1985 New York Yankees

Major League Baseball » New York Yankees » 1985

Season Overview

97-64 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1985 New York Yankees

What was the record of the 1985 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a 97-64 record. They went 58-22 at home and 39-42 on the road.

What division did the 1985 New York Yankees play in?

The 1985 New York Yankees played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1985 New York Yankees?

During the regular season, the 1985 New York Yankees went 42-35 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 1985 New York Yankees record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Baltimore Orioles 12-1 92.3% +42
Boston Red Sox 8-5 61.5% 0
Cleveland Indians 7-6 53.8% +6
Toronto Blue Jays 6-7 46.2% +2
Milwaukee Brewers 6-7 46.2% 0
Detroit Tigers 3-9 25% -24

What was the 1985 New York Yankees record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1985 New York Yankees had their best month in August, when they went 20-8 and had a 71.4% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 6-12 and had a 33.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 6-12 33.3% -21
May 18-8 69.2% +70
June 13-14 48.1% +11
July 18-10 64.3% +51
August 20-8 71.4% +42
September 18-10 64.3% +14
October 4-2 66.7% +12

Did the 1985 New York Yankees make the Postseason?

No, the Yankees didn't make the Postseason in 1985.

What was the run differential for the 1985 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a run differential of +179. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Yankees could have been expected to have about 97.9 wins, or a 98-63 record in the regular season.

How did the 1985 New York Yankees perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1985 New York Yankees went 26-25.

How did the 1985 New York Yankees perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1985 New York Yankees went 6-10 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1985 New York Yankees?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1985 New York Yankees was a 11 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1985 New York Yankees?

The longest losing streak that the New York Yankees had during the 1985 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

1985 New York Yankees Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 8, 1985 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 9
Wed, Apr 10, 1985 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 14
Thu, Apr 11, 1985 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Apr 13, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 3
Sun, Apr 14, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Win 2 - 1
Tue, Apr 16, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 4
Thu, Apr 18, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Fri, Apr 19, 1985 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Apr 20, 1985 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 2
Sun, Apr 21, 1985 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Apr 23, 1985 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Wed, Apr 24, 1985 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 7
Thu, Apr 25, 1985 vs Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 1
Fri, Apr 26, 1985 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Apr 27, 1985 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Sun, Apr 28, 1985 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Mon, Apr 29, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Loss 5 - 7
Tue, Apr 30, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Loss 4 - 8
Wed, May 1, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 3, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 1
Sat, May 4, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 2
Sun, May 5, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 2
Tue, May 7, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 8
Wed, May 8, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 8
Fri, May 10, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 4
Sat, May 11, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Win 11 - 3
Sun, May 12, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 5 - 6
Mon, May 13, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 8
Tue, May 14, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 7
Wed, May 15, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 6 - 5 (10)
Thu, May 16, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 6 - 5
Fri, May 17, 1985 @ California Angels Win 6 - 0
Sat, May 18, 1985 @ California Angels Win 6 - 1
Sun, May 19, 1985 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 4
Tue, May 21, 1985 @ Seattle Mariners Win 11 - 1
Wed, May 22, 1985 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 4
Thu, May 23, 1985 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 4 - 6
Fri, May 24, 1985 @ Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 3
Sat, May 25, 1985 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 7 - 8
Sun, May 26, 1985 @ Oakland Athletics Win 13 - 1
Mon, May 27, 1985 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 2 (10)
Wed, May 29, 1985 vs California Angels Win 7 - 2
Thu, May 30, 1985 vs California Angels Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 31, 1985 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 3
Sat, Jun 1, 1985 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 2
Sun, Jun 2, 1985 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Jun 3, 1985 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jun 4, 1985 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Thu, Jun 6, 1985 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Jun 7, 1985 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 9 - 10 (10)
Sat, Jun 8, 1985 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1 (13)
Sun, Jun 9, 1985 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 4 - 9
Mon, Jun 10, 1985 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jun 11, 1985 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 4 (11)
Wed, Jun 12, 1985 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jun 14, 1985 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Jun 15, 1985 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 8 - 10
Sun, Jun 16, 1985 vs Detroit Tigers Win 2 - 1
Mon, Jun 17, 1985 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 0
Tue, Jun 18, 1985 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jun 19, 1985 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 0
Thu, Jun 20, 1985 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 9 - 10 (10)
Fri, Jun 21, 1985 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Jun 22, 1985 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Sun, Jun 23, 1985 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jun 24, 1985 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 25, 1985 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 4
Wed, Jun 26, 1985 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 28, 1985 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jun 29, 1985 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Jun 30, 1985 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 7
Mon, Jul 1, 1985 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jul 2, 1985 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jul 3, 1985 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Thu, Jul 4, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 5, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jul 7, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2 (11)
Sun, Jul 7, 1985 vs Minnesota Twins Win 14 - 2
Mon, Jul 8, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Jul 9, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jul 10, 1985 vs Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 5
Thu, Jul 11, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 11 - 7
Fri, Jul 12, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 6 - 0
Sat, Jul 13, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jul 14, 1985 vs Texas Rangers Win 7 - 1
Thu, Jul 18, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 8
Fri, Jul 19, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jul 20, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jul 21, 1985 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 2
Mon, Jul 22, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jul 23, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Jul 24, 1985 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jul 26, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Loss 8 - 9
Sat, Jul 27, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Win 14 - 2
Sun, Jul 28, 1985 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 8
Mon, Jul 29, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 2
Tue, Jul 30, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 5
Tue, Jul 30, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jul 31, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 6
Thu, Aug 1, 1985 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 9
Fri, Aug 2, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6 (11)
Sat, Aug 3, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 4
Sun, Aug 4, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 4
Mon, Aug 5, 1985 vs Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 3
Thu, Aug 8, 1985 vs Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 1