1968 St. Louis Cardinals

Major League Baseball » St. Louis Cardinals » 1968

Season Overview

97-65 Lost WS
Record Outcome

1968 St. Louis Cardinals

What was the record of the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals?

The St. Louis Cardinals finished the regular season with a 97-65 record. They went 47-34 at home and 50-31 on the road. Including the postseason, the St. Louis Cardinals went 100-69. Their final game was a loss in the World Series to the Detroit Tigers.

What division did the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals play in?

The 1968 St. Louis Cardinals played in the National League, which didn't have any divisions in 1968.

What was the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals record by month?

The 1968 St. Louis Cardinals had their best month in July, when they went 24-6 and had a 80% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 11-16 and had a 40.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 13-5 72.2% +37
May 11-16 40.7% -13
June 22-9 71.0% +29
July 24-6 80% +61
August 16-15 51.6% +5
September 11-14 44% -8

Did the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals Win The World Series?

No. While the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals did play in the World Series, they lost to the Detroit Tigers.

What was the run differential for the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals?

The St. Louis Cardinals finished the regular season with a run differential of +111. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cardinals could have been expected to have about 96.5 wins, or a 96-66 record in the regular season.

How did the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals went 38-28.

How did the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals went 15-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals was a 9 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1968 St. Louis Cardinals?

The longest losing streak that the St. Louis Cardinals had during the 1968 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1968 St. Louis Cardinals Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Wed, Apr 10, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1
Thu, Apr 11, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 3
Sat, Apr 13, 1968 @ Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 5
Sun, Apr 14, 1968 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Apr 15, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3 (10)
Tue, Apr 16, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 2
Wed, Apr 17, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4 (12)
Thu, Apr 18, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4 (12)
Fri, Apr 19, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 2
Sat, Apr 20, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Apr 21, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 2
Tue, Apr 23, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 2 (10)
Wed, Apr 24, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 0
Fri, Apr 26, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 2 - 1
Sat, Apr 27, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 5
Sun, Apr 28, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Mon, Apr 29, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 30, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Wed, May 1, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 1 (12)
Thu, May 2, 1968 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 4
Fri, May 3, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 5
Sat, May 4, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 11 - 6
Sun, May 5, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 8
Mon, May 6, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 1 (11)
Tue, May 7, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 4
Wed, May 8, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Sat, May 11, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 3 (13)
Sun, May 12, 1968 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Mon, May 13, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Wed, May 15, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Thu, May 16, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 3
Fri, May 17, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 1 (10)
Sat, May 18, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3
Sun, May 19, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 4
Mon, May 20, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 21, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 9
Wed, May 22, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 2
Thu, May 23, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3 (11)
Fri, May 24, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 1
Sat, May 25, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 26, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 9
Tue, May 28, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 3
Wed, May 29, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 2
Thu, May 30, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 0
Fri, May 31, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Sat, Jun 1, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 5 (10)
Sun, Jun 2, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jun 2, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Mon, Jun 3, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jun 4, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jun 5, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Thu, Jun 6, 1968 @ Houston Astros Win 4 - 0
Fri, Jun 7, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 8, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Sun, Jun 9, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 8
Sun, Jun 9, 1968 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 7 (12)
Mon, Jun 10, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 11, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 0
Wed, Jun 12, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 7
Thu, Jun 13, 1968 @ Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 1 (12)
Fri, Jun 14, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 7
Sat, Jun 15, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jun 16, 1968 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jun 18, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Wed, Jun 19, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 0
Thu, Jun 20, 1968 vs Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Fri, Jun 21, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3 (13)
Sat, Jun 22, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 1
Sun, Jun 23, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Jun 23, 1968 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 1
Tue, Jun 25, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 26, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 0
Wed, Jun 26, 1968 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Jun 28, 1968 @ Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 5
Sat, Jun 29, 1968 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 8 - 10
Sun, Jun 30, 1968 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 6
Mon, Jul 1, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 1
Tue, Jul 2, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3
Wed, Jul 3, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jul 4, 1968 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 5, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3 (12)
Sat, Jul 6, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 0
Sun, Jul 7, 1968 @ San Francisco Giants Win 2 - 0
Thu, Jul 11, 1968 vs Houston Astros Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Thu, Jul 11, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 7
Fri, Jul 12, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 8 - 1
Sat, Jul 13, 1968 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 14, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 1
Mon, Jul 15, 1968 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jul 16, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 1
Thu, Jul 18, 1968 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Jul 19, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jul 20, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 21, 1968 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 21, 1968 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 1
Mon, Jul 22, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jul 23, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 11 - 5
Wed, Jul 24, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 1
Thu, Jul 25, 1968 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 0
Fri, Jul 26, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 1
Fri, Jul 26, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Sat, Jul 27, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 0
Sun, Jul 28, 1968 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Jul 29, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 5 - 1
Tue, Jul 30, 1968 @ New York Mets Win 7 - 1
Wed, Jul 31, 1968 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2