2005 San Diego Padres

MLB » San Diego Padres » 2005

Season Overview

82-80 Lost NLDS
Record Outcome

2005 San Diego Padres

What was the record of the 2005 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a 82-80 record. They went 46-35 at home and 36-45 on the road. Including the postseason, the San Diego Padres went 82-83. Their final game was a loss in the NL Divisional Series to the St. Louis Cardinals.

What division did the 2005 San Diego Padres play in?

The 2005 San Diego Padres played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 2005 San Diego Padres?

During the regular season, the 2005 San Diego Padres went 39-34 against their NL West opponents.

Who won the NL West in 2005?

The Padres won the NL West in the 2005 season with a 82-80 record. The Diamondbacks finished 5 games back with a 77-85 record. The Giants finished 7 games back with a 75-87 record. The Dodgers finished 11 games back with a 71-91 record. The Rockies finished 15 games back with a 67-95 record.

What was the 2005 San Diego Padres record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
San Francisco Giants 12-6 66.7% +27
Colorado Rockies 11-7 61.1% +4
Arizona Diamondbacks 9-10 47.4% +5
Los Angeles Dodgers 7-11 38.9% -12

What was the 2005 San Diego Padres record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 2005 San Diego Padres had their best month in May, when they went 22-6 and had a 78.6% win percentage. Their worst month was July, when they went 8-18 and had a 30.8% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 11-13 45.8% 0
May 22-6 78.6% +43
June 10-17 37.0% -32
July 8-18 30.8% -49
August 15-12 55.6% +9
September 15-13 53.6% -14
October 1-1 50% +1

Did the 2005 San Diego Padres make the Postseason?

Yes, the San Diego Padres made the Postseason in 2005. They lost their only series against the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL Divisional Series.

What was the run differential for the 2005 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a run differential of -42. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Padres could have been expected to have about 76.6 wins, or a 77-85 record in the regular season.

How did the 2005 San Diego Padres perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2005 San Diego Padres went 31-25.

How did the 2005 San Diego Padres perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2005 San Diego Padres went 9-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2005 San Diego Padres?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2005 San Diego Padres was a 8 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2005 San Diego Padres?

The longest losing streak that the San Diego Padres had during the 2005 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

2005 San Diego Padres Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 4, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 10 - 12
Wed, Apr 6, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Win 14 - 6
Thu, Apr 7, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0 (12)
Fri, Apr 8, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Apr 9, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 3
Sun, Apr 10, 2005 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 6
Mon, Apr 11, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Win 1 - 0
Wed, Apr 13, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 3
Wed, Apr 13, 2005 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 8
Fri, Apr 15, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 4
Sat, Apr 16, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Apr 17, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 6
Mon, Apr 18, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 2
Tue, Apr 19, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 2
Wed, Apr 20, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 3 (10)
Thu, Apr 21, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 1
Fri, Apr 22, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Apr 23, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 24, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 6 - 8
Mon, Apr 25, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 3
Tue, Apr 26, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Apr 27, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 3 - 10
Fri, Apr 29, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 5 - 4 (15)
Sat, Apr 30, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 2 - 0
Sun, May 1, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 2 - 5
Mon, May 2, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 5 - 4
Tue, May 3, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 2 - 1
Wed, May 4, 2005 vs Colorado Rockies Win 8 - 7 (12)
Thu, May 5, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 3
Fri, May 6, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 5
Sat, May 7, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 8, 2005 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 15
Mon, May 9, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 6 - 5 (13)
Tue, May 10, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 5
Wed, May 11, 2005 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Fri, May 13, 2005 vs Florida Marlins Win 3 - 2
Sat, May 14, 2005 vs Florida Marlins Win 2 - 1
Sun, May 15, 2005 vs Florida Marlins Win 12 - 4
Mon, May 16, 2005 vs Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 3
Tue, May 17, 2005 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Wed, May 18, 2005 vs Atlanta Braves Win 8 - 4
Fri, May 20, 2005 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 1
Sat, May 21, 2005 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 5
Sun, May 22, 2005 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 0 - 5
Tue, May 24, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 9 - 5
Wed, May 25, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 11 - 12
Thu, May 26, 2005 @ Arizona Diamondbacks Win 10 - 0
Fri, May 27, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 3
Sat, May 28, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 3
Sun, May 29, 2005 @ San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 6
Mon, May 30, 2005 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 1
Tue, May 31, 2005 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 4
Wed, Jun 1, 2005 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jun 2, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 5
Fri, Jun 3, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jun 4, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 11
Sun, Jun 5, 2005 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 0 - 4
Tue, Jun 7, 2005 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2 (11)
Wed, Jun 8, 2005 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 6
Thu, Jun 9, 2005 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jun 10, 2005 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sat, Jun 11, 2005 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jun 12, 2005 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 8 (10)
Tue, Jun 14, 2005 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Jun 15, 2005 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 8
Thu, Jun 16, 2005 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Jun 17, 2005 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 5 (11)
Sat, Jun 18, 2005 @ Minnesota Twins Win 7 - 2
Sun, Jun 19, 2005 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 1
Mon, Jun 20, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 1 - 0
Tue, Jun 21, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 22, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 6
Thu, Jun 23, 2005 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Fri, Jun 24, 2005 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 14
Sat, Jun 25, 2005 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 5
Sun, Jun 26, 2005 vs Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 4
Mon, Jun 27, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jun 28, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 8 - 3
Wed, Jun 29, 2005 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jul 1, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Jul 2, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jul 3, 2005 vs San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 6
Mon, Jul 4, 2005 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jul 5, 2005 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Jul 6, 2005 @ Houston Astros Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Jul 7, 2005 @ Houston Astros Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jul 8, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Win 12 - 2
Sat, Jul 9, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Jul 10, 2005 @ Colorado Rockies Win 8 - 5
Thu, Jul 14, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 0 - 6
Fri, Jul 15, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 10 - 7
Sat, Jul 16, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Win 4 - 1
Sun, Jul 17, 2005 vs Arizona Diamondbacks Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Jul 19, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 1 - 3 (11)
Wed, Jul 20, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jul 21, 2005 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 12
Fri, Jul 22, 2005 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 6 - 8 (11)
Sat, Jul 23, 2005 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jul 24, 2005 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Jul 26, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Jul 27, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jul 28, 2005 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 11
Fri, Jul 29, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 8
Sat, Jul 30, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 9
Sun, Jul 31, 2005 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 7
Tue, Aug 2, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 11 - 3
Wed, Aug 3, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 8 - 9
Thu, Aug 4, 2005 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 12 - 7
Fri, Aug 5, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 6 - 5
Sat, Aug 6, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 3 - 2
Sun, Aug 7, 2005 @ Washington Nationals Win 3 - 0
Tue, Aug 9, 2005 vs New York Mets Win 8 - 3
Wed, Aug 10, 2005 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 9
Thu, Aug 11, 2005 vs New York Mets Win 2 - 1
Fri, Aug 12, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 3
Sat, Aug 13, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Aug 14, 2005 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 3 - 8
Tue, Aug 16, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Win 4 - 2
Wed, Aug 17, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Loss 0 - 6
Thu, Aug 18, 2005 @ Florida Marlins Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Aug 19, 2005 @ Atlanta Braves Win 12 - 7