1968 Chicago Cubs

Major League Baseball » Chicago Cubs » 1968

Season Overview

84-78 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1968 Chicago Cubs

What was the record of the 1968 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a 84-78 record. They went 47-34 at home and 37-44 on the road.

What division did the 1968 Chicago Cubs play in?

The 1968 Chicago Cubs played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1968.

What was the 1968 Chicago Cubs record by month?

The 1968 Chicago Cubs had their best month in July, when they went 21-11 and had a 65.6% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 10-18 and had a 35.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 8-10 44.4% -9
May 15-13 53.6% -16
June 10-18 35.7% -21
July 21-11 65.6% +37
August 17-15 53.1% -8
September 13-11 54.2% +18

Did the 1968 Chicago Cubs make the Postseason?

No, the Cubs didn't make the Postseason in 1968.

What was the run differential for the 1968 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a run differential of +1. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cubs could have been expected to have about 81.1 wins, or a 81-81 record in the regular season.

How did the 1968 Chicago Cubs perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1968 Chicago Cubs went 31-22.

How did the 1968 Chicago Cubs perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1968 Chicago Cubs went 7-4 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1968 Chicago Cubs?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1968 Chicago Cubs was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1968 Chicago Cubs?

The longest losing streak that the Chicago Cubs had during the 1968 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1968 Chicago Cubs Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Wed, Apr 10, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Apr 11, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 3
Sat, Apr 13, 1968 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 8
Sun, Apr 14, 1968 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 6
Tue, Apr 16, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 8 - 9
Wed, Apr 17, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 2
Thu, Apr 18, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Apr 19, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 9
Sat, Apr 20, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 1
Sun, Apr 21, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 9
Tue, Apr 23, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 4
Thu, Apr 25, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 2
Fri, Apr 26, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 2
Sat, Apr 27, 1968 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Apr 28, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 4
Sun, Apr 28, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 2
Mon, Apr 29, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 7
Tue, Apr 30, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 1, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 4
Thu, May 2, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Sat, May 4, 1968 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 7
Sun, May 5, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 5, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 1 - 0
Tue, May 7, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Wed, May 8, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 6
Thu, May 9, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Fri, May 10, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 5
Sat, May 11, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 1
Sun, May 12, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 4 - 3
Sun, May 12, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 10
Mon, May 13, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 1
Tue, May 14, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 1
Wed, May 15, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3
Thu, May 16, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 1 - 0
Fri, May 17, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 2
Sat, May 18, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 7
Sun, May 19, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 19, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 3
Tue, May 21, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 5
Wed, May 22, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 13
Fri, May 24, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 4
Sat, May 25, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 0
Sun, May 26, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 2
Wed, May 29, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 2
Wed, May 29, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 8
Fri, May 31, 1968 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jun 1, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jun 2, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 2 (12)
Tue, Jun 4, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 5
Wed, Jun 5, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 6, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jun 7, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 6 - 7
Sun, Jun 9, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 4
Sun, Jun 9, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jun 10, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 11, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 7 - 9
Wed, Jun 12, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 13, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 4
Fri, Jun 14, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jun 15, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Sun, Jun 16, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 1 (11)
Tue, Jun 18, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 1
Wed, Jun 19, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Jun 20, 1968 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 1
Fri, Jun 21, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jun 22, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 7
Sun, Jun 23, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 8 - 9
Sun, Jun 23, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Mon, Jun 24, 1968 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jun 25, 1968 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Jun 26, 1968 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jun 28, 1968 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 9
Sat, Jun 29, 1968 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 8
Sun, Jun 30, 1968 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2
Mon, Jul 1, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 6
Tue, Jul 2, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jul 3, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Jul 4, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jul 4, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 7
Fri, Jul 5, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Jul 6, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 1
Sat, Jul 6, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 10 - 2
Sun, Jul 7, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 7, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 3
Thu, Jul 11, 1968 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Jul 11, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Fri, Jul 12, 1968 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Jul 13, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 2 - 1 (11)
Sun, Jul 14, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 2
Mon, Jul 15, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 2 - 1 (10)
Tue, Jul 16, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 3 (12)
Wed, Jul 17, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jul 17, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 8
Fri, Jul 19, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jul 20, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jul 21, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 2
Mon, Jul 22, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jul 23, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Wed, Jul 24, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 2 - 0
Fri, Jul 26, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 27, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jul 28, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jul 28, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 1 - 0
Mon, Jul 29, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 30, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 4
Wed, Jul 31, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 6 - 1
Thu, Aug 1, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 1