1972 Texas Rangers

Major League Baseball » Texas Rangers » 1972

Season Overview

54-100 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1972 Texas Rangers

What was the record of the 1972 Texas Rangers?

The Texas Rangers finished the regular season with a 54-100 record. They went 31-46 at home and 23-54 on the road.

What division did the 1972 Texas Rangers play in?

The 1972 Texas Rangers played in the West Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1972 Texas Rangers?

During the regular season, the 1972 Texas Rangers went 28-54 against their AL West opponents.

What was the 1972 Texas Rangers record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Kansas City Royals 6-8 42.9% -5
California Angels 7-10 41.2% -9
Minnesota Twins 7-11 38.9% -12
Oakland Athletics 4-11 26.7% -43
Chicago White Sox 4-14 22.2% -43

What was the 1972 Texas Rangers record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1972 Texas Rangers had their best month in April, when they went 7-6 and had a 53.8% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 3-23 and had a 11.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-6 53.8% -10
May 10-18 35.7% -22
June 10-14 41.7% -8
July 12-19 38.7% -35
August 10-19 34.5% -29
September 3-23 11.5% -63
October 2-1 66.7% 0

Did the 1972 Texas Rangers make the Postseason?

No, the Rangers didn't make the Postseason in 1972.

What was the run differential for the 1972 Texas Rangers?

The Texas Rangers finished the regular season with a run differential of -167. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Rangers could have been expected to have about 55.8 wins, or a 56-98 record in the regular season.

How did the 1972 Texas Rangers perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1972 Texas Rangers went 20-31.

How did the 1972 Texas Rangers perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1972 Texas Rangers went 5-11 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1972 Texas Rangers?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1972 Texas Rangers was a 5 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1972 Texas Rangers?

The longest losing streak that the Texas Rangers had during the 1972 regular season was 15 games, which happened once during the season.

1972 Texas Rangers Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Sat, Apr 15, 1972 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Apr 16, 1972 @ California Angels Win 5 - 1
Tue, Apr 18, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 14
Wed, Apr 19, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Apr 21, 1972 vs California Angels Win 7 - 6
Sat, Apr 22, 1972 vs California Angels Win 5 - 0
Sun, Apr 23, 1972 vs California Angels Win 5 - 2
Mon, Apr 24, 1972 vs California Angels Win 6 - 4
Tue, Apr 25, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Apr 26, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 8
Fri, Apr 28, 1972 vs Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 6
Sat, Apr 29, 1972 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 6
Sun, Apr 30, 1972 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 3 (10)
Tue, May 2, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 4
Wed, May 3, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 2
Fri, May 5, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 6, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 7, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 7
Wed, May 10, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 0 - 1
Thu, May 11, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 12, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 1
Sat, May 13, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 7
Sun, May 14, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Mon, May 15, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5
Tue, May 16, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 5
Wed, May 17, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 3 (18)
Fri, May 19, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 1
Sat, May 20, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 1
Sun, May 21, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 2
Sun, May 21, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 1
Mon, May 22, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Tue, May 23, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 2
Wed, May 24, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 5
Thu, May 25, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Fri, May 26, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 7
Sat, May 27, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Win 16 - 2
Sun, May 28, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 7
Mon, May 29, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 4
Mon, May 29, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 7
Tue, May 30, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 31, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Jun 2, 1972 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 7
Sat, Jun 3, 1972 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 4, 1972 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 10 - 0
Tue, Jun 6, 1972 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 3
Wed, Jun 7, 1972 vs New York Yankees Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Jun 8, 1972 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 2
Fri, Jun 9, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 7
Sat, Jun 10, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jun 11, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jun 12, 1972 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 7 - 1
Tue, Jun 13, 1972 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 0
Wed, Jun 14, 1972 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 7 - 1
Sat, Jun 17, 1972 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 2
Sat, Jun 17, 1972 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jun 19, 1972 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 12
Tue, Jun 20, 1972 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 2
Wed, Jun 21, 1972 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 9 - 10 (11)
Fri, Jun 23, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jun 24, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 1
Sun, Jun 25, 1972 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 10
Mon, Jun 26, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 27, 1972 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 9
Thu, Jun 29, 1972 vs California Angels Loss 4 - 12
Fri, Jun 30, 1972 vs California Angels Win 7 - 3
Sat, Jul 1, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 3 (11)
Sun, Jul 2, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 5 (10)
Sun, Jul 2, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 8
Mon, Jul 3, 1972 @ Kansas City Royals Win 2 - 1
Tue, Jul 4, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Thu, Jul 6, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jul 6, 1972 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 6 (12)
Fri, Jul 7, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jul 8, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 8, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jul 9, 1972 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2 (10)
Mon, Jul 10, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 8
Tue, Jul 11, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 12, 1972 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Jul 13, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 0
Fri, Jul 14, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2 (14)
Sat, Jul 15, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 7
Sun, Jul 16, 1972 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2 (12)
Mon, Jul 17, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jul 18, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2 (15)
Wed, Jul 19, 1972 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 20, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Jul 21, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jul 22, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Jul 23, 1972 vs Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 1
Thu, Jul 27, 1972 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 5
Fri, Jul 28, 1972 @ California Angels Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 29, 1972 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Jul 30, 1972 @ Oakland Athletics Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 30, 1972 @ Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jul 31, 1972 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Aug 1, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Aug 2, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 1
Thu, Aug 3, 1972 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 9
Fri, Aug 4, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Aug 5, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Win 11 - 5
Sun, Aug 6, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 10
Sun, Aug 6, 1972 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Aug 7, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 5
Tue, Aug 8, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Wed, Aug 9, 1972 @ Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2