1996 San Diego Padres

MLB » San Diego Padres » 1996

Season Overview

91-71 Lost NLDS
Record Outcome

1996 San Diego Padres

What was the record of the 1996 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a 91-71 record. They went 45-36 at home and 46-35 on the road. Including the postseason, the San Diego Padres went 91-74. Their final game was a loss in the NL Divisional Series to the St. Louis Cardinals.

What division did the 1996 San Diego Padres play in?

The 1996 San Diego Padres played in the West Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1996 San Diego Padres?

During the regular season, the 1996 San Diego Padres went 24-15 against their NL West opponents.

Who won the NL West in 1996?

The Padres won the NL West in the 1996 season with a 91-71 record. The Dodgers finished 1 game back with a 90-72 record. The Rockies finished 8 games back with a 83-79 record. The Giants finished 23 games back with a 68-94 record.

What was the 1996 San Diego Padres record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
San Francisco Giants 11-2 84.6% +37
Los Angeles Dodgers 8-5 61.5% -6
Colorado Rockies 5-8 38.5% 0

What was the 1996 San Diego Padres record by month?

The 1996 San Diego Padres had their best month in August, when they went 18-10 and had a 64.3% win percentage. Their worst month was June, when they went 9-19 and had a 32.1% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 17-10 63.0% +37
May 17-10 63.0% +42
June 9-19 32.1% -42
July 15-12 55.6% +15
August 18-10 64.3% +43
September 15-10 60% -6

Did the 1996 San Diego Padres make the Postseason?

Yes, the San Diego Padres made the Postseason in 1996. They lost their only series against the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL Divisional Series.

What was the run differential for the 1996 San Diego Padres?

The San Diego Padres finished the regular season with a run differential of +89. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Padres could have been expected to have about 90.1 wins, or a 90-72 record in the regular season.

How did the 1996 San Diego Padres perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1996 San Diego Padres went 36-28.

How did the 1996 San Diego Padres perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1996 San Diego Padres went 13-11 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1996 San Diego Padres?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1996 San Diego Padres was a 6 game winning streak on 2 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1996 San Diego Padres?

The longest losing streak that the San Diego Padres had during the 1996 regular season was 8 games, which happened once during the season.

1996 San Diego Padres Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 1, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5 (10)
Wed, Apr 3, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 5
Fri, Apr 5, 1996 @ Houston Astros Win 10 - 4
Sat, Apr 6, 1996 @ Houston Astros Win 8 - 4 (13)
Sun, Apr 7, 1996 @ Houston Astros Win 17 - 2
Mon, Apr 8, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Win 9 - 2
Tue, Apr 9, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 5 (10)
Wed, Apr 10, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Win 3 - 0
Thu, Apr 11, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1
Fri, Apr 12, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Apr 13, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 2
Sun, Apr 14, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 4
Mon, Apr 15, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 9 - 11
Tue, Apr 16, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Win 10 - 6
Wed, Apr 17, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Win 11 - 6
Fri, Apr 19, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 7
Sat, Apr 20, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Apr 21, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1 (15)
Mon, Apr 22, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Win 5 - 3
Tue, Apr 23, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Win 7 - 2
Wed, Apr 24, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 4
Thu, Apr 25, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 3
Fri, Apr 26, 1996 vs Houston Astros Win 3 - 2
Sat, Apr 27, 1996 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Apr 28, 1996 vs Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Apr 29, 1996 vs Houston Astros Win 2 - 0
Tue, Apr 30, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 9
Wed, May 1, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Win 9 - 4
Fri, May 3, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 4, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 3 - 4
Sun, May 5, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 4
Wed, May 8, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 5 - 4
Wed, May 8, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 9, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 1
Fri, May 10, 1996 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 6 - 8
Sat, May 11, 1996 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 0 - 1
Sun, May 12, 1996 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 0
Mon, May 13, 1996 vs New York Mets Win 5 - 2
Tue, May 14, 1996 vs New York Mets Win 9 - 4
Wed, May 15, 1996 vs New York Mets Win 4 - 3 (10)
Thu, May 16, 1996 vs New York Mets Loss 3 - 6
Fri, May 17, 1996 vs Montreal Expos Win 2 - 1 (12)
Sat, May 18, 1996 vs Montreal Expos Loss 2 - 3
Sun, May 19, 1996 vs Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 21, 1996 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 4 - 5
Wed, May 22, 1996 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 2
Thu, May 23, 1996 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 5
Fri, May 24, 1996 @ New York Mets Win 13 - 1
Sat, May 25, 1996 @ New York Mets Win 7 - 2
Sun, May 26, 1996 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 1
Mon, May 27, 1996 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 28, 1996 @ Montreal Expos Win 3 - 2 (10)
Wed, May 29, 1996 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 9
Fri, May 31, 1996 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jun 1, 1996 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jun 2, 1996 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 8 - 9 (12)
Mon, Jun 3, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 4, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 5 - 11
Wed, Jun 5, 1996 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 4
Fri, Jun 7, 1996 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 10
Sat, Jun 8, 1996 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 8 - 9 (14)
Sun, Jun 9, 1996 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 0 - 6
Mon, Jun 10, 1996 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jun 11, 1996 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 1 - 4
Wed, Jun 12, 1996 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 4 - 9
Thu, Jun 13, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 6 (14)
Fri, Jun 14, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jun 15, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jun 16, 1996 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 8
Mon, Jun 17, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 9
Tue, Jun 18, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 19, 1996 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Jun 20, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Jun 21, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Win 2 - 1 (10)
Sat, Jun 22, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 6 - 9 (16)
Sun, Jun 23, 1996 vs Chicago Cubs Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 25, 1996 vs Houston Astros Loss 4 - 9
Wed, Jun 26, 1996 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Jun 27, 1996 @ San Francisco Giants Win 11 - 1
Fri, Jun 28, 1996 @ San Francisco Giants Win 6 - 1
Sat, Jun 29, 1996 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 6
Sun, Jun 30, 1996 @ San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 4
Mon, Jul 1, 1996 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 10
Tue, Jul 2, 1996 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 7
Wed, Jul 3, 1996 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 2
Thu, Jul 4, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Win 8 - 4
Fri, Jul 5, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 6 (11)
Sat, Jul 6, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Win 7 - 3
Sun, Jul 7, 1996 vs San Francisco Giants Win 10 - 3
Thu, Jul 11, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 5 - 8 (10)
Fri, Jul 12, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 12 - 13
Sat, Jul 13, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 6 - 11
Sun, Jul 14, 1996 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 4 - 8
Mon, Jul 15, 1996 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 0 - 1 (10)
Tue, Jul 16, 1996 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 10 - 1
Wed, Jul 17, 1996 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 4
Thu, Jul 18, 1996 vs Colorado Rockies Win 9 - 2
Fri, Jul 19, 1996 vs Colorado Rockies Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jul 20, 1996 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 4 - 5
Sun, Jul 21, 1996 vs Colorado Rockies Win 2 - 0
Mon, Jul 22, 1996 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 1
Tue, Jul 23, 1996 @ Houston Astros Win 7 - 4
Wed, Jul 24, 1996 @ Houston Astros Loss 4 - 6 (10)
Fri, Jul 26, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Win 3 - 0 (11)
Sat, Jul 27, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Win 20 - 12
Sun, Jul 28, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 8
Mon, Jul 29, 1996 @ Florida Marlins Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jul 30, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jul 31, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Aug 1, 1996 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 2 - 3
Fri, Aug 2, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Win 2 - 1
Sat, Aug 3, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Aug 4, 1996 vs Florida Marlins Win 6 - 4
Mon, Aug 5, 1996 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 8
Tue, Aug 6, 1996 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 1 - 0
Wed, Aug 7, 1996 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 0 - 1
Thu, Aug 8, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 12 - 3
Fri, Aug 9, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 4 - 1
Sat, Aug 10, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 6 - 2
Sun, Aug 11, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 5