2005 Houston Astros

Major League Baseball » Houston Astros » 2005

Season Overview

89-73 Lost WS
Record Outcome

2005 Houston Astros

What was the record of the 2005 Houston Astros?

The Houston Astros finished the regular season with a 89-73 record. They went 53-28 at home and 36-45 on the road. Including the postseason, the Houston Astros went 96-80. Their final game was a loss in the World Series to the Chicago White Sox.

What division did the 2005 Houston Astros play in?

The 2005 Houston Astros played in the Central Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 2005 Houston Astros?

During the regular season, the 2005 Houston Astros went 43-36 against their NL Central opponents.

What was the 2005 Houston Astros record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Cincinnati Reds 12-4 75% +30
Milwaukee Brewers 10-5 66.7% +20
Pittsburgh Pirates 9-7 56.2% +17
Chicago Cubs 7-9 43.8% +14
St. Louis Cardinals 5-11 31.2% -15

What was the 2005 Houston Astros record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 2005 Houston Astros had their best month in July, when they went 22-7 and had a 75.9% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 10-19 and had a 34.5% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-13 40.9% +4
May 10-19 34.5% -51
June 16-9 64% +32
July 22-7 75.9% +62
August 13-14 48.1% +13
September 17-11 60.7% +20
October 2-0 100% +4

Did the 2005 Houston Astros Win The World Series?

No. While the 2005 Houston Astros did play in the World Series, they lost to the Chicago White Sox.

What was the run differential for the 2005 Houston Astros?

The Houston Astros finished the regular season with a run differential of +84. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Astros could have been expected to have about 90.6 wins, or a 91-71 record in the regular season.

How did the 2005 Houston Astros perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2005 Houston Astros went 27-21.

How did the 2005 Houston Astros perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2005 Houston Astros went 4-4 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2005 Houston Astros?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2005 Houston Astros was a 7 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2005 Houston Astros?

The longest losing streak that the Houston Astros had during the 2005 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

2005 Houston Astros Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 5, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Apr 6, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 1
Fri, Apr 8, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 2
Sat, Apr 9, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Sun, Apr 10, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 2
Mon, Apr 11, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Apr 13, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 1 (11)
Thu, Apr 14, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 11 - 2
Sat, Apr 16, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Apr 17, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Apr 18, 2005 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 1 (12)
Tue, Apr 19, 2005 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 3
Wed, Apr 20, 2005 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 6 - 1
Thu, Apr 21, 2005 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 7
Fri, Apr 22, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 7 - 8
Sat, Apr 23, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 1 (10)
Sun, Apr 24, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 8
Mon, Apr 25, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 2
Wed, Apr 27, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Apr 29, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 30, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 5
Sun, May 1, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 3
Mon, May 2, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 4
Tue, May 3, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 7
Wed, May 4, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 6
Thu, May 5, 2005 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 9
Fri, May 6, 2005 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 9
Sat, May 7, 2005 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 4
Sun, May 8, 2005 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 16
Mon, May 9, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 10, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 6
Wed, May 11, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Loss 1 - 2
Thu, May 12, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 6
Fri, May 13, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 4
Sat, May 14, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 1
Sun, May 15, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 0
Tue, May 17, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 3 - 0
Wed, May 18, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 6 - 7
Thu, May 19, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 1 - 6
Fri, May 20, 2005 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 7
Sat, May 21, 2005 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 18
Sun, May 22, 2005 @ Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 2
Mon, May 23, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 4
Tue, May 24, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 4
Wed, May 25, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 27, 2005 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 3
Sat, May 28, 2005 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 9 - 6
Sun, May 29, 2005 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1
Mon, May 30, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 9
Tue, May 31, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Wed, Jun 1, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 1
Fri, Jun 3, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 2
Sat, Jun 4, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 9 - 11
Sun, Jun 5, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 4
Tue, Jun 7, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 3
Wed, Jun 8, 2005 @ New York Mets Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 9, 2005 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 3 (11)
Fri, Jun 10, 2005 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jun 11, 2005 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jun 12, 2005 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 0
Mon, Jun 13, 2005 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 8
Tue, Jun 14, 2005 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 6
Wed, Jun 15, 2005 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 5
Fri, Jun 17, 2005 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 0
Sat, Jun 18, 2005 @ Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 2
Sun, Jun 19, 2005 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 7
Mon, Jun 20, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 7 - 0
Tue, Jun 21, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 6 - 5
Wed, Jun 22, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 6 - 2
Fri, Jun 24, 2005 vs Texas Rangers Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jun 25, 2005 vs Texas Rangers Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jun 26, 2005 vs Texas Rangers Win 3 - 2 (10)
Mon, Jun 27, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Win 11 - 5
Tue, Jun 28, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jun 29, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Win 7 - 1
Fri, Jul 1, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 7
Sat, Jul 2, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jul 2, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 11
Sun, Jul 3, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 9 - 0
Mon, Jul 4, 2005 vs San Diego Padres Win 4 - 1
Tue, Jul 5, 2005 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jul 6, 2005 vs San Diego Padres Win 5 - 4
Thu, Jul 7, 2005 vs San Diego Padres Loss 5 - 7
Fri, Jul 8, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jul 9, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jul 10, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jul 15, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4 (13)
Sat, Jul 16, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 17, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Mon, Jul 18, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 1
Tue, Jul 19, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 3
Tue, Jul 19, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jul 20, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 0
Thu, Jul 21, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 22, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 14 - 1
Sat, Jul 23, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jul 24, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 4 - 1 (14)
Mon, Jul 25, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 1
Tue, Jul 26, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jul 27, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 28, 2005 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 29, 2005 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jul 30, 2005 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 31, 2005 vs New York Mets Loss 4 - 9