1971-1972 Detroit Pistons

National Basketball Association » Detroit Pistons » 1972

Season Overview

26-56 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1971-72 Detroit Pistons

What was the record of the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons?

The Detroit Pistons finished the regular season with a 26-56 record. They went 17-25 at home and 9-31 on the road.

What division did the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons play in?

The 1971-72 Detroit Pistons played in the Midwest Division of the Western Conference.

What was the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons record by month?

The 1971-72 Detroit Pistons had their best month in October, when they went 6-4 and had a 60% win percentage. Their worst month was March, when they went 3-10 and had a 23.1% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Point Differential
October '71 6-4 60% -18
November '71 3-9 25% -126
December '71 5-11 31.2% -127
January '72 4-11 26.7% -124
February '72 5-11 31.2% -61
March '72 3-10 23.1% -105

Did the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons make the Playoffs?

No, the Pistons didn't make the Playoffs in 1972.

What was the point differential for the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons?

The Detroit Pistons finished the regular season with a point differential of -561. Based on their point differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Pistons could have been expected to have about 24.6 wins, or a 25-57 record in the regular season.

How did the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons perform in one-possession games?

In close, one-possession games, or games that went to overtime, the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons went 8-9.

How did the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons perform in overtime games?

During the regular season, the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons went 2-3 in overtime games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons was a 3 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1971-72 Detroit Pistons?

The longest losing streak that the Detroit Pistons had during the 1971-72 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1971-72 Detroit Pistons Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Oct 12, 1971 @ New York Knicks Win 91 - 84
Fri, Oct 15, 1971 vs Los Angeles Lakers Loss 103 - 132
Sun, Oct 17, 1971 vs Houston Rockets Win 112 - 99
Tue, Oct 19, 1971 @ Portland Trail Blazers Win 101 - 99
Fri, Oct 22, 1971 @ Phoenix Suns Win 116 - 109
Sat, Oct 23, 1971 @ Golden State Warriors Loss 109 - 115 OT
Tue, Oct 26, 1971 vs Houston Rockets Loss 103 - 104
Wed, Oct 27, 1971 @ Baltimore Bullets Loss 98 - 128
Fri, Oct 29, 1971 vs Baltimore Bullets Win 119 - 105
Sat, Oct 30, 1971 @ Atlanta Hawks Win 104 - 99
Fri, Nov 5, 1971 @ Boston Celtics Loss 102 - 103
Sat, Nov 6, 1971 @ Milwaukee Bucks Loss 78 - 106
Wed, Nov 10, 1971 vs Portland Trail Blazers Win 139 - 122
Fri, Nov 12, 1971 @ Philadelphia 76ers Loss 101 - 115
Sat, Nov 13, 1971 @ New York Knicks Loss 105 - 127
Tue, Nov 16, 1971 vs Golden State Warriors Loss 101 - 122
Thu, Nov 18, 1971 vs Phoenix Suns Win 128 - 126
Sat, Nov 20, 1971 @ Buffalo Braves Win 105 - 96
Tue, Nov 23, 1971 vs Milwaukee Bucks Loss 104 - 112
Thu, Nov 25, 1971 @ Phoenix Suns Loss 103 - 122
Fri, Nov 26, 1971 @ Los Angeles Lakers Loss 113 - 132
Sat, Nov 27, 1971 @ Seattle SuperSonics Loss 102 - 124
Wed, Dec 1, 1971 vs Atlanta Hawks Loss 103 - 117
Fri, Dec 3, 1971 vs Houston Rockets Win 113 - 112
Tue, Dec 7, 1971 vs Portland Trail Blazers Loss 130 - 131 OT
Thu, Dec 9, 1971 vs Chicago Bulls Win 110 - 107
Fri, Dec 10, 1971 @ Cleveland Cavaliers Loss 111 - 112
Sat, Dec 11, 1971 vs Philadelphia 76ers Loss 111 - 118
Tue, Dec 14, 1971 vs Seattle SuperSonics Loss 86 - 103
Thu, Dec 16, 1971 vs Cincinnati Royals Win 107 - 101
Fri, Dec 17, 1971 @ Phoenix Suns Loss 102 - 123
Sat, Dec 18, 1971 @ Golden State Warriors Loss 102 - 129
Sun, Dec 19, 1971 @ Portland Trail Blazers Loss 113 - 114
Tue, Dec 21, 1971 @ Chicago Bulls Loss 92 - 127
Wed, Dec 22, 1971 vs Cleveland Cavaliers Win 104 - 94
Sat, Dec 25, 1971 vs Milwaukee Bucks Win 120 - 118 OT
Tue, Dec 28, 1971 vs New York Knicks Loss 100 - 119
Thu, Dec 30, 1971 vs Golden State Warriors Loss 122 - 128
Sun, Jan 2, 1972 @ Houston Rockets Win 109 - 107
Tue, Jan 4, 1972 vs Philadelphia 76ers Loss 127 - 131
Wed, Jan 5, 1972 @ Baltimore Bullets Loss 89 - 111
Fri, Jan 7, 1972 vs Cincinnati Royals Win 151 - 132
Sat, Jan 8, 1972 @ Milwaukee Bucks Loss 119 - 136
Sun, Jan 9, 1972 vs Buffalo Braves Win 101 - 96
Tue, Jan 11, 1972 vs Los Angeles Lakers Loss 103 - 123
Fri, Jan 14, 1972 @ Boston Celtics Loss 94 - 108
Sat, Jan 15, 1972 vs Philadelphia 76ers Loss 121 - 131
Fri, Jan 21, 1972 vs Baltimore Bullets Win 107 - 102
Sun, Jan 23, 1972 vs Houston Rockets Loss 107 - 109
Wed, Jan 26, 1972 vs Milwaukee Bucks Loss 94 - 120
Fri, Jan 28, 1972 @ Atlanta Hawks Loss 106 - 124
Sat, Jan 29, 1972 vs Boston Celtics Loss 112 - 124
Sun, Jan 30, 1972 @ Chicago Bulls Loss 99 - 109
Tue, Feb 1, 1972 @ New York Knicks Loss 106 - 115
Wed, Feb 2, 1972 vs Cleveland Cavaliers Win 133 - 108
Fri, Feb 4, 1972 @ Philadelphia 76ers Win 118 - 113
Sat, Feb 5, 1972 @ Cincinnati Royals Loss 132 - 133 OT
Wed, Feb 9, 1972 vs New York Knicks Loss 102 - 126
Fri, Feb 11, 1972 @ Buffalo Braves Loss 88 - 95
Sat, Feb 12, 1972 vs Buffalo Braves Win 113 - 87
Sun, Feb 13, 1972 @ Cleveland Cavaliers Win 136 - 121
Tue, Feb 15, 1972 vs Atlanta Hawks Loss 105 - 113
Fri, Feb 18, 1972 vs Chicago Bulls Loss 97 - 122
Sun, Feb 20, 1972 vs Phoenix Suns Loss 107 - 121
Tue, Feb 22, 1972 @ Los Angeles Lakers Win 135 - 134 OT
Wed, Feb 23, 1972 @ Seattle SuperSonics Loss 96 - 97
Thu, Feb 24, 1972 @ Golden State Warriors Loss 106 - 116
Sat, Feb 26, 1972 @ Houston Rockets Loss 106 - 122
Tue, Feb 29, 1972 @ Milwaukee Bucks Loss 113 - 131
Wed, Mar 1, 1972 vs Seattle SuperSonics Loss 102 - 116
Fri, Mar 3, 1972 vs Boston Celtics Loss 96 - 125
Tue, Mar 7, 1972 vs Phoenix Suns Loss 121 - 129
Sun, Mar 12, 1972 @ Baltimore Bullets Loss 97 - 102
Tue, Mar 14, 1972 vs Los Angeles Lakers Loss 116 - 129
Fri, Mar 17, 1972 vs Atlanta Hawks Win 121 - 112
Sat, Mar 18, 1972 @ Buffalo Braves Loss 103 - 116
Sun, Mar 19, 1972 vs Chicago Bulls Loss 107 - 115
Tue, Mar 21, 1972 vs Cincinnati Royals Win 120 - 117
Wed, Mar 22, 1972 @ Cincinnati Royals Loss 130 - 135
Fri, Mar 24, 1972 vs Buffalo Braves Win 112 - 105
Sat, Mar 25, 1972 @ Chicago Bulls Loss 105 - 121
Sun, Mar 26, 1972 @ Boston Celtics Loss 120 - 133

©© 2024 ChampsOrChumps.us • TermsPrivacy Policy