1997 New York Mets

Major League Baseball » New York Mets » 1997

Season Overview

88-74 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1997 New York Mets

What was the record of the 1997 New York Mets?

The New York Mets finished the regular season with a 88-74 record. They went 50-31 at home and 38-43 on the road.

What division did the 1997 New York Mets play in?

The 1997 New York Mets played in the East Division of the National League.

What was the division record of the 1997 New York Mets?

During the regular season, the 1997 New York Mets went 29-19 against their NL East opponents.

What was the 1997 New York Mets record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Florida Marlins 8-4 66.7% +13
Philadelphia Phillies 7-5 58.3% +25
Montreal Expos 7-5 58.3% -3
Atlanta Braves 7-5 58.3% -11

What was the 1997 New York Mets record by month?

The 1997 New York Mets had their best month in May, when they went 18-9 and had a 66.7% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 13-16 and had a 44.8% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 12-14 46.2% +19
May 18-9 66.7% +49
June 15-12 55.6% -25
July 15-11 57.7% +8
August 13-16 44.8% 0
September 15-12 55.6% +17

Did the 1997 New York Mets make the Postseason?

No, the Mets didn't make the Postseason in 1997.

What was the run differential for the 1997 New York Mets?

The New York Mets finished the regular season with a run differential of +68. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Mets could have been expected to have about 87.8 wins, or a 88-74 record in the regular season.

How did the 1997 New York Mets perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1997 New York Mets went 26-27.

How did the 1997 New York Mets perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1997 New York Mets went 11-7 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1997 New York Mets?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1997 New York Mets was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1997 New York Mets?

The longest losing streak that the New York Mets had during the 1997 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1997 New York Mets Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 1, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Loss 5 - 12
Wed, Apr 2, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Loss 5 - 6 (12)
Thu, Apr 3, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Win 4 - 1
Fri, Apr 4, 1997 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Apr 5, 1997 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Apr 6, 1997 @ San Francisco Giants Win 4 - 2
Mon, Apr 7, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3 (15)
Tue, Apr 8, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 3
Wed, Apr 9, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 3 (14)
Sun, Apr 13, 1997 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 1 - 5
Sun, Apr 13, 1997 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 6 - 7
Mon, Apr 14, 1997 vs San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 3
Tue, Apr 15, 1997 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Win 5 - 0
Wed, Apr 16, 1997 vs Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Apr 19, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Win 6 - 3
Sun, Apr 20, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Win 8 - 2
Sun, Apr 20, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 3 - 4
Mon, Apr 21, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 6
Tue, Apr 22, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 7 - 2
Wed, Apr 23, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 2
Fri, Apr 25, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 4
Sat, Apr 26, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Loss 1 - 8
Sun, Apr 27, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Win 5 - 3 (10)
Mon, Apr 28, 1997 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 15 - 2
Tue, Apr 29, 1997 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 3 - 1
Wed, Apr 30, 1997 vs San Diego Padres Win 6 - 2
Thu, May 1, 1997 vs San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 7
Fri, May 2, 1997 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 7 - 4
Sat, May 3, 1997 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 1
Sun, May 4, 1997 vs St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 8
Mon, May 5, 1997 @ Colorado Rockies Win 6 - 1
Tue, May 6, 1997 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 11 - 12
Wed, May 7, 1997 @ Houston Astros Win 4 - 1
Thu, May 8, 1997 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 4
Fri, May 9, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 10 - 3
Sat, May 10, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 2 - 0
Sun, May 11, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 4
Tue, May 13, 1997 vs Houston Astros Win 4 - 3
Wed, May 14, 1997 vs Houston Astros Loss 0 - 1
Fri, May 16, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 1 - 2
Sat, May 17, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Win 3 - 1
Sun, May 18, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Win 10 - 4
Mon, May 19, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 20, 1997 @ Florida Marlins Loss 5 - 6
Wed, May 21, 1997 @ Florida Marlins Win 2 - 1
Thu, May 22, 1997 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 10 - 3
Fri, May 23, 1997 @ Philadelphia Phillies Loss 1 - 2
Sat, May 24, 1997 @ Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 4
Mon, May 26, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Win 4 - 3
Tue, May 27, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Loss 4 - 5
Wed, May 28, 1997 @ Montreal Expos Win 7 - 0
Fri, May 30, 1997 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 7 - 3
Sat, May 31, 1997 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 10 - 3
Sun, Jun 1, 1997 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 8 - 5
Mon, Jun 2, 1997 vs Montreal Expos Loss 0 - 10
Tue, Jun 3, 1997 vs Montreal Expos Win 2 - 1
Wed, Jun 4, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 5
Thu, Jun 5, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Win 6 - 0
Fri, Jun 6, 1997 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 2 - 5
Sat, Jun 7, 1997 @ Cincinnati Reds Loss 5 - 10
Mon, Jun 9, 1997 @ Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 2
Tue, Jun 10, 1997 @ Chicago Cubs Win 10 - 6
Wed, Jun 11, 1997 @ Chicago Cubs Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jun 13, 1997 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 8
Sat, Jun 14, 1997 vs Boston Red Sox Win 5 - 2
Sun, Jun 15, 1997 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 10
Mon, Jun 16, 1997 @ New York Yankees Win 6 - 0
Tue, Jun 17, 1997 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Jun 18, 1997 @ New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Thu, Jun 19, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 7 - 6
Fri, Jun 20, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 1 - 0
Sat, Jun 21, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 3 - 2
Sun, Jun 22, 1997 vs Pittsburgh Pirates Win 12 - 9 (10)
Mon, Jun 23, 1997 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jun 24, 1997 vs Atlanta Braves Win 6 - 5
Wed, Jun 25, 1997 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 7 - 14
Fri, Jun 27, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Jun 28, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 8 - 3
Sun, Jun 29, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Win 10 - 8
Mon, Jun 30, 1997 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 0 - 14
Tue, Jul 1, 1997 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Jul 2, 1997 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 9
Thu, Jul 3, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Loss 4 - 10
Fri, Jul 4, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Win 6 - 2
Sat, Jul 5, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jul 6, 1997 vs Florida Marlins Win 3 - 2 (12)
Thu, Jul 10, 1997 @ Atlanta Braves Win 10 - 7
Fri, Jul 11, 1997 @ Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 7
Sat, Jul 12, 1997 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 4 - 7
Sun, Jul 13, 1997 @ Atlanta Braves Win 7 - 6 (10)
Mon, Jul 14, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 4 - 5
Tue, Jul 15, 1997 @ Pittsburgh Pirates Loss 3 - 4
Wed, Jul 16, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Loss 5 - 6
Thu, Jul 17, 1997 vs Chicago Cubs Win 4 - 3 (10)
Fri, Jul 18, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jul 19, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 3
Sun, Jul 20, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 10 - 1
Mon, Jul 21, 1997 vs Cincinnati Reds Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jul 22, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Loss 3 - 8
Wed, Jul 23, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jul 24, 1997 @ Los Angeles Dodgers Win 3 - 1
Fri, Jul 25, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jul 26, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 5
Sun, Jul 27, 1997 @ San Diego Padres Loss 3 - 5
Tue, Jul 29, 1997 @ San Francisco Giants Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Jul 30, 1997 @ San Francisco Giants Win 5 - 2
Fri, Aug 1, 1997 @ Houston Astros Win 8 - 5 (10)
Sat, Aug 2, 1997 @ Houston Astros Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Aug 3, 1997 @ Houston Astros Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Aug 4, 1997 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 4 - 2
Tue, Aug 5, 1997 vs St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4 (10)
Wed, Aug 6, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Loss 0 - 4
Thu, Aug 7, 1997 vs Colorado Rockies Win 12 - 4
Fri, Aug 8, 1997 vs Houston Astros Win 6 - 1
Sat, Aug 9, 1997 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 8
Sun, Aug 10, 1997 vs Houston Astros Loss 8 - 11
Mon, Aug 11, 1997 vs Houston Astros Loss 3 - 8
Tue, Aug 12, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Aug 13, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 5 - 4 (10)
Thu, Aug 14, 1997 @ St. Louis Cardinals Win 6 - 2
Fri, Aug 15, 1997 @ Colorado Rockies Loss 2 - 6