1989 Chicago Cubs

MLB » Chicago Cubs » 1989

Season Overview

93-69 Lost NLCS
Record Outcome

1989 Chicago Cubs

What was the record of the 1989 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a 93-69 record. They went 48-33 at home and 45-36 on the road. Including the postseason, the Chicago Cubs went 94-73. Their final game was a loss in the NL Championship Series to the San Francisco Giants.

What division did the 1989 Chicago Cubs play in?

The 1989 Chicago Cubs played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1989 Chicago Cubs?

During the regular season, the 1989 Chicago Cubs went 53-37 against their NL East opponents.

Who won the NL East in 1989?

The Cubs won the NL East in the 1989 season with a 93-69 record. The Mets finished 6 games back with a 87-75 record. The Cardinals finished 7 games back with a 86-76 record. The Expos finished 12 games back with a 81-81 record. The Pirates finished 19 games back with a 74-88 record. The Phillies finished 26 games back with a 67-95 record.

What was the 1989 Chicago Cubs record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Pittsburgh Pirates 12-6 66.7% +22
St. Louis Cardinals 11-7 61.1% +15
New York Mets 10-8 55.6% +24
Philadelphia Phillies 10-8 55.6% +3
Montreal Expos 10-8 55.6% -8

What was the 1989 Chicago Cubs record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1989 Chicago Cubs had their best month in July, when they went 18-9 and had a 66.7% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 13-15 and had a 46.4% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 12-11 52.2% -10
May 16-11 59.3% +16
June 13-15 46.4% +1
July 18-9 66.7% +39
August 16-12 57.1% +5
September 17-11 60.7% +24
October 1-0 100% +4

Did the 1989 Chicago Cubs make the Postseason?

Yes, the Chicago Cubs made the Postseason in 1989. They lost their only series against the San Francisco Giants in the NL Championship Series.

What was the run differential for the 1989 Chicago Cubs?

The Chicago Cubs finished the regular season with a run differential of +79. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Cubs could have been expected to have about 89.8 wins, or a 90-72 record in the regular season.

How did the 1989 Chicago Cubs perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1989 Chicago Cubs went 29-24.

How did the 1989 Chicago Cubs perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1989 Chicago Cubs went 10-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1989 Chicago Cubs?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1989 Chicago Cubs was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1989 Chicago Cubs?

The longest losing streak that the Chicago Cubs had during the 1989 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1989 Chicago Cubs Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 4, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Wed, Apr 5, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 12
Thu, Apr 6, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 8
Fri, Apr 7, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 5
Sat, Apr 8, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Sun, Apr 9, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 3
Tue, Apr 11, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4
Wed, Apr 12, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Apr 14, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 4
Sun, Apr 16, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 3
Mon, Apr 17, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Apr 18, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 11
Wed, Apr 19, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Apr 20, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Apr 21, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 8 - 4
Sat, Apr 22, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Apr 23, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Apr 25, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 4
Wed, Apr 26, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Apr 27, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 1 - 0
Fri, Apr 28, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 3 - 1
Sat, Apr 29, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Apr 30, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 7 - 3
Mon, May 1, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3 (12)
Tue, May 2, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 4
Wed, May 3, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 5 - 4
Thu, May 4, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 4 - 0
Fri, May 5, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Sat, May 6, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 3
Sun, May 7, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Tue, May 9, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 4
Wed, May 10, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4
Fri, May 12, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 13, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 14, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 5
Mon, May 15, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 0
Tue, May 16, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 17, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 0
Fri, May 19, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 2
Sat, May 20, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 21, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 7
Mon, May 22, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 3
Tue, May 23, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Wed, May 24, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Fri, May 26, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 8 - 10 (12)
Sat, May 27, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 3
Sun, May 28, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 1
Mon, May 29, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 2
Tue, May 30, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 31, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Jun 2, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jun 3, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sun, Jun 4, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 11 - 3
Mon, Jun 5, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 15 - 3
Tue, Jun 6, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jun 7, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 5 - 10
Thu, Jun 8, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 4 (10)
Fri, Jun 9, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 1
Sat, Jun 10, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Jun 11, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 7 - 10
Mon, Jun 12, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 3
Tue, Jun 13, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 14, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 2
Thu, Jun 15, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4 (12)
Fri, Jun 16, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Loss 5 - 8
Sat, Jun 17, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jun 18, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 20, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4 (11)
Wed, Jun 21, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0 (11)
Thu, Jun 22, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 0
Fri, Jun 23, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jun 24, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Jun 25, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 5
Mon, Jun 26, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 2
Tue, Jun 27, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Jun 28, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Jun 29, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 12
Fri, Jun 30, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jul 1, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 2, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jul 4, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 1
Wed, Jul 5, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 3
Thu, Jul 6, 1989 vs San Diego Padres Win 7 - 3
Fri, Jul 7, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jul 8, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 8
Sun, Jul 9, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 11 - 4
Thu, Jul 13, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Win 7 - 3
Fri, Jul 14, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 4 - 7
Sat, Jul 15, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Jul 16, 1989 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 4
Mon, Jul 17, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 3
Tue, Jul 18, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 19, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 0
Thu, Jul 20, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3 (11)
Fri, Jul 21, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jul 22, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jul 23, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 5
Mon, Jul 24, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jul 25, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jul 26, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Jul 28, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jul 29, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 10 - 3
Sun, Jul 30, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 6 - 4
Mon, Jul 31, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 10 - 2
Mon, Jul 31, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 7
Tue, Aug 1, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 1
Wed, Aug 2, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 6
Thu, Aug 3, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 0
Fri, Aug 4, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Sat, Aug 5, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Sun, Aug 6, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5 (18)
Mon, Aug 7, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 5 - 2
Tue, Aug 8, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 2
Wed, Aug 9, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 3 - 0
Thu, Aug 10, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 13 - 16
Fri, Aug 11, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 2
Sat, Aug 12, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 7
Sun, Aug 13, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Aug 15, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2 (12)
Wed, Aug 16, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 1
Thu, Aug 17, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2