1998 Detroit Tigers

Major League Baseball » Detroit Tigers » 1998

Season Overview

65-97 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1998 Detroit Tigers

What was the record of the 1998 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a 65-97 record. They went 32-49 at home and 33-48 on the road.

What division did the 1998 Detroit Tigers play in?

The 1998 Detroit Tigers played in the Central Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1998 Detroit Tigers?

During the regular season, the 1998 Detroit Tigers went 23-25 against their AL Central opponents.

What was the 1998 Detroit Tigers record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Minnesota Twins 8-4 66.7% +2
Kansas City Royals 6-6 50% +13
Chicago White Sox 6-6 50% -6
Cleveland Indians 3-9 25% -20

What was the 1998 Detroit Tigers record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 1998 Detroit Tigers had their best month in May, when they went 15-12 and had a 55.6% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 5-18 and had a 21.7% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
March 1-0 100% +5
April 5-18 21.7% -65
May 15-12 55.6% +21
June 10-18 35.7% -21
July 13-15 46.4% -28
August 8-22 26.7% -58
September 13-12 52% +5

Did the 1998 Detroit Tigers make the Postseason?

No, the Tigers didn't make the Postseason in 1998.

What was the run differential for the 1998 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a run differential of -141. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Tigers could have been expected to have about 67.9 wins, or a 68-94 record in the regular season.

How did the 1998 Detroit Tigers perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1998 Detroit Tigers went 21-24.

How did the 1998 Detroit Tigers perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1998 Detroit Tigers went 7-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1998 Detroit Tigers?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1998 Detroit Tigers was a 4 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1998 Detroit Tigers?

The longest losing streak that the Detroit Tigers had during the 1998 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

1998 Detroit Tigers Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Mar 31, 1998 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 11 - 6
Wed, Apr 1, 1998 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Loss 8 - 11
Thu, Apr 2, 1998 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Loss 1 - 7
Fri, Apr 3, 1998 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 10
Sat, Apr 4, 1998 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 5, 1998 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Apr 7, 1998 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 3 - 1
Fri, Apr 10, 1998 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 1
Sat, Apr 11, 1998 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Apr 12, 1998 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 6
Mon, Apr 13, 1998 @ Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 10
Tue, Apr 14, 1998 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 11
Wed, Apr 15, 1998 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Apr 17, 1998 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 11
Sat, Apr 18, 1998 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Apr 19, 1998 vs New York Yankees Win 2 - 1
Tue, Apr 21, 1998 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 11
Wed, Apr 22, 1998 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 8
Fri, Apr 24, 1998 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 8
Sat, Apr 25, 1998 @ New York Yankees Loss 4 - 5
Mon, Apr 27, 1998 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 6
Tue, Apr 28, 1998 @ Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 5
Wed, Apr 29, 1998 vs Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Apr 30, 1998 vs Texas Rangers Win 7 - 2
Fri, May 1, 1998 @ Seattle Mariners Win 17 - 3
Sat, May 2, 1998 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 0 - 4
Sun, May 3, 1998 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 6 - 10
Wed, May 6, 1998 @ Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 5
Thu, May 7, 1998 @ Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 3
Fri, May 8, 1998 @ Anaheim Angels Loss 3 - 5
Sat, May 9, 1998 @ Anaheim Angels Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 10, 1998 @ Anaheim Angels Loss 2 - 4
Tue, May 12, 1998 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 4
Wed, May 13, 1998 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 5
Thu, May 14, 1998 vs Oakland Athletics Win 8 - 3
Fri, May 15, 1998 vs Oakland Athletics Win 8 - 3
Sat, May 16, 1998 vs Anaheim Angels Loss 6 - 8
Sun, May 17, 1998 vs Anaheim Angels Win 4 - 3
Mon, May 18, 1998 vs Anaheim Angels Win 11 - 2
Tue, May 19, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 8
Wed, May 20, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Win 12 - 11
Thu, May 21, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3 (11)
Fri, May 22, 1998 @ Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 5
Sat, May 23, 1998 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 7
Sun, May 24, 1998 @ Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 4
Mon, May 25, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 7
Tue, May 26, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 9
Thu, May 28, 1998 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 7 - 11 (10)
Fri, May 29, 1998 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 7
Sat, May 30, 1998 vs Chicago White Sox Win 6 - 0
Sun, May 31, 1998 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 8
Mon, Jun 1, 1998 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jun 2, 1998 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 8
Wed, Jun 3, 1998 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 5
Thu, Jun 4, 1998 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 6 - 9
Fri, Jun 5, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 7
Sat, Jun 6, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 9 - 3
Sun, Jun 7, 1998 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 1
Mon, Jun 8, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 5 - 9
Tue, Jun 9, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Jun 10, 1998 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 10
Fri, Jun 12, 1998 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 7
Sat, Jun 13, 1998 @ Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 1
Sun, Jun 14, 1998 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 2
Mon, Jun 15, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jun 16, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 8
Wed, Jun 17, 1998 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 2
Thu, Jun 18, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 5
Fri, Jun 19, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 8
Sat, Jun 20, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 21, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Jun 22, 1998 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Jun 23, 1998 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 8 - 1
Wed, Jun 24, 1998 vs Chicago Cubs Win 7 - 6 (11)
Thu, Jun 25, 1998 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 4
Fri, Jun 26, 1998 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jun 27, 1998 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 6 (13)
Sun, Jun 28, 1998 vs Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Jun 30, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 0
Wed, Jul 1, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 9 - 1
Thu, Jul 2, 1998 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 2 - 5
Fri, Jul 3, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sat, Jul 4, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jul 5, 1998 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Jul 9, 1998 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 3
Fri, Jul 10, 1998 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 2 (10)
Sat, Jul 11, 1998 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jul 12, 1998 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 7
Mon, Jul 13, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 6 (10)
Tue, Jul 14, 1998 vs Kansas City Royals Win 8 - 3
Wed, Jul 15, 1998 vs New York Yankees Loss 0 - 11
Thu, Jul 16, 1998 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 1
Fri, Jul 17, 1998 vs Boston Red Sox Win 6 - 4
Sat, Jul 18, 1998 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 9
Sun, Jul 19, 1998 vs Boston Red Sox Win 3 - 1
Mon, Jul 20, 1998 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 3 (17)
Mon, Jul 20, 1998 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4
Tue, Jul 21, 1998 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 5
Wed, Jul 22, 1998 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 13
Thu, Jul 23, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jul 24, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 2 (11)
Sat, Jul 25, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 5 - 6
Sun, Jul 26, 1998 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 1
Tue, Jul 28, 1998 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Jul 29, 1998 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 2 - 14