2001 Boston Red Sox

Major League Baseball » Boston Red Sox » 2001

Season Overview

82-79 Missed Playoffs
Record Outcome

2001 Boston Red Sox

What was the record of the 2001 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a 82-79 record. They went 41-40 at home and 41-39 on the road.

What division did the 2001 Boston Red Sox play in?

The 2001 Boston Red Sox played in the East Division of the American League.

What was the division record of the 2001 Boston Red Sox?

During the regular season, the 2001 Boston Red Sox went 41-34 against their AL East opponents.

What was the 2001 Boston Red Sox record against each of their divisional opponents?

Opponent Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
Tampa Bay Devil Rays 14-5 73.7% +38
Toronto Blue Jays 12-7 63.2% +22
Baltimore Orioles 10-9 52.6% +11
New York Yankees 5-13 27.8% -18

What was the 2001 Boston Red Sox record by month?

Among qualifying months, the 2001 Boston Red Sox had their best month in April, when they went 16-9 and had a 64% win percentage. Their worst month was September, when they went 6-15 and had a 28.6% win percentage.

Month Record Win Percentage % Run Differential
April 16-9 64% +58
May 13-13 50% +10
June 17-11 60.7% +8
July 14-12 53.8% +8
August 11-17 39.3% -24
September 6-15 28.6% -38
October 5-2 71.4% +5

Did the 2001 Boston Red Sox make the Postseason?

No, the Red Sox didn't make the Postseason in 2001.

What was the run differential for the 2001 Boston Red Sox?

The Boston Red Sox finished the regular season with a run differential of +27. Based on their run differential and their pythagorean expectation, the Red Sox could have been expected to have about 83.1 wins, or a 83-78 record in the regular season.

How did the 2001 Boston Red Sox perform in one-run games?

In one-run games, or games that went into extra innings, the 2001 Boston Red Sox went 22-26.

How did the 2001 Boston Red Sox perform in extra inning games?

During the regular season, the 2001 Boston Red Sox went 6-8 in extra inning games.

What was the longest win streak for the 2001 Boston Red Sox?

The longest win streak during the regular season for the 2001 Boston Red Sox was a 5 game winning streak on 3 separate stretches during the season.

What was the longest losing streak for the 2001 Boston Red Sox?

The longest losing streak that the Boston Red Sox had during the 2001 regular season was 9 games, which happened once during the season.

2001 Boston Red Sox Schedule

= Playoff Team

Bold = Division Opponent

Date Opponent Score
Regular Season
Mon, Apr 2, 2001 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2 (11)
Wed, Apr 4, 2001 @ Baltimore Orioles Win 3 - 0
Thu, Apr 5, 2001 @ Baltimore Orioles Loss 1 - 2
Fri, Apr 6, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 11 - 4
Sat, Apr 7, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 6 - 2
Sun, Apr 8, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 3 - 0
Tue, Apr 10, 2001 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 10 - 1
Wed, Apr 11, 2001 vs Baltimore Orioles Loss 4 - 5
Thu, Apr 12, 2001 vs Baltimore Orioles Win 8 - 2
Fri, Apr 13, 2001 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 2 (10)
Sat, Apr 14, 2001 vs New York Yankees Loss 2 - 3
Sun, Apr 15, 2001 vs New York Yankees Win 5 - 4
Mon, Apr 16, 2001 vs New York Yankees Win 4 - 1
Tue, Apr 17, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 10 - 0
Wed, Apr 18, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 9 - 1
Thu, Apr 19, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 8 - 3
Fri, Apr 20, 2001 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 6
Sat, Apr 21, 2001 @ New York Yankees Win 8 - 3
Sun, Apr 22, 2001 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Tue, Apr 24, 2001 vs Minnesota Twins Win 9 - 4
Wed, Apr 25, 2001 vs Minnesota Twins Loss 4 - 6 (10)
Thu, Apr 26, 2001 vs Minnesota Twins Win 2 - 0
Fri, Apr 27, 2001 vs Kansas City Royals Win 9 - 2
Sat, Apr 28, 2001 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 8
Sun, Apr 29, 2001 vs Kansas City Royals Loss 8 - 11 (11)
Tue, May 1, 2001 @ Seattle Mariners Win 2 - 0
Wed, May 2, 2001 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 1 - 5
Thu, May 3, 2001 @ Seattle Mariners Loss 3 - 10
Fri, May 4, 2001 @ Oakland Athletics Loss 3 - 7
Sat, May 5, 2001 @ Oakland Athletics Win 7 - 1
Sun, May 6, 2001 @ Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 4
Tue, May 8, 2001 vs Seattle Mariners Win 12 - 4
Wed, May 9, 2001 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 5 - 10
Thu, May 10, 2001 vs Seattle Mariners Loss 2 - 5
Fri, May 11, 2001 vs Oakland Athletics Loss 6 - 7
Sat, May 12, 2001 vs Oakland Athletics Win 9 - 3
Sun, May 13, 2001 vs Oakland Athletics Win 5 - 4 (11)
Tue, May 15, 2001 @ Minnesota Twins Win 5 - 2
Wed, May 16, 2001 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 4
Thu, May 17, 2001 @ Minnesota Twins Loss 3 - 5
Fri, May 18, 2001 @ Kansas City Royals Win 6 - 3
Sat, May 19, 2001 @ Kansas City Royals Loss 2 - 6
Sun, May 20, 2001 @ Kansas City Royals Win 10 - 3
Wed, May 23, 2001 @ New York Yankees Loss 3 - 7
Thu, May 24, 2001 @ New York Yankees Loss 1 - 2
Fri, May 25, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 0
Sat, May 26, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 0 - 5
Sun, May 27, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 2
Mon, May 28, 2001 vs New York Yankees Loss 3 - 4
Wed, May 30, 2001 vs New York Yankees Win 3 - 0
Thu, May 31, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 11 - 5
Fri, Jun 1, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 4 (11)
Sat, Jun 2, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 2 - 1
Sun, Jun 3, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4
Mon, Jun 4, 2001 @ New York Yankees Loss 6 - 7
Tue, Jun 5, 2001 vs Detroit Tigers Win 4 - 3 (18)
Wed, Jun 6, 2001 vs Detroit Tigers Loss 3 - 7
Thu, Jun 7, 2001 vs Detroit Tigers Win 8 - 1
Fri, Jun 8, 2001 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 3 - 2
Sat, Jun 9, 2001 vs Philadelphia Phillies Loss 2 - 5
Sun, Jun 10, 2001 vs Philadelphia Phillies Win 5 - 4
Tue, Jun 12, 2001 vs Florida Marlins Win 4 - 2
Wed, Jun 13, 2001 vs Florida Marlins Loss 2 - 4
Thu, Jun 14, 2001 vs Florida Marlins Win 6 - 4
Fri, Jun 15, 2001 @ Atlanta Braves Win 9 - 5 (10)
Sat, Jun 16, 2001 @ Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 8
Sun, Jun 17, 2001 @ Atlanta Braves Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jun 19, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 5 - 4
Wed, Jun 20, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 8 - 2
Thu, Jun 21, 2001 @ Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 7 - 4
Fri, Jun 22, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 4
Sat, Jun 23, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 6 - 9
Sun, Jun 24, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 2 - 5
Mon, Jun 25, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 12 - 8
Tue, Jun 26, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Win 7 - 6
Wed, Jun 27, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Loss 7 - 9
Thu, Jun 28, 2001 vs Tampa Bay Devil Rays Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jun 29, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 4 - 8
Sat, Jun 30, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 7 - 5
Sun, Jul 1, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 4 - 0
Mon, Jul 2, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 16 - 4
Tue, Jul 3, 2001 @ Cleveland Indians Loss 1 - 9
Wed, Jul 4, 2001 @ Cleveland Indians Win 13 - 4
Thu, Jul 5, 2001 @ Cleveland Indians Win 5 - 4
Fri, Jul 6, 2001 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 5 - 6 (10)
Sat, Jul 7, 2001 vs Atlanta Braves Win 3 - 1
Sun, Jul 8, 2001 vs Atlanta Braves Loss 0 - 8
Thu, Jul 12, 2001 @ New York Mets Loss 2 - 4
Fri, Jul 13, 2001 @ New York Mets Win 3 - 1
Sat, Jul 14, 2001 @ New York Mets Loss 0 - 2
Sun, Jul 15, 2001 @ Montreal Expos Win 8 - 5
Mon, Jul 16, 2001 @ Montreal Expos Win 6 - 5
Tue, Jul 17, 2001 @ Montreal Expos Loss 7 - 11
Wed, Jul 18, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Win 5 - 4
Thu, Jul 19, 2001 @ Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 4
Fri, Jul 20, 2001 @ Chicago White Sox Win 7 - 2
Sat, Jul 21, 2001 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 3 - 10
Sun, Jul 22, 2001 @ Chicago White Sox Loss 8 - 13
Tue, Jul 24, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 4
Wed, Jul 25, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Loss 3 - 4 (10)
Thu, Jul 26, 2001 vs Toronto Blue Jays Win 6 - 3
Fri, Jul 27, 2001 vs Chicago White Sox Win 9 - 5
Sat, Jul 28, 2001 vs Chicago White Sox Loss 1 - 3
Sun, Jul 29, 2001 vs Chicago White Sox Win 4 - 3
Tue, Jul 31, 2001 vs Anaheim Angels Loss