1989 Cincinnati Reds

MLB » Cincinnati Reds » 1989

Season Overview

75-87 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1989 Cincinnati Reds

What was the record of the 1989 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a 75-87 record. They went 38-43 at home and 37-44 on the road.

What division did the 1989 Cincinnati Reds play in?

The 1989 Cincinnati Reds played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1989 Cincinnati Reds?

During the regular season, the 1989 Cincinnati Reds went 43-47 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1989 Cincinnati Reds record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Atlanta Braves 10-8 55.6% +16
San Diego Padres 9-9 50% +8
Houston Astros 8-10 44.4% +5
San Francisco Giants 8-10 44.4% -7
Los Angeles Dodgers 8-10 44.4% -27

What was the 1989 Cincinnati Reds record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1989 Cincinnati Reds had their best month in April, when they went 13-9 and had a 59.1% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 7-19 and had a 26.9% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 13-9 59.1% -9
May 14-13 51.9% -11
June 14-15 48.3% -4
July 7-19 26.9% -35
August 16-13 55.2% +15
September 11-17 39.3% -13
October 0-1 0% -2

Did the 1989 Cincinnati Reds make the Postseason?

No, the Reds didn't make the Postseason in 1989.

What was the run differential for the 1989 Cincinnati Reds?

The Cincinnati Reds finished the regular season with a run differential of -59. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Reds could have been expected to have about 74.4 wins, or a 74-88 record in the regular season.

How did the 1989 Cincinnati Reds perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1989 Cincinnati Reds went 25-27.

How did the 1989 Cincinnati Reds perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1989 Cincinnati Reds went 11-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1989 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1989 Cincinnati Reds was a 4 game winning streak on 4 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1989 Cincinnati Reds?

The longest losing streak that the Cincinnati Reds had during the 1989 regular season was 10 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1989 Cincinnati Reds Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 3, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 4
Wed, Apr 5, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 3
Thu, Apr 6, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Apr 7, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3 (16)
Sun, Apr 9, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 9
Mon, Apr 10, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 8 - 3
Tue, Apr 11, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Apr 12, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Fri, Apr 14, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Apr 15, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 6 - 3 (10)
Sun, Apr 16, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 5 - 0
Mon, Apr 17, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2 (10)
Tue, Apr 18, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Wed, Apr 19, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Apr 21, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 7
Sat, Apr 22, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sun, Apr 23, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Apr 25, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 1
Wed, Apr 26, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 5
Fri, Apr 28, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 0
Sat, Apr 29, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 8
Sun, Apr 30, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 3
Mon, May 1, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 19 - 6
Tue, May 2, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 6
Wed, May 3, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 4
Thu, May 4, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Fri, May 5, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 7
Sat, May 6, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 4
Sun, May 7, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 5
Mon, May 8, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 0
Tue, May 9, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 3
Wed, May 10, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 4 - 11
Fri, May 12, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 0
Sat, May 13, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 14, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Mon, May 15, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 5
Tue, May 16, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 5
Wed, May 17, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4 (10)
Fri, May 19, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 8
Sat, May 20, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Sun, May 21, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 2
Tue, May 23, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 4
Wed, May 24, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 26, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Win 10 - 8 (12)
Sat, May 27, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 5
Sun, May 28, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 6
Mon, May 29, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 12
Tue, May 30, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 2
Wed, May 31, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jun 2, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 9 - 4
Sat, Jun 3, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jun 4, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 3
Mon, Jun 5, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 8 - 11
Tue, Jun 6, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 6, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Jun 7, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 12 - 5
Thu, Jun 8, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jun 9, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 0
Sat, Jun 10, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 0
Sun, Jun 11, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Jun 12, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 9
Tue, Jun 13, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 9 - 6
Wed, Jun 14, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 15, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 0 - 1 (12)
Fri, Jun 16, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jun 17, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Jun 18, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 2
Wed, Jun 21, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Jun 21, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Jun 22, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jun 23, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jun 24, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 10
Sun, Jun 25, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 7
Mon, Jun 26, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jun 27, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 3
Wed, Jun 28, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jun 29, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Jun 30, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 11
Sat, Jul 1, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jul 2, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 7
Mon, Jul 3, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jul 4, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jul 5, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Thu, Jul 6, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 10 - 2
Fri, Jul 7, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 7
Sat, Jul 8, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Jul 9, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 6
Thu, Jul 13, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 14, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 1
Sat, Jul 15, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jul 16, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 3 - 6 (12)
Mon, Jul 17, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 18, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 19, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Jul 20, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Jul 21, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jul 22, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jul 23, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 12
Tue, Jul 25, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Jul 26, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 5
Thu, Jul 27, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jul 28, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 2 (17)
Sat, Jul 29, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 30, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Aug 1, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 5
Wed, Aug 2, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 2
Thu, Aug 3, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 18 - 2
Fri, Aug 4, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sat, Aug 5, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 7
Sun, Aug 6, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Mon, Aug 7, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 2
Tue, Aug 8, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 4
Wed, Aug 9, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 10
Thu, Aug 10, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Aug 11, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 6 - 1
Sat, Aug 12, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Aug 13, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 0
Tue, Aug 15, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 5 (12)
Wed, Aug 16, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Aug 17, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Aug 18, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2