 (12)
Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 2
Fri, Apr 25, 2008 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 26, 2008 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Sun, Apr 27, 2008 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 1
Mon, Apr 28, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Apr 29, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Wed, Apr 30, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2
Fri, May 2, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 3 (11)
Sat, May 3, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 9
Sun, May 4, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 3
Mon, May 5, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Win 6 - 5
Tue, May 6, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Win 6 - 5
Wed, May 7, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 8, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 3 - 9
Fri, May 9, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 10, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 3
Sun, May 11, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 12, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 8
Tue, May 13, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 8 (10)
Wed, May 14, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 1
Thu, May 15, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 5 - 11
Fri, May 16, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 17, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Win 9 - 8 (10)
Sun, May 18, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Win 5 - 4
Mon, May 19, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 8 - 2
Tue, May 20, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 3
Wed, May 21, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 11 - 3
Fri, May 23, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 24, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 0
Sun, May 25, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Tue, May 27, 2008 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 8
Wed, May 28, 2008 vs Houston Astros Win 6 - 1
Thu, May 29, 2008 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 2
Fri, May 30, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Sat, May 31, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 14
Sun, Jun 1, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 4
Mon, Jun 2, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jun 3, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 6 - 1
Thu, Jun 5, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 5, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Loss 9 - 10 (10)
Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jun 7, 2008 @ Houston Astros Win 8 - 4
Sun, Jun 8, 2008 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 10, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Wed, Jun 11, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 0
Thu, Jun 12, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 13, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 20
Sat, Jun 14, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jun 15, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 6 (10)
Tue, Jun 17, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 18, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Jun 19, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Jun 20, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jun 21, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 3
Sun, Jun 22, 2008 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 5 (13)
Tue, Jun 24, 2008 @ Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jun 25, 2008 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 8
Thu, Jun 26, 2008 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 1
Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ Kansas City Royals Win 9 - 6
Mon, Jun 30, 2008 vs New York Mets Win 7 - 1
Tue, Jul 1, 2008 vs New York Mets Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Jul 2, 2008 vs New York Mets Win 8 - 7
Thu, Jul 3, 2008 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 11
Fri, Jul 4, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Jul 5, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 6, 2008 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 0
Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 0
Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 11 - 12 (10)
Sun, Jul 13, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 6
Thu, Jul 17, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jul 18, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 11 - 7
Sat, Jul 19, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jul 20, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 9 - 5
Mon, Jul 21, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 6 (10)
Tue, Jul 22, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Jul 23, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Jul 24, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jul 25, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Jul 26, 2008 @ New York Mets Win 10 - 8 (14)
Sun, Jul 27, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 9
Mon, Jul 28, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Win 12 - 3
Tue, Jul 29, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Win 8 - 3
Wed, Jul 30, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 2
Thu, Jul 31, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 9
Fri, Aug 1, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 3
Sat, Aug 2, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Aug 3, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Aug 5, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 4 (11)
Wed, Aug 6, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 9 - 6
Thu, Aug 7, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Aug 8, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3 (11)
Sat, Aug 9, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Win 12 - 3
Sun, Aug 10, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 6
Mon, Aug 11, 2008 @ Florida Marlins Win