1996-1997 Buffalo Sabres

National Hockey League » Buffalo Sabres » 1997

Season Overview

40-30-12 Lost Conf Semi
Record Outcome

1996-97 Buffalo Sabres

What was the record of the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres?

The Buffalo Sabres finished the regular season with a 40-30-12 record. They went 24-11-6 at home and 16-19-6 on the road. Including the playoffs, the Buffalo Sabres went 45-37-12. Their final game was a loss in the Conference Semi-Finals to the Philadelphia Flyers.

What division did the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres play in?

The 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres played in the Northeast Division of the Eastern Conference.

What was the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres record by month?

The 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres had their best month in February, when they went 5-1-5 and had a 68.2% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 2-4-1 and had a 35.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Goal Differential
October '96 5-6 45.5% -4
November '96 8-5-1 60.7% +6
December '96 7-4-2 61.5% +9
January '97 7-4-2 61.5% +4
February '97 5-1-5 68.2% +11
March '97 6-6-1 50% +5
April '97 2-4-1 35.7% -2

Did the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres make the Playoffs?

Yes, the Buffalo Sabres made the Playoffs in 1997. They won their first series against the Ottawa Senators in the First Round. They eventually lost against the Philadelphia Flyers in the Conference Semi-Finals.

How did the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres perform in overtime games?

During the regular season, the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres went 5-4 in overtime games.

How did the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres perform in overtime games in the playoffs?

In the playoffs, the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres went 2-1 in overtime games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres was a 4 game winning streak on 3 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1996-97 Buffalo Sabres?

The longest losing streak that the Buffalo Sabres had during the 1996-97 regular season was 4 games, which happened once during the season.

1996-97 Buffalo Sabres Schedule

= Playoff Team

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Fri, Oct 4, 1996 @ Edmonton Oilers Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Oct 6, 1996 @ Calgary Flames Loss 0 - 3
Wed, Oct 9, 1996 @ Vancouver Canucks Win 2 - 1
Sat, Oct 12, 1996 vs Detroit Red Wings Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Oct 15, 1996 vs Tampa Bay Lightning Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Oct 17, 1996 vs Pittsburgh Penguins Win 4 - 1
Fri, Oct 18, 1996 @ Washington Capitals Win 4 - 1
Thu, Oct 24, 1996 vs Montreal Canadiens Win 6 - 3
Sat, Oct 26, 1996 vs Hartford Whalers Win 6 - 3
Sun, Oct 27, 1996 @ New York Rangers Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Oct 30, 1996 @ Dallas Stars Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Nov 1, 1996 @ St. Louis Blues Win 4 - 2
Sat, Nov 2, 1996 @ Colorado Avalanche Tie 0 - 0 OT
Thu, Nov 7, 1996 vs Philadelphia Flyers Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Nov 9, 1996 @ Hartford Whalers Loss 3 - 4 OT
Mon, Nov 11, 1996 vs Florida Panthers Win 3 - 2 OT
Tue, Nov 12, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Penguins Loss 0 - 3
Thu, Nov 14, 1996 vs Colorado Avalanche Win 5 - 4
Tue, Nov 19, 1996 @ Toronto Maple Leafs Loss 3 - 4
Thu, Nov 21, 1996 vs Toronto Maple Leafs Win 6 - 3
Sat, Nov 23, 1996 @ Boston Bruins Win 3 - 2 OT
Tue, Nov 26, 1996 @ Florida Panthers Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Nov 27, 1996 @ Tampa Bay Lightning Win 3 - 0
Fri, Nov 29, 1996 vs Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 0
Sat, Nov 30, 1996 @ New York Islanders Win 3 - 2
Wed, Dec 4, 1996 vs Vancouver Canucks Loss 6 - 7 OT
Fri, Dec 6, 1996 vs Mighty Ducks of Anaheim Tie 1 - 1 OT
Sat, Dec 7, 1996 @ Hartford Whalers Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Dec 11, 1996 @ Montreal Canadiens Win 3 - 2 OT
Fri, Dec 13, 1996 vs New York Rangers Loss 0 - 3
Sat, Dec 14, 1996 @ Boston Bruins Win 4 - 0
Wed, Dec 18, 1996 vs Tampa Bay Lightning Win 5 - 3
Fri, Dec 20, 1996 vs Los Angeles Kings Win 6 - 2
Sat, Dec 21, 1996 @ Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 2
Mon, Dec 23, 1996 @ New Jersey Devils Tie 0 - 0 OT
Thu, Dec 26, 1996 vs Hartford Whalers Win 5 - 1
Sat, Dec 28, 1996 @ Pittsburgh Penguins Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Dec 31, 1996 vs New Jersey Devils Win 6 - 5
Fri, Jan 3, 1997 vs St. Louis Blues Tie 2 - 2 OT
Sun, Jan 5, 1997 vs Phoenix Coyotes Win 5 - 1
Tue, Jan 7, 1997 @ San Jose Sharks Tie 1 - 1 OT
Thu, Jan 9, 1997 @ Los Angeles Kings Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jan 10, 1997 @ Mighty Ducks of Anaheim Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jan 12, 1997 @ Phoenix Coyotes Win 3 - 2 OT
Wed, Jan 15, 1997 @ New York Islanders Win 2 - 1
Mon, Jan 20, 1997 vs Chicago Blackhawks Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jan 22, 1997 vs Montreal Canadiens Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jan 24, 1997 vs Edmonton Oilers Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Jan 25, 1997 vs Hartford Whalers Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jan 29, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Penguins Win 3 - 1
Fri, Jan 31, 1997 vs Dallas Stars Win 3 - 1
Sun, Feb 2, 1997 vs Washington Capitals Tie 2 - 2 OT
Tue, Feb 4, 1997 @ Philadelphia Flyers Tie 1 - 1 OT
Thu, Feb 6, 1997 vs Florida Panthers Tie 1 - 1 OT
Sat, Feb 8, 1997 @ Tampa Bay Lightning Win 3 - 1
Sun, Feb 9, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Win 2 - 1
Wed, Feb 12, 1997 vs Montreal Canadiens Tie 2 - 2 OT
Sun, Feb 16, 1997 vs San Jose Sharks Win 6 - 2
Tue, Feb 18, 1997 vs Calgary Flames Tie 5 - 5 OT
Fri, Feb 21, 1997 vs New York Islanders Win 5 - 2
Sun, Feb 23, 1997 vs Boston Bruins Win 5 - 1
Thu, Feb 27, 1997 @ New Jersey Devils Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Mar 1, 1997 @ Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 1
Wed, Mar 5, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Penguins Win 4 - 2
Sat, Mar 8, 1997 @ Montreal Canadiens Tie 3 - 3 OT
Sun, Mar 9, 1997 vs New Jersey Devils Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Mar 11, 1997 vs Philadelphia Flyers Win 3 - 2 OT
Sat, Mar 15, 1997 @ Philadelphia Flyers Win 7 - 5
Mon, Mar 17, 1997 vs Boston Bruins Win 5 - 1
Tue, Mar 18, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Penguins Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Mar 21, 1997 @ Washington Capitals Win 4 - 1
Sat, Mar 22, 1997 @ Florida Panthers Loss 2 - 3
Wed, Mar 26, 1997 vs New York Islanders Loss 2 - 3 OT
Fri, Mar 28, 1997 @ Detroit Red Wings Loss 1 - 2 OT
Sun, Mar 30, 1997 @ Chicago Blackhawks Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 1, 1997 @ New York Rangers Tie 1 - 1 OT
Wed, Apr 2, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Loss 0 - 2
Fri, Apr 4, 1997 vs New York Rangers Win 5 - 1
Mon, Apr 7, 1997 @ Hartford Whalers Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Apr 10, 1997 @ Boston Bruins Win 5 - 1
Sat, Apr 12, 1997 @ Ottawa Senators Loss 0 - 1
Sun, Apr 13, 1997 vs Washington Capitals Loss 3 - 8
Playoffs
First Round (Won 4 - 3)
Thu, Apr 17, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 1
Sat, Apr 19, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Loss 1 - 3
Mon, Apr 21, 1997 @ Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 2
Wed, Apr 23, 1997 @ Ottawa Senators Loss 0 - 1 OT
Fri, Apr 25, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Loss 1 - 4
Sun, Apr 27, 1997 @ Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 0
Tue, Apr 29, 1997 vs Ottawa Senators Win 3 - 2 OT
Conference Semi-Finals (Lost 1 - 4)
Sat, May 3, 1997 vs Philadelphia Flyers Loss 3 - 5
Mon, May 5, 1997 vs Philadelphia Flyers Loss 1 - 2
Wed, May 7, 1997 @ Philadelphia Flyers Loss 1 - 4
Fri, May 9, 1997 @ Philadelphia Flyers Win 5 - 4 OT
Sun, May 11, 1997 vs Philadelphia Flyers Loss 3 - 6

©© 2024 ChampsOrChumps.us • TermsPrivacy Policy