1981 Philadelphia Phillies

MLB » Philadelphia Phillies » 1981

Season Overview

59-48 Lost NLDS
Record Outcome

1981 Philadelphia Phillies

What was the record of the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies?

The Philadelphia Phillies finished the regular season with a 59-48 record. They went 36-19 at home and 23-29 on the road. Including the postseason, the Philadelphia Phillies went 61-51. Their final game was a loss in the NL Divisional Series to the Montreal Expos.

What division did the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies play in?

The 1981 Philadelphia Phillies played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies?

During the regular season, the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies went 35-27 against their NL East opponents.

What was the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Chicago Cubs 10-2 83.3% +12
Pittsburgh Pirates 7-5 58.3% +10
St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 53.8% +6
New York Mets 7-7 50% -9
Montreal Expos 4-7 36.4% -4

What was the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies had their best month in June, when they went 7-2 and had a 77.8% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 7-13 and had a 35% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 12-6 66.7% +16
May 15-13 53.6% -4
June 7-2 77.8% +10
August 7-13 35% -24
September 16-12 57.1% +23
October 2-2 50% -2

Did the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies make the Postseason?

Yes, the Philadelphia Phillies made the Postseason in 1981. They lost their only series against the Montreal Expos in the NL Divisional Series.

What was the run differential for the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies?

The Philadelphia Phillies finished the regular season with a run differential of +19. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Phillies could have been expected to have about 55.4 wins, or a 55-52 record in the regular season.

How did the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies went 16-19.

How did the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies went 4-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1981 Philadelphia Phillies?

The longest losing streak that the Philadelphia Phillies had during the 1981 regular season was 6 games, which happened once during the season.

1981 Philadelphia Phillies Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Wed, Apr 8, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 11, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Sun, Apr 12, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 7
Mon, Apr 13, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 1
Wed, Apr 15, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 3 (11)
Thu, Apr 16, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Fri, Apr 17, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 2
Sat, Apr 18, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sun, Apr 19, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 3
Mon, Apr 20, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 8 - 9
Tue, Apr 21, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 10
Wed, Apr 22, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Fri, Apr 24, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 4
Sat, Apr 25, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 5
Sun, Apr 26, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 2
Mon, Apr 27, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 3 - 1
Tue, Apr 28, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Apr 29, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 2
Sat, May 2, 1981 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 6
Sat, May 2, 1981 vs San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 1
Sun, May 3, 1981 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 5
Mon, May 4, 1981 vs San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 4
Tue, May 5, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 7
Wed, May 6, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Thu, May 7, 1981 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Fri, May 8, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Win 11 - 7
Sat, May 9, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Win 9 - 6
Sun, May 10, 1981 vs San Diego Padres Loss 4 - 8
Tue, May 12, 1981 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 4
Wed, May 13, 1981 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 5
Thu, May 14, 1981 @ San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 15, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 16, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 2
Sun, May 17, 1981 @ San Diego Padres Win 6 - 3
Mon, May 18, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 0
Tue, May 19, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 20, 1981 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Fri, May 22, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 23, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 4
Sun, May 24, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 7
Mon, May 25, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 13
Tue, May 26, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 7 - 5
Wed, May 27, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 3
Fri, May 29, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 11
Sat, May 30, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 2
Sun, May 31, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 1
Mon, Jun 1, 1981 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 2, 1981 vs New York Mets Win 9 - 7
Wed, Jun 3, 1981 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 5, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Jun 6, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 0
Sun, Jun 7, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 5
Mon, Jun 8, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 10 - 3
Wed, Jun 10, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Mon, Aug 10, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 7
Tue, Aug 11, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5 (10)
Wed, Aug 12, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 11
Thu, Aug 13, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Aug 14, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 8 - 4
Sat, Aug 15, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Aug 16, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Aug 18, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Aug 19, 1981 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Aug 21, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Sat, Aug 22, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 4
Sun, Aug 23, 1981 vs Houston Astros Win 6 - 0
Mon, Aug 24, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 5 (13)
Tue, Aug 25, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 12
Wed, Aug 26, 1981 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5 (10)
Fri, Aug 28, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Sat, Aug 29, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Aug 29, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Aug 30, 1981 @ Houston Astros Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Mon, Aug 31, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 11 - 8
Tue, Sep 1, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 0
Wed, Sep 2, 1981 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Sep 3, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 9
Fri, Sep 4, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 6
Sat, Sep 5, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 4
Sun, Sep 6, 1981 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Sep 7, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Sep 8, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 10 - 5
Wed, Sep 9, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 11 - 8
Fri, Sep 11, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 0
Sat, Sep 12, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Sep 13, 1981 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Sep 16, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 1
Wed, Sep 16, 1981 @ New York Mets Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Sep 17, 1981 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Fri, Sep 18, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 7
Sat, Sep 19, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 2
Sun, Sep 20, 1981 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Mon, Sep 21, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 1 (17)
Tue, Sep 22, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Sep 23, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 9 - 4
Thu, Sep 24, 1981 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 14 - 6
Fri, Sep 25, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 2
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 2
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 14
Mon, Sep 28, 1981 vs New York Mets Win 12 - 4
Tue, Sep 29, 1981 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 7
Wed, Sep 30, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 5
Thu, Oct 1, 1981 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Fri, Oct 2, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 7
Sat, Oct 3, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 8
Sun, Oct 4, 1981 vs Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Postseason
NL Divisional Series (Lost 2 - 3)
Wed, Oct 7, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Oct 8, 1981 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Oct 9, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 2
Sat, Oct 10, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 5 (10)
Sun, Oct 11, 1981 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 3

Longest Championship Drought By City

Most Championships By City

Fan Report Card

Frequently Asked Questions

How Scoring Works

Accuracy and Fact Checking

All MLB stats, streaks, droughts and records are updated based on games played on or before Jun 17, 2024.

Copyright © 2015-2024 ChampsOrChumps.us
TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout