1979 New York Yankees

Major League Baseball » New York Yankees » 1979

Season Overview

89-71 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1979 New York Yankees

What was the record of the 1979 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a 89-71 record. They went 51-30 at home and 38-41 on the road.

What division did the 1979 New York Yankees play in?

The 1979 New York Yankees played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1979 New York Yankees?

During the regular season, the 1979 New York Yankees went 41-35 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 1979 New York Yankees record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Toronto Blue Jays 9-4 69.2% +30
Boston Red Sox 8-5 61.5% +20
Cleveland Indians 8-5 61.5% -8
Baltimore Orioles 6-5 54.5% +6
Detroit Tigers 6-7 46.2% +7
Milwaukee Brewers 4-9 30.8% -22

What was the 1979 New York Yankees record by month?

The 1979 New York Yankees had their best month in September, when they went 17-12 and had a 58.6% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 10-11 and had a 47.6% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 10-11 47.6% -4
May 16-12 57.1% +18
June 15-13 53.6% +15
July 16-12 57.1% +14
August 15-11 57.7% +8
September 17-12 58.6% +11

Did the 1979 New York Yankees make the Postseason?

No, the Yankees didn't make the Postseason in 1979.

What was the run differential for the 1979 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a run differential of +62. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Yankees could have been expected to have about 86.4 wins, or a 86-74 record in the regular season.

How did the 1979 New York Yankees perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1979 New York Yankees went 33-27.

How did the 1979 New York Yankees perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1979 New York Yankees went 11-5 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1979 New York Yankees?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1979 New York Yankees was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1979 New York Yankees?

The longest losing streak that the New York Yankees had during the 1979 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1979 New York Yankees Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 5, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Apr 7, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Apr 8, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1
Tue, Apr 10, 1979 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 6
Wed, Apr 11, 1979 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Thu, Apr 12, 1979 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 0
Fri, Apr 13, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 12
Sat, Apr 14, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 5
Sun, Apr 15, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 5
Tue, Apr 17, 1979 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 1
Wed, Apr 18, 1979 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 1
Thu, Apr 19, 1979 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Apr 20, 1979 vs Texas Rangers Win 5 - 3
Sat, Apr 21, 1979 vs Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Apr 22, 1979 vs Texas Rangers Win 5 - 1
Tue, Apr 24, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Win 3 - 1
Wed, Apr 25, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 1
Fri, Apr 27, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Apr 28, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Apr 29, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Apr 30, 1979 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 2
Tue, May 1, 1979 @ California Angels Win 12 - 8 (11)
Wed, May 2, 1979 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 1
Fri, May 4, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 5 - 11
Sat, May 5, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 6, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 5 (10)
Mon, May 7, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 4 - 12
Tue, May 8, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 3
Wed, May 9, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 0
Thu, May 10, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 1
Fri, May 11, 1979 vs California Angels Loss 1 - 4
Sat, May 12, 1979 vs California Angels Win 6 - 5
Sun, May 13, 1979 vs California Angels Win 12 - 10
Mon, May 14, 1979 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Tue, May 15, 1979 vs Detroit Tigers Win 11 - 3
Wed, May 16, 1979 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 2
Fri, May 18, 1979 @ Boston Red Sox Win 10 - 0
Sat, May 19, 1979 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 4
Sun, May 20, 1979 @ Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 0
Mon, May 21, 1979 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Tue, May 22, 1979 @ Detroit Tigers Win 12 - 8
Wed, May 23, 1979 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 26, 1979 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 8
Sun, May 27, 1979 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 5
Sun, May 27, 1979 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 4
Mon, May 28, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1 (10)
Tue, May 29, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 7
Wed, May 30, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 2 (11)
Thu, May 31, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jun 1, 1979 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Sat, Jun 2, 1979 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 7
Sun, Jun 3, 1979 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2 (11)
Mon, Jun 4, 1979 vs Kansas City Royals Win 8 - 3
Tue, Jun 5, 1979 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Jun 6, 1979 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jun 7, 1979 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Jun 8, 1979 @ Kansas City Royals Win 11 - 10 (10)
Sat, Jun 9, 1979 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 8 - 9 (13)
Sun, Jun 10, 1979 @ Kansas City Royals Win 10 - 4
Tue, Jun 12, 1979 @ Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 1
Wed, Jun 13, 1979 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 7 - 8
Thu, Jun 14, 1979 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jun 15, 1979 @ Texas Rangers Loss 5 - 9
Sat, Jun 16, 1979 @ Texas Rangers Win 3 - 2 (10)
Sun, Jun 17, 1979 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jun 19, 1979 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Jun 20, 1979 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 20, 1979 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Jun 21, 1979 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 1
Fri, Jun 22, 1979 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jun 23, 1979 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5 (10)
Sun, Jun 24, 1979 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 2
Mon, Jun 25, 1979 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jun 26, 1979 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 11 - 2
Thu, Jun 28, 1979 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jun 29, 1979 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 3 (13)
Sat, Jun 30, 1979 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 1, 1979 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jul 2, 1979 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jul 3, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 7
Wed, Jul 4, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 3
Thu, Jul 5, 1979 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Jul 6, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jul 6, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Win 3 - 0
Sat, Jul 7, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jul 8, 1979 @ Oakland Athletics Win 2 - 0
Tue, Jul 10, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jul 11, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 16
Thu, Jul 12, 1979 @ Seattle Mariners Win 14 - 2
Fri, Jul 13, 1979 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jul 14, 1979 @ California Angels Loss 7 - 8 (12)
Sun, Jul 15, 1979 @ California Angels Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Jul 19, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 2
Fri, Jul 20, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jul 21, 1979 vs Oakland Athletics Win 12 - 4
Sun, Jul 22, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Win 4 - 0
Mon, Jul 23, 1979 vs Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 2
Tue, Jul 24, 1979 vs California Angels Win 6 - 5
Wed, Jul 25, 1979 vs California Angels Loss 5 - 9
Thu, Jul 26, 1979 vs California Angels Win 2 - 0
Fri, Jul 27, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Jul 28, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 9
Sun, Jul 29, 1979 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 5
Mon, Jul 30, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jul 31, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 3
Wed, Aug 1, 1979 @ Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 1
Fri, Aug 3, 1979 vs Baltimore Orioles