1996 Detroit Tigers

MLB » Detroit Tigers » 1996

Season Overview

53-109 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1996 Detroit Tigers

What was the record of the 1996 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a 53-109 record. They went 27-54 at home and 26-55 on the road.

What division did the 1996 Detroit Tigers play in?

The 1996 Detroit Tigers played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1996 Detroit Tigers?

During the regular season, the 1996 Detroit Tigers went 14-38 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 1996 Detroit Tigers record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Toronto Blue Jays 6-7 46.2% -10
New York Yankees 5-8 38.5% -33
Baltimore Orioles 2-11 15.4% -37
Boston Red Sox 1-12 7.7% -58

What was the 1996 Detroit Tigers record by month?

The 1996 Detroit Tigers had their best month in August, when they went 14-15 and had a 48.3% win percentage. Their worst month was May, when they went 4-23 and had a 14.8% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 9-18 33.3% -59
May 4-23 14.8% -110
June 10-17 37.0% -41
July 12-14 46.2% -22
August 14-15 48.3% -22
September 4-22 15.4% -66

Did the 1996 Detroit Tigers make the Postseason?

No, the Tigers didn't make the Postseason in 1996.

What was the run differential for the 1996 Detroit Tigers?

The Detroit Tigers finished the regular season with a run differential of -320. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Tigers could have been expected to have about 56.4 wins, or a 56-106 record in the regular season.

How did the 1996 Detroit Tigers perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1996 Detroit Tigers went 13-25.

How did the 1996 Detroit Tigers perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1996 Detroit Tigers went 4-9 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1996 Detroit Tigers?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1996 Detroit Tigers was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1996 Detroit Tigers?

The longest losing streak that the Detroit Tigers had during the 1996 regular season was 12 games, which occured 2 separate times.

1996 Detroit Tigers Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 1, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 8
Tue, Apr 2, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 6
Wed, Apr 3, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 7 - 16
Thu, Apr 4, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 9 (15)
Fri, Apr 5, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 13
Sat, Apr 6, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 1
Sun, Apr 7, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Tue, Apr 9, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 10 - 9
Wed, Apr 10, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 3
Thu, Apr 11, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 9
Fri, Apr 12, 1996 vs California Angels Loss 4 - 5
Sat, Apr 13, 1996 vs California Angels Win 9 - 5
Sun, Apr 14, 1996 vs California Angels Win 5 - 4
Mon, Apr 15, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 8
Tue, Apr 16, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 13 - 8
Wed, Apr 17, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 8
Thu, Apr 18, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 11
Fri, Apr 19, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Apr 20, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 21, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 5 - 6
Mon, Apr 22, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 5 - 6
Wed, Apr 24, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 11 - 24
Thu, Apr 25, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 11
Fri, Apr 26, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 14 - 5
Sat, Apr 27, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 4
Sun, Apr 28, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Apr 30, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 13
Wed, May 1, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 1 - 5
Thu, May 2, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 5 - 2
Fri, May 3, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 11
Sat, May 4, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 3
Sun, May 5, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 3
Mon, May 6, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 10
Tue, May 7, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 12
Wed, May 8, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 10
Thu, May 9, 1996 @ New York Yankees Win 4 - 2
Fri, May 10, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 6
Sat, May 11, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 7 - 11
Sun, May 12, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Win 5 - 3
Tue, May 14, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 5
Wed, May 15, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 5
Thu, May 16, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 8
Fri, May 17, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 11 (10)
Sat, May 18, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 16
Sun, May 19, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 14
Tue, May 21, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 1 - 7
Wed, May 22, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 6
Fri, May 24, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 6
Sat, May 25, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 6 - 7
Sun, May 26, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 5
Mon, May 27, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5 (13)
Wed, May 29, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 4
Thu, May 30, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 8
Fri, May 31, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 0 - 9
Sun, Jun 2, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Jun 2, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 13
Tue, Jun 4, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 7 - 10
Wed, Jun 5, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 6
Thu, Jun 6, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 6 - 13
Fri, Jun 7, 1996 vs New York Yankees Win 6 - 5
Sat, Jun 8, 1996 vs New York Yankees Win 9 - 7
Sun, Jun 9, 1996 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jun 10, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 3
Tue, Jun 11, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 9 - 12
Wed, Jun 12, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 7 - 10
Fri, Jun 14, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Sat, Jun 15, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 4
Sun, Jun 16, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 4
Mon, Jun 17, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 4 - 8 (10)
Tue, Jun 18, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 5 - 8
Wed, Jun 19, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 10
Thu, Jun 20, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 7
Fri, Jun 21, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 0
Sat, Jun 22, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 0
Sun, Jun 23, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 10 - 8
Mon, Jun 24, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 4
Tue, Jun 25, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 8
Thu, Jun 27, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 6
Fri, Jun 28, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 8
Sat, Jun 29, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 13
Sun, Jun 30, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 9
Mon, Jul 1, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jul 2, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 2 (11)
Wed, Jul 3, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 8 - 5
Thu, Jul 4, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 1
Fri, Jul 5, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jul 6, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 0 - 15
Sun, Jul 7, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 9 - 0
Thu, Jul 11, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 11
Fri, Jul 12, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 3 - 11
Sat, Jul 13, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 5 - 10
Sun, Jul 14, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Loss 4 - 6
Mon, Jul 15, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 10 - 9
Tue, Jul 16, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 7 - 20
Wed, Jul 17, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Thu, Jul 18, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 8
Fri, Jul 19, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 6
Sat, Jul 20, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4 (10)
Sun, Jul 21, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 5 (12)
Mon, Jul 22, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 1
Tue, Jul 23, 1996 @ California Angels Win 8 - 3
Thu, Jul 25, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Win 7 - 4 (10)
Fri, Jul 26, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 4 - 6
Sat, Jul 27, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 7 - 13
Sun, Jul 28, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Win 14 - 6
Tue, Jul 30, 1996 vs California Angels Win 12 - 9
Wed, Jul 31, 1996 vs California Angels Win 10 - 5
Thu, Aug 1, 1996 vs California Angels Win 13 - 5
Fri, Aug 2, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 8 - 2
Sat, Aug 3, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 3
Sun, Aug 4, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 9
Tue, Aug 6, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 4
Wed, Aug 7, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 4 - 2
Thu, Aug 8, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 3 - 2
Fri, Aug 9, 1996 @ New York Yankees Win 5 - 3
Sat, Aug 10, 1996 @ New York Yankees Win 13 - 7
Sun, Aug 11, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 12
Mon, Aug 12, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 0 - 7
Tue, Aug 13, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 6
Wed, Aug 14, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Aug 16, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 3 (12)
Sat, Aug 17, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 6