1996 New York Yankees

Major League Baseball » New York Yankees » 1996

Season Overview

92-70 Won WS
Record Outcome

1996 New York Yankees

What was the record of the 1996 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a 92-70 record. They went 49-31 at home and 43-39 on the road. Including the postseason, the New York Yankees went 103-74.

What division did the 1996 New York Yankees play in?

The 1996 New York Yankees played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 1996 New York Yankees?

During the regular season, the 1996 New York Yankees went 32-20 against their AL East opponents.

Who won the AL East in 1996?

The Yankees won the AL East in the 1996 season with a 92-70 record. The Orioles finished 4 games back with a 88-74 record. The Red Sox finished 7 games back with a 85-77 record. The Blue Jays finished 18 games back with a 74-88 record. The Tigers finished 39 games back with a 53-109 record.

What was the 1996 New York Yankees record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Baltimore Orioles 10-3 76.9% +13
Detroit Tigers 8-5 61.5% +33
Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 61.5% +15
Boston Red Sox 6-7 46.2% +1

What was the 1996 New York Yankees record by month?

The 1996 New York Yankees had their best month in June, when they went 18-11 and had a 62.1% win percentage. Their worst month was August, when they went 13-17 and had a 43.3% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 13-10 56.5% +11
May 16-11 59.3% +23
June 18-11 62.1% 0
July 16-10 61.5% +3
August 13-17 43.3% -8
September 16-11 59.3% +55

Did the 1996 New York Yankees Win The World Series?

Yes, the 1996 New York Yankees won the World Series in 1996. They beat the Atlanta Braves.

What was the run differential for the 1996 New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees finished the regular season with a run differential of +84. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Yankees could have been expected to have about 88.5 wins, or a 88-74 record in the regular season.

How did the 1996 New York Yankees perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 1996 New York Yankees went 26-18.

How did the 1996 New York Yankees perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 1996 New York Yankees went 4-6 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 1996 New York Yankees?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 1996 New York Yankees was a 5 game winning streak on 4 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 1996 New York Yankees?

The longest losing streak that the New York Yankees had during the 1996 regular season was 5 games, which happened once during the season.

1996 New York Yankees Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Tue, Apr 2, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 7 - 1
Wed, Apr 3, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 1
Sat, Apr 6, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 4
Sun, Apr 7, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 7
Sun, Apr 7, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 4
Tue, Apr 9, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 7 - 3
Thu, Apr 11, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 3
Fri, Apr 12, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 4 - 3
Sat, Apr 13, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 6 - 10
Sun, Apr 14, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 12 - 3
Tue, Apr 16, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 3 - 6
Wed, Apr 17, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 4 - 8
Fri, Apr 19, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 7
Sat, Apr 20, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 7 - 6
Sun, Apr 21, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 5
Mon, Apr 22, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 2
Tue, Apr 23, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 5
Wed, Apr 24, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Win 10 - 8
Thu, Apr 25, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Apr 26, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 4
Sat, Apr 27, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 6 - 8 (10)
Sun, Apr 28, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 3
Tue, Apr 30, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 13 - 10
Wed, May 1, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 11 - 6 (15)
Thu, May 2, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 5 - 1
Fri, May 3, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 2 - 0
Sat, May 4, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 11
Sun, May 5, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 1
Mon, May 6, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 5
Tue, May 7, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 12 - 5
Wed, May 8, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 10 - 3
Thu, May 9, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 2 - 4
Fri, May 10, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 5
Sat, May 11, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 5 - 7
Sun, May 12, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 8
Tue, May 14, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Win 2 - 0
Wed, May 15, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 10
Fri, May 17, 1996 vs California Angels Win 8 - 5
Sat, May 18, 1996 vs California Angels Win 7 - 3
Sun, May 19, 1996 vs California Angels Loss 1 - 10
Tue, May 21, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 7 - 3
Wed, May 22, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 1 - 5
Thu, May 23, 1996 vs Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 3
Fri, May 24, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 4 - 10
Sat, May 25, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Win 5 - 4
Sun, May 26, 1996 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 4
Mon, May 27, 1996 @ California Angels Win 16 - 5
Tue, May 28, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 1
Wed, May 29, 1996 @ California Angels Loss 0 - 4
Fri, May 31, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 4 - 1
Sat, Jun 1, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 6 - 3
Sun, Jun 2, 1996 @ Oakland Athletics Win 11 - 4
Tue, Jun 4, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jun 5, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 7 - 12
Thu, Jun 6, 1996 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 8 - 1
Fri, Jun 7, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Jun 8, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 9
Sun, Jun 9, 1996 @ Detroit Tigers Win 3 - 2
Mon, Jun 10, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 3
Tue, Jun 11, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jun 12, 1996 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 7
Thu, Jun 13, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 2 - 6
Fri, Jun 14, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Win 4 - 3
Sat, Jun 15, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Loss 3 - 10
Sun, Jun 16, 1996 vs Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 4
Mon, Jun 17, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 6
Tue, Jun 18, 1996 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 0
Fri, Jun 21, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 8 - 7 (10)
Fri, Jun 21, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 9 - 3
Sat, Jun 22, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 11 - 9
Sun, Jun 23, 1996 @ Cleveland Indians Win 6 - 5
Mon, Jun 24, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 0 - 3
Tue, Jun 25, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Jun 25, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 6 - 2
Wed, Jun 26, 1996 @ Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 1
Thu, Jun 27, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Fri, Jun 28, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 7
Sat, Jun 29, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 3
Sun, Jun 30, 1996 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 9
Mon, Jul 1, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Win 2 - 0
Tue, Jul 2, 1996 vs Boston Red Sox Win 7 - 5
Thu, Jul 4, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 1
Fri, Jul 5, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 12 - 3
Sat, Jul 6, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Win 2 - 0
Sun, Jul 7, 1996 vs Milwaukee Brewers Loss 1 - 4
Thu, Jul 11, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 2
Sat, Jul 13, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jul 13, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jul 14, 1996 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 4 - 1
Mon, Jul 15, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 6 - 8
Tue, Jul 16, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Win 9 - 5
Wed, Jul 17, 1996 @ Boston Red Sox Loss 11 - 12
Thu, Jul 18, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 4 - 16
Fri, Jul 19, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 5 - 7
Sat, Jul 20, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Win 4 - 2
Sun, Jul 21, 1996 @ Milwaukee Brewers Loss 2 - 3
Mon, Jul 22, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Loss 1 - 6
Tue, Jul 23, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 6 - 0
Wed, Jul 24, 1996 vs Texas Rangers Win 4 - 2
Thu, Jul 25, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 0 - 7
Fri, Jul 26, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 15 - 1
Sat, Jul 27, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 4
Sun, Jul 28, 1996 vs Kansas City Royals Win 3 - 2
Tue, Jul 30, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 15
Wed, Jul 31, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Loss 2 - 9
Thu, Aug 1, 1996 @ Texas Rangers Win 6 - 5
Fri, Aug 2, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Sat, Aug 3, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 4 - 11
Sun, Aug 4, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 3
Mon, Aug 5, 1996 @ Kansas City Royals Win 5 - 2
Tue, Aug 6, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 2
Wed, Aug 7, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 8 (10)
Thu, Aug 8, 1996 vs Chicago White Sox Win 8 - 4
Fri, Aug 9, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 5
Sat, Aug 10, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 7 - 13
Sun, Aug 11, 1996 vs Detroit Tigers Win 12 - 0
Mon, Aug 12, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 2 - 3 (10)
Tue, Aug 13, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 4 - 8
Wed, Aug 14, 1996 @ Chicago White Sox Win 3 - 1
Fri, Aug 16, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 6
Sat, Aug 17, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 10
Sun, Aug 18, 1996 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 12 - 13 (12)