1996 Boston Red Sox

MLB » Boston Red Sox » 1996

Season Overview

85-77 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

1996 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 1996 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 85-77 record. They went 47-34 at home and 38-43 on the road.

What division did the 1996 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 1996 Boston Red Sox played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1996 Boston Red Sox?

During the regular season, the 1996 Boston Red Sox went 33-19 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 1996 Boston Red Sox record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Detroit Tigers 12-1 92.3% +58
Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 61.5% +5
New York Yankees 7-6 53.8% -1
Baltimore Orioles 6-7 46.2% +7

What was the 1996 Boston Red Sox record by month?

The 1996 Boston Red Sox had their best month in August, when they went 22-9 and had a 71.0% win percentage. Their worst month was April, when they went 7-19 and had a 26.9% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 7-19 26.9% -46
May 14-12 53.8% +22
June 13-14 48.1% -22
July 13-13 50% +15
August 22-9 71.0% +20
September 16-10 61.5% +18

Did the 1996 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 1996.

What was the run differential for the 1996 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of +7. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 81.6 wins, or a 82-80 record in the regular season.

How did the 1996 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1996 Boston Red Sox went 22-22.

How did the 1996 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1996 Boston Red Sox went 8-12 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1996 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1996 Boston Red Sox was a 6 game winning streak.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1996 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 1996 regular season was 7 games, which happened once during the season.

1996 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 1, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 5
Wed, Apr 3, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 7
Thu, Apr 4, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 13
Fri, Apr 5, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 5 (12)
Sat, Apr 6, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 7
Sun, Apr 7, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 1
Tue, Apr 9, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 1
Thu, Apr 11, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 5 - 6
Fri, Apr 12, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 3
Sat, Apr 13, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 14
Sun, Apr 14, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 6 - 7 (11)
Mon, Apr 15, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 8
Tue, Apr 16, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 6
Wed, Apr 17, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 5 - 6 (12)
Thu, Apr 18, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 7
Fri, Apr 19, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 9
Sat, Apr 20, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 2
Sun, Apr 21, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 7 - 11
Mon, Apr 22, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 4 - 1
Tue, Apr 23, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 8
Wed, Apr 24, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 11 - 9
Thu, Apr 25, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 8 - 3
Fri, Apr 26, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Apr 27, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 10
Sun, Apr 28, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 7 - 9
Tue, Apr 30, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 13 - 4
Wed, May 1, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 3, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 7
Sat, May 4, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 4
Sun, May 5, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 11
Tue, May 7, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 2
Thu, May 9, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 17
Fri, May 10, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 5 (11)
Sat, May 11, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 8 - 9 (11)
Sun, May 12, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 7 - 8 (10)
Tue, May 14, 1996 vs California Angels Win 4 - 3 (12)
Wed, May 15, 1996 vs California Angels Win 17 - 6
Fri, May 17, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 3 (11)
Sat, May 18, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sun, May 19, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 12 - 2
Mon, May 20, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 16 - 4
Tue, May 21, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 7 - 13
Wed, May 22, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 6
Thu, May 23, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 11 - 4
Fri, May 24, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 1 - 3
Sat, May 25, 1996 @ California Angels Win 10 - 3
Sun, May 26, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 2 - 12
Mon, May 27, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 10 - 3
Tue, May 28, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 2 - 6
Wed, May 29, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7 (10)
Thu, May 30, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Win 10 - 1
Fri, May 31, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 6 - 9
Sat, Jun 1, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Win 6 - 5
Sun, Jun 2, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 3
Tue, Jun 4, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 6
Wed, Jun 5, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 6 - 8 (12)
Thu, Jun 6, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 4
Fri, Jun 7, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 10 - 7
Sat, Jun 8, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Sun, Jun 9, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 8 - 11 (10)
Mon, Jun 10, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 8
Tue, Jun 11, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 2
Wed, Jun 12, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 2 (12)
Thu, Jun 13, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 8 - 7 (10)
Fri, Jun 14, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jun 15, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 3 - 13
Sun, Jun 16, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 10 - 9
Tue, Jun 18, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 7 - 9
Wed, Jun 19, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 11
Thu, Jun 20, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 4 - 5
Fri, Jun 21, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 4 - 14
Sat, Jun 22, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 8
Sun, Jun 23, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Win 6 - 4
Tue, Jun 25, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 0 - 4
Wed, Jun 26, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 4 (15)
Thu, Jun 27, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 6 - 9
Fri, Jun 28, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 5
Sat, Jun 29, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 13 - 6
Sun, Jun 30, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 9 - 4
Mon, Jul 1, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 0 - 2
Tue, Jul 2, 1996 @ New York Yankees Loss 5 - 7
Thu, Jul 4, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 6 - 8
Fri, Jul 5, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 3
Sat, Jul 6, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 4
Sun, Jul 7, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 5
Thu, Jul 11, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Win 11 - 4
Fri, Jul 12, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Win 11 - 3
Sat, Jul 13, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 5
Sun, Jul 14, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Win 6 - 4
Mon, Jul 15, 1996 vs New York Yankees Win 8 - 6
Tue, Jul 16, 1996 vs New York Yankees Loss 5 - 9
Wed, Jul 17, 1996 vs New York Yankees Win 12 - 11
Thu, Jul 18, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 3 - 6
Fri, Jul 19, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 13 - 2
Sat, Jul 20, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 21, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 6 - 10 (10)
Mon, Jul 22, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 5
Tue, Jul 23, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 5 - 7
Wed, Jul 24, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 12 - 2
Thu, Jul 25, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 16
Fri, Jul 26, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 5
Sat, Jul 27, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 5
Sun, Jul 28, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 8 - 9
Tue, Jul 30, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 7
Wed, Jul 31, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 3
Thu, Aug 1, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 9
Fri, Aug 2, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 11 - 10
Sat, Aug 3, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Sat, Aug 3, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 6
Sun, Aug 4, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 13 - 6
Mon, Aug 5, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 1
Tue, Aug 6, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 3 - 2
Wed, Aug 7, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 0
Thu, Aug 8, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 6 - 9
Fri, Aug 9, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 9 - 7
Fri, Aug 9, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 1
Sat, Aug 10, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 3 - 2
Sun, Aug 11, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 0
Mon, Aug 12, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 1 - 5
Tue, Aug 13, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 7 - 5
Wed, Aug 14, 1996 @ Toron