1976 New York Yankees

Major League Baseball » New York Yankees » 1976

Season Overview

97-62 Lost WS
Record Outcome

1976 New York Yankees

What was the record of the 1976 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a 97-62 record. They went 45-35 at home and 52-27 on the road. Including the postseason, the New York Yankees went 100-68. Their final game was a loss in the World Series to the Cincinnati Reds.

What division did the 1976 New York Yankees play in?

The 1976 New York Yankees played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1976 New York Yankees?

During the regular season, the 1976 New York Yankees went 49-38 against their AL East opponents.

Who won the AL East in 1976?

The Yankees won the AL East in the 1976 season with a 97-62 record. The Orioles finished 10.5 games back with a 88-74 record. The Red Sox finished 15.5 games back with a 83-79 record. The Indians finished 16 games back with a 81-78 record. The Tigers finished 24 games back with a 74-87 record. The Brewers finished 32 games back with a 66-95 record.

What was the 1976 New York Yankees record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Cleveland Indians 12-4 75% +28
Milwaukee Brewers 13-5 72.2% +28
Boston Red Sox 11-7 61.1% +12
Detroit Tigers 8-9 47.1% +2
Baltimore Orioles 5-13 27.8% -21

What was the 1976 New York Yankees record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1976 New York Yankees had their best month in April, when they went 10-3 and had a 76.9% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 16-13 and had a 55.2% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 10-3 76.9% +29
May 16-12 57.1% +22
June 17-11 60.7% +20
July 18-12 60% +43
August 18-11 62.1% +26
September 16-13 55.2% +13
October 2-0 100% +2

Did the 1976 New York Yankees Win The World Series?

No. While the 1976 New York Yankees did play in the World Series, they lost to the Cincinnati Reds.

What was the run differential for the 1976 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a run differential of +155. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Yankees could have been expected to have about 96.6 wins, or a 97-62 record in the regular season.

How did the 1976 New York Yankees perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1976 New York Yankees went 36-28.

How did the 1976 New York Yankees perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1976 New York Yankees went 10-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1976 New York Yankees?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1976 New York Yankees was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1976 New York Yankees?

The longest losing streak that the New York Yankees had during the 1976 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1976 New York Yankees Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 8, 1976 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Apr 10, 1976 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 9 - 7
Mon, Apr 12, 1976 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 0
Tue, Apr 13, 1976 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 1
Thu, Apr 15, 1976 vs Minnesota Twins Win 11 - 4
Sat, Apr 17, 1976 vs Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 0
Sun, Apr 18, 1976 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Apr 20, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Wed, Apr 21, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 7
Fri, Apr 23, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 24, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Win 9 - 8 (11)
Tue, Apr 27, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Win 1 - 0
Fri, Apr 30, 1976 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 3
Sat, May 1, 1976 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 2, 1976 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 2 (11)
Tue, May 4, 1976 @ California Angels Win 2 - 1
Wed, May 5, 1976 @ California Angels Win 10 - 4
Thu, May 6, 1976 @ California Angels Win 4 - 2
Fri, May 7, 1976 @ Oakland Athletics Win 14 - 4
Sat, May 8, 1976 @ Oakland Athletics Win 8 - 4
Sun, May 9, 1976 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 4 (12)
Tue, May 11, 1976 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 12, 1976 vs Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 6
Thu, May 13, 1976 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 14, 1976 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 6
Sat, May 15, 1976 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 16, 1976 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 0 - 7
Tue, May 18, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Win 11 - 6 (16)
Wed, May 19, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Thu, May 20, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 8
Fri, May 21, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 5 (12)
Sat, May 22, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Win 1 - 0 (11)
Sun, May 23, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 7
Mon, May 24, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 2
Tue, May 25, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 1
Wed, May 26, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Thu, May 27, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 28, 1976 @ Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 5
Sat, May 29, 1976 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 30, 1976 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Mon, May 31, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 3
Wed, Jun 2, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 2
Thu, Jun 3, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 8
Fri, Jun 4, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 6 (11)
Sat, Jun 5, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Jun 6, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jun 6, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jun 8, 1976 vs California Angels Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 9, 1976 vs California Angels Win 4 - 3
Thu, Jun 10, 1976 vs California Angels Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Jun 11, 1976 vs Texas Rangers Win 7 - 5
Sat, Jun 12, 1976 vs Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Jun 13, 1976 vs Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Jun 15, 1976 @ Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 16, 1976 @ Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 4
Thu, Jun 17, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jun 18, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2 (14)
Sat, Jun 19, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 20, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 3
Mon, Jun 21, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 0
Tue, Jun 22, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 23, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Jun 24, 1976 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jun 25, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 1 - 0
Sat, Jun 26, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jun 27, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jun 27, 1976 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 10 - 2
Mon, Jun 28, 1976 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Jun 29, 1976 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Jul 1, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Jul 2, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 1
Sat, Jul 3, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jul 4, 1976 @ Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Mon, Jul 5, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jul 6, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jul 6, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 4
Wed, Jul 7, 1976 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Jul 8, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 0
Fri, Jul 9, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 10, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 4
Sun, Jul 11, 1976 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 0
Thu, Jul 15, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Win 7 - 6
Thu, Jul 15, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Win 6 - 4 (10)
Fri, Jul 16, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Win 3 - 0
Sat, Jul 17, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jul 18, 1976 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 3 (12)
Mon, Jul 19, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jul 20, 1976 @ Chicago White Sox Win 14 - 9
Wed, Jul 21, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 1
Thu, Jul 22, 1976 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 5 - 6
Fri, Jul 23, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 1
Sat, Jul 24, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 25, 1976 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jul 26, 1976 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jul 27, 1976 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 28, 1976 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jul 30, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jul 31, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jul 31, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Aug 1, 1976 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Aug 2, 1976 vs Detroit Tigers Win 1 - 0
Tue, Aug 3, 1976 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3
Wed, Aug 4, 1976 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Aug 4, 1976 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 7 - 2