2008 Florida Marlins

MLB » Miami Marlins » 2008

Season Overview

84-77 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

2008 Florida Marlins

What was the record of the 2008 Florida Marlins?

The Florida Marlins finished the regular season with a 84-77 record. They went 45-36 at home and 39-41 on the road.

What division did the 2008 Florida Marlins play in?

The 2008 Florida Marlins played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 2008 Florida Marlins?

During the regular season, the 2008 Florida Marlins went 40-31 against their NL East opponents.

What was the 2008 Florida Marlins record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Washington Nationals 14-3 82.4% +34
Philadelphia Phillies 10-8 55.6% +8
Atlanta Braves 8-10 44.4% -8
New York Mets 8-10 44.4% -11

What was the 2008 Florida Marlins record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 2008 Florida Marlins had their best month in September, when they went 15-9 and had a 62.5% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 11-17 and had a 39.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
March 0-1 0% -5
April 15-11 57.7% -11
May 16-11 59.3% +23
June 12-16 42.9% -24
July 15-12 55.6% -4
August 11-17 39.3% -12
September 15-9 62.5% +36

Did the 2008 Florida Marlins make the Postseason?

No, the Marlins didn't make the Postseason in 2008.

What was the run differential for the 2008 Florida Marlins?

The Florida Marlins finished the regular season with a run differential of +3. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Marlins could have been expected to have about 80.8 wins, or a 81-80 record in the regular season.

How did the 2008 Florida Marlins perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2008 Florida Marlins went 27-20.

How did the 2008 Florida Marlins perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2008 Florida Marlins went 9-5 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2008 Florida Marlins?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2008 Florida Marlins was a 9 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2008 Florida Marlins?

The longest losing streak that the Florida Marlins had during the 2008 regular season was 4 games, which occured 3 separate times.

2008 Florida Marlins Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Mar 31, 2008 vs New York Mets Loss 2 - 7
Tue, Apr 1, 2008 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 4 (10)
Wed, Apr 2, 2008 vs New York Mets Loss 0 - 13
Fri, Apr 4, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Sat, Apr 5, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 3
Sun, Apr 6, 2008 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 9
Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 10 - 7
Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 10 - 4
Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 4 - 3
Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ Houston Astros Win 10 - 6
Sat, Apr 12, 2008 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 5
Sun, Apr 13, 2008 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Apr 15, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 0
Wed, Apr 16, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 5
Thu, Apr 17, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 8
Fri, Apr 18, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Apr 19, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 6 - 5
Sun, Apr 20, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 6 - 1
Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 10 - 4
Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 2
Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 7
Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 0 (10)
Sat, Apr 26, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Apr 27, 2008 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 2 (10)
Tue, Apr 29, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 6 - 7
Wed, Apr 30, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 13
Thu, May 1, 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 2, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 4
Sat, May 3, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 7
Sun, May 4, 2008 vs San Diego Padres Win 10 - 3
Tue, May 6, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 0
Wed, May 7, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 2
Thu, May 8, 2008 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 7 - 2
Fri, May 9, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 7 - 3
Sat, May 10, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 11 - 0
Sun, May 11, 2008 @ Washington Nationals Win 5 - 4
Mon, May 12, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 7 - 8
Tue, May 13, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Wed, May 14, 2008 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Fri, May 16, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 6 - 7
Sat, May 17, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 18, 2008 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 9
Tue, May 20, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 21, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 3 - 1
Thu, May 22, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 4 - 0
Fri, May 23, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 8
Sun, May 25, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 6
Sun, May 25, 2008 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 4
Mon, May 26, 2008 @ New York Mets Win 7 - 3
Tue, May 27, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 5
Wed, May 28, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 6 - 7 (12)
Fri, May 30, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 12
Sat, May 31, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jun 1, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 5 - 7
Mon, Jun 2, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 7 (10)
Tue, Jun 3, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Jun 4, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 4
Thu, Jun 5, 2008 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Jun 6, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 11
Sat, Jun 7, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 7
Sun, Jun 8, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 9 - 2
Mon, Jun 9, 2008 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 9
Tue, Jun 10, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jun 11, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jun 12, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 3
Fri, Jun 13, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Loss 3 - 7
Sat, Jun 14, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Loss 1 - 4
Sun, Jun 15, 2008 @ Tampa Bay Rays Win 9 - 3
Mon, Jun 16, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 1
Tue, Jun 17, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Jun 18, 2008 @ Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 3
Fri, Jun 20, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7 (11)
Sat, Jun 21, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jun 22, 2008 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Jun 24, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jun 25, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Loss 3 - 15
Thu, Jun 26, 2008 vs Tampa Bay Rays Loss 1 - 6
Fri, Jun 27, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jun 28, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 2 - 6
Sun, Jun 29, 2008 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 4 - 3
Mon, Jun 30, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 6 - 5 (10)
Tue, Jul 1, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Loss 6 - 9
Wed, Jul 2, 2008 vs Washington Nationals Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 3, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 5 - 6 (11)
Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 17 - 18
Sat, Jul 5, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 6 - 12
Sun, Jul 6, 2008 @ Colorado Rockies Win 10 - 5
Mon, Jul 7, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 3 - 1
Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Loss 1 - 10
Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ San Diego Padres Win 5 - 2
Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 4 (11)
Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3 (11)
Sun, Jul 13, 2008 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 9
Fri, Jul 18, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jul 19, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 9 - 5
Sun, Jul 20, 2008 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2 (11)
Mon, Jul 21, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 4
Tue, Jul 22, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 0
Wed, Jul 23, 2008 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Jul 24, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 25, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jul 26, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2 (12)
Sun, Jul 27, 2008 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 6 - 9
Mon, Jul 28, 2008 vs New York Mets Win 7 - 3
Tue, Jul 29, 2008 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jul 30, 2008 vs New York Mets Win 7 - 5
Thu, Jul 31, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 12 - 2
Fri, Aug 1, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Aug 2, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Win 5 - 3
Sun, Aug 3, 2008 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Aug 5, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 2
Wed, Aug 6, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 5
Thu, Aug 7, 2008 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 0
Fri, Aug 8, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Aug 9, 2008 @ New York Mets Loss 6 - 8
Sun, Aug 10, 2008 @ New York Mets Win 8 - 2
Mon, Aug 11, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Aug 12, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 3
Wed, Aug 13, 2008 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 6