1981 Baltimore Orioles

Major League Baseball » Baltimore Orioles » 1981

Season Overview

59-46 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1981 Baltimore Orioles

What was the record of the 1981 Baltimore Orioles?

The Baltimore Orioles finished the regular season with a 59-46 record. They went 33-22 at home and 26-24 on the road.

What division did the 1981 Baltimore Orioles play in?

The 1981 Baltimore Orioles played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1981 Baltimore Orioles?

During the regular season, the 1981 Baltimore Orioles went 26-23 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 1981 Baltimore Orioles record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Toronto Blue Jays 5-2 71.4% +19
Cleveland Indians 4-2 66.7% +15
New York Yankees 7-6 53.8% -4
Boston Red Sox 2-2 50% +2
Detroit Tigers 6-7 46.2% -17
Milwaukee Brewers 2-4 33.3% -8

What was the 1981 Baltimore Orioles record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1981 Baltimore Orioles had their best month in May, when they went 21-8 and had a 72.4% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 3-7 and had a 30% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-8 46.7% -6
May 21-8 72.4% +50
June 3-7 30% -25
August 11-9 55.0% -13
September 14-13 51.9% -12
October 3-1 75% -2

Did the 1981 Baltimore Orioles make the Postseason?

No, the Orioles didn't make the Postseason in 1981.

What was the run differential for the 1981 Baltimore Orioles?

The Baltimore Orioles finished the regular season with a run differential of -8. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Orioles could have been expected to have about 51.6 wins, or a 52-53 record in the regular season.

How did the 1981 Baltimore Orioles perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1981 Baltimore Orioles went 21-9.

How did the 1981 Baltimore Orioles perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1981 Baltimore Orioles went 5-4 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1981 Baltimore Orioles?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1981 Baltimore Orioles was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1981 Baltimore Orioles?

The longest losing streak that the Baltimore Orioles had during the 1981 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1981 Baltimore Orioles Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Fri, Apr 10, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 3
Sun, Apr 12, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Apr 13, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 1
Wed, Apr 15, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 7
Fri, Apr 17, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 2
Sun, Apr 19, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 21, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 2
Thu, Apr 23, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 18
Thu, Apr 23, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Apr 25, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 2
Sun, Apr 26, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 7
Mon, Apr 27, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 2
Tue, Apr 28, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Apr 29, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 0
Thu, Apr 30, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 0
Sat, May 2, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 2, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 3
Sun, May 3, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 4
Mon, May 4, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 3 (10)
Tue, May 5, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 6, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Sat, May 9, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Win 7 - 3
Sat, May 9, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Win 4 - 2
Sun, May 10, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 7
Tue, May 12, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 5
Wed, May 13, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 0
Thu, May 14, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 10 - 0
Fri, May 15, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 4
Sat, May 16, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 7 - 0
Sun, May 17, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Mon, May 18, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 1
Tue, May 19, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 5
Wed, May 20, 1981 vs California Angels Win 5 - 3
Thu, May 21, 1981 vs California Angels Loss 0 - 2
Fri, May 22, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 2
Sat, May 23, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 2
Sun, May 24, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 8
Sun, May 24, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 25, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 10 - 1
Tue, May 26, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 4
Wed, May 27, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 5
Fri, May 29, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 5
Sat, May 30, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 31, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jun 2, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 5 (11)
Wed, Jun 3, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 2 (11)
Thu, Jun 4, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 12
Fri, Jun 5, 1981 @ California Angels Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jun 6, 1981 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 10
Sun, Jun 7, 1981 @ California Angels Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 10, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Win 3 - 1
Thu, Jun 11, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 8
Mon, Aug 10, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 2 (12)
Wed, Aug 12, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 10
Wed, Aug 12, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 3
Thu, Aug 13, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 2 - 1
Fri, Aug 14, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Aug 15, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 0
Sun, Aug 16, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 7 - 8 (10)
Tue, Aug 18, 1981 @ California Angels Win 6 - 5
Wed, Aug 19, 1981 @ California Angels Loss 3 - 6
Thu, Aug 20, 1981 @ California Angels Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Aug 21, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 2
Sat, Aug 22, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Aug 23, 1981 @ Oakland Athletics Win 7 - 4
Mon, Aug 24, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Win 12 - 8
Tue, Aug 25, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 5 (12)
Thu, Aug 27, 1981 vs California Angels Win 6 - 2
Fri, Aug 28, 1981 vs California Angels Loss 2 - 9
Sat, Aug 29, 1981 vs California Angels Win 4 - 3
Sun, Aug 30, 1981 vs California Angels Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Aug 31, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Sep 1, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Win 1 - 0
Wed, Sep 2, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Win 3 - 2 (11)
Thu, Sep 3, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 0 - 10
Fri, Sep 4, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Sat, Sep 5, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 3
Sun, Sep 6, 1981 vs Oakland Athletics Win 8 - 4
Mon, Sep 7, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 2
Tue, Sep 8, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Win 14 - 5
Wed, Sep 9, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 8
Thu, Sep 10, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Sep 11, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1
Sat, Sep 12, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 6
Sun, Sep 13, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 5
Tue, Sep 15, 1981 @ Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 6
Thu, Sep 17, 1981 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 2
Fri, Sep 18, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Sep 19, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 8 - 11
Sun, Sep 20, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 2
Mon, Sep 21, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Sep 22, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Sep 23, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Win 1 - 0
Thu, Sep 24, 1981 @ New York Yankees Win 5 - 1
Fri, Sep 25, 1981 @ New York Yankees Win 1 - 0
Sat, Sep 26, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 6
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Sep 28, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Win 7 - 3
Tue, Sep 29, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 14
Thu, Oct 1, 1981 @ Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 4 (10)
Fri, Oct 2, 1981 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 9
Sat, Oct 3, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 0
Sun, Oct 4, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 2