1984 Philadelphia Phillies

MLB » Philadelphia Phillies » 1984

Season Overview

81-81 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1984 Philadelphia Phillies

What was the record of the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies?

The Philadelphia Phillies finished the regular season with a 81-81 record. They went 39-42 at home and 42-39 on the road.

What division did the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies play in?

The 1984 Philadelphia Phillies played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies?

During the regular season, the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies went 39-51 against their NL East opponents.

What was the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Chicago Cubs 9-9 50% +1
New York Mets 8-10 44.4% +9
St. Louis Cardinals 8-10 44.4% +6
Montreal Expos 7-11 38.9% -16
Pittsburgh Pirates 7-11 38.9% -25

What was the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies record by month?

The 1984 Philadelphia Phillies had their best month in May, when they went 16-10 and had a 61.5% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 9-20 and had a 31.0% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 11-9 55.0% +24
May 16-10 61.5% +30
June 15-15 50% -17
July 14-13 51.9% -9
August 16-14 53.3% +29
September 9-20 31.0% -27

Did the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies make the Postseason?

No, the Phillies didn't make the Postseason in 1984.

What was the run differential for the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies?

The Philadelphia Phillies finished the regular season with a run differential of +30. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Phillies could have been expected to have about 84.2 wins, or a 84-78 record in the regular season.

How did the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies went 25-32.

How did the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies went 4-10 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies was a 10 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1984 Philadelphia Phillies?

The longest losing streak that the Philadelphia Phillies had during the 1984 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1984 Philadelphia Phillies Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 3, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Win 5 - 0
Wed, Apr 4, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 4
Fri, Apr 6, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 8 - 4
Sat, Apr 7, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 9 - 1
Sun, Apr 8, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 7 - 8 (11)
Tue, Apr 10, 1984 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 1
Wed, Apr 11, 1984 vs Houston Astros Win 7 - 6
Fri, Apr 13, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Apr 14, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Tue, Apr 17, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 1
Wed, Apr 18, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Apr 20, 1984 vs New York Mets Loss 1 - 3 (10)
Sat, Apr 21, 1984 vs New York Mets Win 12 - 2
Sun, Apr 22, 1984 vs New York Mets Win 12 - 5
Tue, Apr 24, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Apr 25, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 7
Fri, Apr 27, 1984 @ New York Mets Win 8 - 3
Sat, Apr 28, 1984 @ New York Mets Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Apr 29, 1984 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 6
Mon, Apr 30, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 5
Tue, May 1, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Win 7 - 4
Wed, May 2, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 3
Fri, May 4, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 9
Sat, May 5, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 11 - 2
Sun, May 6, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 7, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 6 - 8
Tue, May 8, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 8
Wed, May 9, 1984 @ Houston Astros Loss 1 - 7
Thu, May 10, 1984 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 4
Fri, May 11, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Win 6 - 4
Sat, May 12, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Win 3 - 2
Sun, May 13, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Win 8 - 3
Mon, May 14, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Tue, May 15, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 12 - 1
Wed, May 16, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 7 - 2
Fri, May 18, 1984 @ San Francisco Giants Win 1 - 0
Sat, May 19, 1984 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 2
Sun, May 20, 1984 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 4
Tue, May 22, 1984 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Wed, May 23, 1984 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 1
Thu, May 24, 1984 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 4 - 3
Fri, May 25, 1984 vs San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 7
Sat, May 26, 1984 vs San Diego Padres Win 7 - 2
Sun, May 27, 1984 vs San Diego Padres Loss 0 - 4
Wed, May 30, 1984 vs San Francisco Giants Win 3 - 2
Thu, May 31, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Win 10 - 2
Fri, Jun 1, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 12
Sat, Jun 2, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jun 3, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 11
Mon, Jun 4, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4 (11)
Tue, Jun 5, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 6, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jun 8, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jun 8, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 2 - 1
Sat, Jun 9, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jun 10, 1984 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 12 (12)
Mon, Jun 11, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 4 - 6
Tue, Jun 12, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 7
Wed, Jun 13, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 1
Thu, Jun 14, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Win 11 - 2
Fri, Jun 15, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 2
Sat, Jun 16, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 2
Sun, Jun 17, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Win 9 - 7
Tue, Jun 19, 1984 @ New York Mets Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jun 20, 1984 @ New York Mets Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Jun 21, 1984 @ New York Mets Loss 7 - 10
Fri, Jun 22, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 10
Fri, Jun 22, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 6 - 7 (13)
Sat, Jun 23, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jun 24, 1984 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 2
Mon, Jun 25, 1984 vs New York Mets Loss 5 - 10
Tue, Jun 26, 1984 vs New York Mets Win 3 - 0
Wed, Jun 27, 1984 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 1
Thu, Jun 28, 1984 vs Houston Astros Loss 6 - 7
Fri, Jun 29, 1984 vs Houston Astros Win 7 - 2
Sat, Jun 30, 1984 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 7
Sun, Jul 1, 1984 vs Houston Astros Loss 1 - 13
Mon, Jul 2, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 0
Tue, Jul 3, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 4, 1984 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Thu, Jul 5, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Win 1 - 0
Fri, Jul 6, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 5
Sat, Jul 7, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jul 8, 1984 vs Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 0
Thu, Jul 12, 1984 @ Houston Astros Win 5 - 3
Fri, Jul 13, 1984 @ Houston Astros Win 7 - 3
Sat, Jul 14, 1984 @ Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jul 15, 1984 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3 (16)
Mon, Jul 16, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Tue, Jul 17, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Wed, Jul 18, 1984 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 5
Thu, Jul 19, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 1
Fri, Jul 20, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 13
Sat, Jul 21, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Jul 22, 1984 @ Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 2
Mon, Jul 23, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jul 24, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Win 3 - 2
Wed, Jul 25, 1984 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 9
Fri, Jul 27, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jul 28, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 4
Sun, Jul 29, 1984 vs Montreal Expos Win 6 - 4
Mon, Jul 30, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Jul 31, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1 (12)
Wed, Aug 1, 1984 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Aug 2, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 3 - 2
Fri, Aug 3, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Aug 4, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Aug 5, 1984 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 3
Mon, Aug 6, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 1
Tue, Aug 7, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Win 6 - 2
Tue, Aug 7, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Aug 8, 1984 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 3
Thu, Aug 9, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 1 (13)
Fri, Aug 10, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3 (10)
Sat, Aug 11, 1984 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 1
Tue, Aug 14, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Aug 15, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Aug 16, 1984 @ San Diego Padres Win 8 - 3
Fri, Aug 17, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 1 - 2
Sat, Aug 18, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 5
Sun, Aug 19, 1984 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 6 - 3