1989 San Diego Padres

MLB » San Diego Padres » 1989

Season Overview

89-73 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1989 San Diego Padres

What was the record of the 1989 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a 89-73 record. They went 46-35 at home and 43-38 on the road.

What division did the 1989 San Diego Padres play in?

The 1989 San Diego Padres played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1989 San Diego Padres?

During the regular season, the 1989 San Diego Padres went 50-40 against their NL West opponents.

What was the 1989 San Diego Padres record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Los Angeles Dodgers 12-6 66.7% +4
Atlanta Braves 11-7 61.1% -7
Houston Astros 10-8 55.6% +18
Cincinnati Reds 9-9 50% -8
San Francisco Giants 8-10 44.4% -16

What was the 1989 San Diego Padres record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1989 San Diego Padres had their best month in September, when they went 19-8 and had a 70.4% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 10-16 and had a 38.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 14-12 53.8% -23
May 15-13 53.6% +1
June 10-16 38.5% -17
July 12-13 48% -10
August 18-11 62.1% +31
September 19-8 70.4% +31
October 1-0 100% +3

Did the 1989 San Diego Padres make the Postseason?

No, the Padres didn't make the Postseason in 1989.

What was the run differential for the 1989 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a run differential of +16. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Padres could have been expected to have about 82.9 wins, or a 83-79 record in the regular season.

How did the 1989 San Diego Padres perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1989 San Diego Padres went 35-20.

How did the 1989 San Diego Padres perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1989 San Diego Padres went 8-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1989 San Diego Padres?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1989 San Diego Padres was a 6 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1989 San Diego Padres?

The longest losing streak that the San Diego Padres had during the 1989 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1989 San Diego Padres Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 3, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Apr 4, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 8
Wed, Apr 5, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3
Fri, Apr 7, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 3
Sat, Apr 8, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Apr 9, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 4
Mon, Apr 10, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 2
Tue, Apr 11, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Wed, Apr 12, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 5
Thu, Apr 13, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 4
Fri, Apr 14, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 5
Sat, Apr 15, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 6 (10)
Sun, Apr 16, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 5
Mon, Apr 17, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 9
Tue, Apr 18, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 2
Wed, Apr 19, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 3
Fri, Apr 21, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 3
Sat, Apr 22, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Apr 23, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 9
Mon, Apr 24, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 2
Tue, Apr 25, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Wed, Apr 26, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 1
Thu, Apr 27, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 1
Fri, Apr 28, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Apr 29, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 4
Sun, Apr 30, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Mon, May 1, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 6
Tue, May 2, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 1
Wed, May 3, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5
Thu, May 4, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 4
Fri, May 5, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 4
Sat, May 6, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Sun, May 7, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 1
Tue, May 9, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 10, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 3
Thu, May 11, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 6
Fri, May 12, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 4 - 3 (12)
Sat, May 13, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Sun, May 14, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 2
Mon, May 15, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 6 - 5 (11)
Tue, May 16, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 2
Wed, May 17, 1989 @ Montreal Expos Win 6 - 5
Fri, May 19, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 2
Sat, May 20, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 21, 1989 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 3
Tue, May 23, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 24, 1989 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 3
Thu, May 25, 1989 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 1
Fri, May 26, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 5
Sat, May 27, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Win 5 - 0
Sun, May 28, 1989 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 10
Mon, May 29, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 1 - 0
Tue, May 30, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 3
Wed, May 31, 1989 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Fri, Jun 2, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 9
Sat, Jun 3, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Jun 4, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Mon, Jun 5, 1989 @ Houston Astros Win 10 - 2
Tue, Jun 6, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 7 - 8 (10)
Wed, Jun 7, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Thu, Jun 8, 1989 @ Houston Astros Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Fri, Jun 9, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 12
Sat, Jun 10, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Jun 11, 1989 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 3 (12)
Tue, Jun 13, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 9
Wed, Jun 14, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jun 15, 1989 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 1 - 0 (12)
Fri, Jun 16, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jun 17, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jun 18, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Jun 19, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 1
Tue, Jun 20, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 0
Wed, Jun 21, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 23, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 7 - 8
Sat, Jun 24, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jun 25, 1989 vs San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 7
Tue, Jun 27, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3 (17)
Wed, Jun 28, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jun 29, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jun 30, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jul 1, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 9
Sun, Jul 2, 1989 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 2
Tue, Jul 4, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jul 5, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 5
Thu, Jul 6, 1989 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Jul 7, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Jul 8, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 9, 1989 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 3
Thu, Jul 13, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Jul 14, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 4
Sat, Jul 15, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 16, 1989 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3
Mon, Jul 17, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 18, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 17 - 4
Wed, Jul 19, 1989 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 1
Thu, Jul 20, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Jul 21, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Jul 22, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jul 23, 1989 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jul 25, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jul 26, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 3
Thu, Jul 27, 1989 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 6
Fri, Jul 28, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jul 29, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 9 - 4
Sun, Jul 30, 1989 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 10
Tue, Aug 1, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 2 (11)
Wed, Aug 2, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 7
Thu, Aug 3, 1989 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 5
Fri, Aug 4, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 6
Sat, Aug 5, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Sun, Aug 6, 1989 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Aug 7, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 5 - 2
Tue, Aug 8, 1989 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 12
Wed, Aug 9, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 2 - 1
Thu, Aug 10, 1989 vs Houston Astros Win 13 - 3
Fri, Aug 11, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 6
Fri, Aug 11, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 0
Sat, Aug 12, 1989 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Aug 15, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Aug 16, 1989 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 7
Thu, Aug 17, 1989 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 2