1981 Oakland Athletics

MLB » Oakland Athletics » 1981

Season Overview

64-45 Lost ALCS
Record Outcome

1981 Oakland Athletics

What was the record of the 1981 Oakland Athletics?

The Oakland Athletics finished the regular season with a 64-45 record. They went 35-21 at home and 29-24 on the road. Including the postseason, the Oakland Athletics went 67-48. Their final game was a loss in the AL Championship Series to the New York Yankees.

What division did the 1981 Oakland Athletics play in?

The 1981 Oakland Athletics played in the West Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1981 Oakland Athletics?

During the regular season, the 1981 Oakland Athletics went 35-17 against their AL West opponents.

Who won the AL West in 1981?

The Athletics won the AL West in the 1981 season with a 64-45 record. The Rangers finished 5 games back with a 57-48 record. The White Sox finished 8.5 games back with a 54-52 record. The Royals finished 11 games back with a 50-53 record. The Angels finished 13.5 games back with a 51-59 record. The Mariners finished 20 games back with a 44-65 record. The Twins finished 23 games back with a 41-68 record.

What was the 1981 Oakland Athletics record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Seattle Mariners 6-1 85.7% +39
California Angels 8-2 80% +13
Minnesota Twins 8-2 80% +12
Texas Rangers 4-2 66.7% -7
Kansas City Royals 3-3 50% +2
Chicago White Sox 6-7 46.2% -9

What was the 1981 Oakland Athletics record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1981 Oakland Athletics had their best month in April, when they went 18-3 and had a 85.7% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 13-17 and had a 43.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 18-3 85.7% +64
May 13-17 43.3% -17
June 6-3 66.7% +10
August 10-9 52.6% +3
September 15-12 55.6% -7
October 2-1 66.7% +2

Did the 1981 Oakland Athletics make the Postseason?

Yes, the Oakland Athletics made the Postseason in 1981. They won their first series against the Kansas City Royals in the AL Divisional Series. They eventually lost against the New York Yankees in the AL Championship Series.

What was the run differential for the 1981 Oakland Athletics?

The Oakland Athletics finished the regular season with a run differential of +55. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Athletics could have been expected to have about 60.9 wins, or a 61-48 record in the regular season.

How did the 1981 Oakland Athletics perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1981 Oakland Athletics went 22-11.

How did the 1981 Oakland Athletics perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1981 Oakland Athletics went 10-2 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1981 Oakland Athletics?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1981 Oakland Athletics was a 11 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1981 Oakland Athletics?

The longest losing streak that the Oakland Athletics had during the 1981 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

1981 Oakland Athletics Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Thu, Apr 9, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 1
Fri, Apr 10, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Sat, Apr 11, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 0
Sun, Apr 12, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 1 - 0
Mon, Apr 13, 1981 @ California Angels Win 3 - 2
Tue, Apr 14, 1981 @ California Angels Win 5 - 2
Wed, Apr 15, 1981 @ California Angels Win 5 - 3
Thu, Apr 16, 1981 @ California Angels Win 5 - 1
Fri, Apr 17, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Win 16 - 1
Sat, Apr 18, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 0
Sun, Apr 19, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 1
Sun, Apr 19, 1981 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Apr 20, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 0
Tue, Apr 21, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 3 (10)
Wed, Apr 22, 1981 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 1
Fri, Apr 24, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 2
Sat, Apr 25, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 4
Sun, Apr 26, 1981 @ Seattle Mariners Win 9 - 4
Mon, Apr 27, 1981 vs California Angels Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 28, 1981 vs California Angels Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Apr 29, 1981 vs California Angels Win 6 - 4
Fri, May 1, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 6
Sat, May 2, 1981 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 3
Sun, May 3, 1981 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Sun, May 3, 1981 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 2
Tue, May 5, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 2
Wed, May 6, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3
Thu, May 7, 1981 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 3
Fri, May 8, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 0
Sat, May 9, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 5 (12)
Sun, May 10, 1981 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 13
Tue, May 12, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 4
Wed, May 13, 1981 @ New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Thu, May 14, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 9
Fri, May 15, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 3
Sat, May 16, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 6
Sun, May 17, 1981 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 6
Mon, May 18, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Tue, May 19, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6
Wed, May 20, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 5
Thu, May 21, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 0 - 3
Fri, May 22, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 2
Sat, May 23, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 2 (15)
Sun, May 24, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 5 (12)
Sun, May 24, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 0
Mon, May 25, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 2
Tue, May 26, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 4
Wed, May 27, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 3
Fri, May 29, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 6
Sat, May 30, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 5 - 6
Sun, May 31, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 5
Tue, Jun 2, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jun 3, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 3
Thu, Jun 4, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jun 5, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Jun 6, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jun 7, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 3 (11)
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jun 9, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jun 10, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Aug 10, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 6
Tue, Aug 11, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 5
Wed, Aug 12, 1981 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Aug 14, 1981 vs California Angels Win 4 - 2 (10)
Sat, Aug 15, 1981 vs California Angels Win 8 - 7 (13)
Sun, Aug 16, 1981 vs California Angels Win 7 - 6
Tue, Aug 18, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Win 3 - 2 (15)
Wed, Aug 19, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 2
Thu, Aug 20, 1981 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Fri, Aug 21, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Aug 22, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 2 - 0
Sun, Aug 23, 1981 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 7
Mon, Aug 24, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Win 16 - 4
Tue, Aug 25, 1981 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Thu, Aug 27, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 6
Fri, Aug 28, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 12
Sat, Aug 29, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Aug 30, 1981 @ Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 3
Mon, Aug 31, 1981 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 3
Wed, Sep 2, 1981 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Wed, Sep 2, 1981 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 10
Thu, Sep 3, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 0
Fri, Sep 4, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4 (11)
Sat, Sep 5, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Sep 6, 1981 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 8
Mon, Sep 7, 1981 vs Texas Rangers Win 2 - 1
Tue, Sep 8, 1981 vs Texas Rangers Win 3 - 0
Wed, Sep 9, 1981 vs Texas Rangers Loss 4 - 9
Fri, Sep 11, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 1
Sat, Sep 12, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 4
Sun, Sep 13, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 5 - 6 (12)
Mon, Sep 14, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Win 5 - 2
Tue, Sep 15, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 12
Wed, Sep 16, 1981 @ Texas Rangers Win 2 - 1
Fri, Sep 18, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Win 10 - 5
Sat, Sep 19, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1
Sun, Sep 20, 1981 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 11
Tue, Sep 22, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 2 (13)
Tue, Sep 22, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 2
Wed, Sep 23, 1981 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 0
Fri, Sep 25, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Sep 26, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 1
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 9
Sun, Sep 27, 1981 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 10
Tue, Sep 29, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 1
Wed, Sep 30, 1981 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 0
Fri, Oct 2, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Oct 3, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Win 8 - 4
Sun, Oct 4, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 3
Postseason
AL Divisional Series (Won 3 - 0)
Tue, Oct 6, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 0
Wed, Oct 7, 1981 @ Kansas City Royals Win 2 - 1
Fri, Oct 9, 1981 vs Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 1
AL Championship Series (Lost 0 - 3)
Tue, Oct 13, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Oct 14, 1981 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 13
Thu, Oct 15, 1981 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 4

Longest Championship Drought By City

Most Championships By City

Fan Report Card

Frequently Asked Questions

How Scoring Works

Accuracy and Fact Checking

All MLB stats, streaks, droughts and records are updated based on games played on or before Jun 16, 2024.

Copyright © 2015-2024 ChampsOrChumps.us
TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout