1969 Pittsburgh Pirates

Major League Baseball » Pittsburgh Pirates » 1969

Season Overview

88-74 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1969 Pittsburgh Pirates

What was the record of the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a 88-74 record. They went 47-34 at home and 41-40 on the road.

What division did the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates play in?

The 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates?

During the regular season, the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates went 49-41 against their NL East opponents.

What was the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Montreal Expos 13-5 72.2% +32
Chicago Cubs 11-7 61.1% +14
St. Louis Cardinals 9-9 50% -17
New York Mets 8-10 44.4% +6
Philadelphia Phillies 8-10 44.4% -4

What was the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates had their best month in August, when they went 17-10 and had a 63.0% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 11-15 and had a 42.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 13-8 61.9% +7
May 11-15 42.3% -12
June 14-15 48.3% +15
July 15-12 55.6% -7
August 17-10 63.0% +36
September 16-14 53.3% +27
October 2-0 100% +7

Did the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates make the Postseason?

No, the Pirates didn't make the Postseason in 1969.

What was the run differential for the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The Pittsburgh Pirates finished the regular season with a run differential of +73. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Pirates could have been expected to have about 88.8 wins, or a 89-73 record in the regular season.

How did the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates went 29-24.

How did the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates went 12-1 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1969 Pittsburgh Pirates?

The longest losing streak that the Pittsburgh Pirates had during the 1969 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1969 Pittsburgh Pirates Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 8, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2 (14)
Wed, Apr 9, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 1
Thu, Apr 10, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Apr 11, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 1
Sat, Apr 12, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Apr 13, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Mon, Apr 14, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 4
Tue, Apr 15, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Apr 16, 1969 vs New York Mets Win 11 - 3
Thu, Apr 17, 1969 vs New York Mets Win 4 - 0
Sat, Apr 19, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 6
Sun, Apr 20, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Apr 22, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 5
Tue, Apr 22, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 5
Wed, Apr 23, 1969 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Apr 25, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 8 - 2
Sat, Apr 26, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Sun, Apr 27, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Apr 28, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Apr 30, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1
Wed, Apr 30, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 8
Thu, May 1, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 9
Fri, May 2, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Win 7 - 3
Sat, May 3, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Sun, May 4, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 6
Tue, May 6, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 4
Wed, May 7, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Win 2 - 0
Fri, May 9, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 13
Sat, May 10, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Mon, May 12, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 13, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 8 - 11
Wed, May 14, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Fri, May 16, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4
Sat, May 17, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Sun, May 18, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 5 - 6
Tue, May 20, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 6 - 3
Wed, May 21, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 11 - 1
Thu, May 22, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 1
Fri, May 23, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Sat, May 24, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 5
Sun, May 25, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Win 2 - 1
Sun, May 25, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 2
Wed, May 28, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 7
Thu, May 29, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 10
Fri, May 30, 1969 vs Houston Astros Win 9 - 3
Fri, May 30, 1969 vs Houston Astros Loss 6 - 9
Sat, May 31, 1969 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jun 1, 1969 vs Houston Astros Win 14 - 7
Tue, Jun 3, 1969 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Jun 4, 1969 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jun 6, 1969 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jun 7, 1969 @ Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 2
Sun, Jun 8, 1969 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 10 - 11
Sun, Jun 8, 1969 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jun 10, 1969 @ Houston Astros Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Jun 11, 1969 @ Houston Astros Win 13 - 8
Thu, Jun 12, 1969 @ Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 13, 1969 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1 (10)
Sat, Jun 14, 1969 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jun 15, 1969 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 6
Mon, Jun 16, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 8
Tue, Jun 17, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Tue, Jun 17, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3
Wed, Jun 18, 1969 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2 (10)
Fri, Jun 20, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 7 - 8
Sat, Jun 21, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 2
Sun, Jun 22, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 0
Sun, Jun 22, 1969 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jun 23, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jun 24, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 25, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jun 26, 1969 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 7 (10)
Fri, Jun 27, 1969 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jun 28, 1969 @ New York Mets Win 7 - 4
Sun, Jun 29, 1969 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 7
Mon, Jun 30, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jul 1, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 7
Wed, Jul 2, 1969 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 14
Fri, Jul 4, 1969 vs New York Mets Loss 6 - 11
Fri, Jul 4, 1969 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 9
Sun, Jul 6, 1969 vs New York Mets Loss 7 - 8
Tue, Jul 8, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 8 - 1
Wed, Jul 9, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3 (10)
Wed, Jul 9, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 10, 1969 vs Montreal Expos Win 2 - 1 (11)
Fri, Jul 11, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jul 12, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Jul 13, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 0
Sun, Jul 13, 1969 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Jul 14, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jul 15, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Win 9 - 3
Wed, Jul 16, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Win 8 - 7
Thu, Jul 17, 1969 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jul 18, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 1
Sat, Jul 19, 1969 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 24, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jul 25, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 26, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 3 (10)
Sun, Jul 27, 1969 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jul 29, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2 (10)
Tue, Jul 29, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 30, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 31, 1969 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1 (15)
Fri, Aug 1, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Aug 2, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 3
Sun, Aug 3, 1969 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Aug 5, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 11 - 3
Wed, Aug 6, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Aug 7, 1969 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Fri, Aug 8, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 1
Sun, Aug 10, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 5
Sun, Aug 10, 1969 @ San Diego Padres Win 8 - 6
Tue, Aug 12, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Aug 13, 1969 @ San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 5
Fri, Aug 15, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 1
Sat, Aug 16, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Aug 17, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 5
Mon, Aug 18, 1969 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 12 - 5 (10)
Tue, Aug 19, 1969 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 1
Wed, Aug 20, 1969 vs Houston Astros Win 1 - 0
Fri, Aug 22, 1969 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 2
Fri, Aug 22, 1969 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 3