1973 Oakland Athletics

Major League Baseball » Oakland Athletics » 1973

Season Overview

94-68 Won WS
Record Outcome

1973 Oakland Athletics

What was the record of the 1973 Oakland Athletics?

The Oakland Athletics finished the regular season with a 94-68 record. They went 50-31 at home and 44-37 on the road. Including the postseason, the Oakland Athletics went 101-73.

What division did the 1973 Oakland Athletics play in?

The 1973 Oakland Athletics played in the West Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1973 Oakland Athletics?

During the regular season, the 1973 Oakland Athletics went 49-41 against their AL West opponents.

Who won the AL West in 1973?

The Athletics won the AL West in the 1973 season with a 94-68 record. The Royals finished 6 games back with a 88-74 record. The Twins finished 13 games back with a 81-81 record. The Angels finished 15 games back with a 79-83 record. The White Sox finished 17 games back with a 77-85 record. The Rangers finished 37 games back with a 57-105 record.

What was the 1973 Oakland Athletics record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Chicago White Sox 12-6 66.7% +42
California Angels 12-6 66.7% +6
Texas Rangers 11-7 61.1% +22
Kansas City Royals 10-8 55.6% +10
Minnesota Twins 4-14 22.2% -35

What was the 1973 Oakland Athletics record by month?

The 1973 Oakland Athletics had their best month in August, when they went 20-7 and had a 74.1% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 9-11 and had a 45% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-11 45% -12
May 15-13 53.6% +31
June 18-11 62.1% +50
July 17-12 58.6% +11
August 20-7 74.1% +41
September 15-14 51.7% +22

Did the 1973 Oakland Athletics Win The World Series?

Yes, the 1973 Oakland Athletics won the World Series in 1973. They beat the New York Mets.

What was the run differential for the 1973 Oakland Athletics?

The Oakland Athletics finished the regular season with a run differential of +143. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Athletics could have been expected to have about 96.3 wins, or a 96-66 record in the regular season.

How did the 1973 Oakland Athletics perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1973 Oakland Athletics went 29-22.

How did the 1973 Oakland Athletics perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1973 Oakland Athletics went 9-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1973 Oakland Athletics?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1973 Oakland Athletics was a 9 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1973 Oakland Athletics?

The longest losing streak that the Oakland Athletics had during the 1973 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1973 Oakland Athletics Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Fri, Apr 6, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 8
Sat, Apr 7, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Apr 8, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Apr 11, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Win 12 - 2
Thu, Apr 12, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Apr 13, 1973 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 8
Sat, Apr 14, 1973 @ Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 1
Tue, Apr 17, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5 (14)
Wed, Apr 18, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 6
Thu, Apr 19, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 8 - 16
Fri, Apr 20, 1973 vs California Angels Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 21, 1973 vs California Angels Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Apr 22, 1973 vs California Angels Win 3 - 2 (10)
Mon, Apr 23, 1973 vs California Angels Loss 0 - 4
Tue, Apr 24, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 0
Wed, Apr 25, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Apr 26, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Fri, Apr 27, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3 (12)
Sat, Apr 28, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 29, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 1, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 2, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 7 - 3 (10)
Fri, May 4, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Win 11 - 4
Sat, May 5, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 6
Sun, May 6, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Win 12 - 0
Sun, May 6, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 3
Mon, May 7, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 8
Wed, May 9, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3 (10)
Thu, May 10, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Win 17 - 2
Fri, May 11, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Win 4 - 3
Sat, May 12, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Win 4 - 2
Sun, May 13, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 7
Mon, May 14, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 1
Tue, May 15, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 6 (12)
Wed, May 16, 1973 @ California Angels Loss 2 - 7
Thu, May 17, 1973 @ California Angels Win 4 - 0
Fri, May 18, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 4
Sat, May 19, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 5
Sun, May 20, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 8
Mon, May 21, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 0
Tue, May 22, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Win 4 - 1
Wed, May 23, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Win 8 - 6
Fri, May 25, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 1 (13)
Sat, May 26, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 8
Mon, May 28, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 4
Tue, May 29, 1973 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 7
Wed, May 30, 1973 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 31, 1973 @ New York Yankees Win 6 - 0
Fri, Jun 1, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 6
Sat, Jun 2, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jun 3, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Win 12 - 1
Mon, Jun 4, 1973 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jun 5, 1973 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 4 - 5
Wed, Jun 6, 1973 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 11 - 1
Fri, Jun 8, 1973 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Jun 9, 1973 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 0
Sun, Jun 10, 1973 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 0
Tue, Jun 12, 1973 vs New York Yankees Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 13, 1973 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 8
Thu, Jun 14, 1973 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 0
Fri, Jun 15, 1973 vs Boston Red Sox Win 8 - 3
Sat, Jun 16, 1973 vs Boston Red Sox Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 17, 1973 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 2 - 4
Mon, Jun 18, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Win 9 - 5
Tue, Jun 19, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Win 11 - 6
Wed, Jun 20, 1973 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5 (12)
Thu, Jun 21, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Jun 22, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 1
Sat, Jun 23, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Win 14 - 3
Sun, Jun 24, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 0
Sun, Jun 24, 1973 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 11
Mon, Jun 25, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jun 26, 1973 @ Texas Rangers Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jun 27, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jun 28, 1973 vs Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jun 29, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jun 30, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jul 1, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jul 1, 1973 vs Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 0
Mon, Jul 2, 1973 vs California Angels Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jul 3, 1973 vs California Angels Win 3 - 0
Wed, Jul 4, 1973 vs California Angels Loss 1 - 3
Fri, Jul 6, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 5
Fri, Jul 6, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Jul 7, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 8, 1973 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 6 - 5 (10)
Tue, Jul 10, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 7
Wed, Jul 11, 1973 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 3
Thu, Jul 12, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 4
Fri, Jul 13, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 13 - 4
Sat, Jul 14, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Jul 15, 1973 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 5
Mon, Jul 16, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 7
Tue, Jul 17, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 1
Wed, Jul 18, 1973 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Jul 20, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jul 21, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jul 22, 1973 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 2
Thu, Jul 26, 1973 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Jul 26, 1973 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 7 (10)
Fri, Jul 27, 1973 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 2 - 8
Sat, Jul 28, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jul 29, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 3
Sun, Jul 29, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Win 7 - 4
Mon, Jul 30, 1973 vs Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 6
Tue, Jul 31, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 3 (11)
Wed, Aug 1, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 2
Thu, Aug 2, 1973 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Aug 3, 1973 @ California Angels Win 2 - 1 (11)
Sat, Aug 4, 1973 @ California Angels Win 3 - 2
Sun, Aug 5, 1973 @ California Angels Win 6 - 2
Tue, Aug 7, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 4
Tue, Aug 7, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 2
Wed, Aug 8, 1973 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Aug 10, 1973 @ New York Yankees Loss 9 - 10
Sat, Aug 11, 1973 @ New York Yankees Win 7 - 3
Sun, Aug 12, 1973 @ New York Yankees Win 13 - 12
Mon, Aug 13, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Win 3 - 1
Tue, Aug 14, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Win 1 - 0
Thu, Aug 16, 1973 @ Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 3
Fri, Aug 17, 1973 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 2